Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Loire Valley Hotels

La Roseraie

  • 7 rue du Dr-Bretonneau Map It
  • $
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Wonderful welcome
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Verdant setting

Cons

  • Some rooms in separate block
  • Street noise in some rooms

Updated 04/07/2014

Fodor's Review

Set around a vast pool terrace and within walking distance of the château, these delightful guest rooms designed with florals, checks, and lace are overseen by charming (and English-speaking) hosts Sabine Müller and Thierry Bellanger. Copious gourmet meals served in the wood-beam dining room (no dinner Tuesday) often include homemade foie gras, duck with fruit and honey, and apple tart. Try to get a garden-side room, and, if car traffic bothers you, be sure to avoid

the rooms overlooking the main street.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

7 rue du Dr-Bretonneau, Chenonceaux, 37150, France

Map It

Phone:

/02–47–23–90–09

Hotel Details:

  • Closed mid-Nov.–mid-Mar.
  • 13 rooms, 2 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 04/07/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Sights

See all hotels in The Loire Valley

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 15, 2010

La Roseraie Review

Our family of 5 stayed in the flat in July. There were 2 bedrooms, a sitting room and 1 and 1/2 bath. The furniture in the sitting room was a bit worn and beds were basic. Our daughter loved swimming in the pool in the evening before dinner. The english speaking owner, Laurent and Sophie were wonderful. The breakfast was plentiful and excellent. The restaurant was superb. We enjoyed it so much that we ate there a second time. We would definitely

return to this hotel

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 26, 2010

La Roseraie Review

We did not stay at the hotel but had a great experience in the restaurant. Extremely friendly staff. The food was abundant and very good. Wine selection very good. Great value for Loire area.

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 27, 2005

Friendliest People in all of Europe!

I stayed here earlier this year, and Sophie and Laurent were like two angels greeting me as I arrived late at night, hungry, exhausted, and a bit rattled after my first day driving in France. They took such wonderful care of me and made me feel so at home in their adorable and very charming hotel, which feels more like staying in a home rather than a hotel. You can't beat the price, the atmposhere, the people, or the wonderful food. It's the friendliest,

most charming, best priced hotel in all of Europe!

Read More

By TJ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2003

What a quaint and charming French hotel should be

Our family spent a week at the Roseraie last month. Sophie and Laurent are most charming and accommodating hosts. We had the "apartment"- a delightful suite with a large living room, a large bedroom for our children and a very large master bedroom with an out of tune piano! We were told that the bathroom in our suite was once part of the suite that Winston Churchill had stayed in years ago. (the inn used to have 40+ rooms- there are now 17) The

restaurant was very good and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Our children particularly enjoyed the pool at the end of a full day of sight-seeing. This is a very central base for exploring the Loire or even for just "hanging out" and relaxing. This place is a gem.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2002

Ivy-covered Charm

Meeting Sophie and Laurent when we arrived at the hotel was like being warmly welcomed home by family. This charming couple (who speak excellent English) can always be found at the front desk no matter how early or how late - working as hard as they do we never saw them without a smile on their face and a friendly "Bon Jour." Our room was charming and very reasonably priced. There is a swiming pool for relaxing. The location can't be beat as the

entrance to Chateau Chenonceaux is almost in Rosarie's backyard. We would stay here again.

Read More

By Lily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2002

A Welcome Fit For A King

I booked our stay at the Roseraei based on the "Raves," and we discovered for ourselves how truly accurate they all were, and more! We were greeted and treated by Laurent & Sophie Fiorito like old friends. The inn is quaint and very charming and is located but a few minutes walk from the Chenonceau Castle. The rooms are simple but spacious, comfortable & clean. The restaurant is such an epicurean delight that we were prompted to eat there every

night, including our anniversary dinner, where the hosts brought in champagne and dessert on the house. The whole atmosphere was warm and friendly, the gardens beautiful, the location ideal, and the cuisine divine. Our stay at the Loire Valley was special and memorable, thanks to our hosts and their friendly staff. And for those who don't want to rent a car, the hotel is a mere 300 paces from the Chenonceaux train stop, which is only a half hour ride from Tours.

Read More

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 20, 2001

Home away from home

Roseraie is the perfect place to stay within the Loire Valley and the hosts, Sophie and Laurent Fiorito, could not be more hospitable. The rooms are charming and the food and service are enough to make you want to make reservations for your next trip before you leave to go home. I would whole-heartedly recommend this old-fashioned inn to anyone, especially to my family and friends, as there is no equal to it amongst the manors and vineyards of the

valley.

Read More

By Julia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 14, 2001

The Most Charming Hotel

Upon arrival at La Roseraie, you instantly realize you have come across something special and rare. Laurent and Sophie welcome their guests with warmth and grace. Each detail, from the manicured grounds with pool, patios and car park, to the delightful guest rooms and warmly decorated dining and breakfast rooms, to the exceptional cuisine, shows how very much they and their staff care.

By Jamie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2001

Phenomenal Value and Service

We actually stayed in another hotel in Chenonceaux and chanced upon this one in our search for dinner. We wished we had stayed there instead and checked out the place for future visits. I'd disagree with Fodor's comment that this lacks in style compared to Le Bon Labourer. La Rosarie is decorated less formally than is Le Bon Laboureur -- a country French vs. a more formal style -- but it is still charming and well done. What sets it apart are

the exceptional service, value, and friendliness of the hosts. The meals and rooms are a terrific value compared to others in town; probably the best value I've found in 2 recent trips to France. I'm convinced you won't find a more enthusiastic, helpful set of innkeepers that the Fioritos. This is a great find!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement