Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Paris Hotels

L'Hôtel

  • 13 rue des Beaux-Arts Map It
  • Casual Chic

Pros

  • Luxurious decor
  • Elegant bar and restaurant
  • Walking distance to the Musée d'Orsay and the Louvre

Cons

  • Some rooms are very small for the price
  • Closest métro station is a few blocks away
  • Eclectic decoration seems mismatched

Updated 02/19/2014

Fodor's Review

There's something just a bit naughty in the air at this eccentric and opulent boutique hotel. Is it the history as an 18th-century pavillion d'amour (inn for trysts)? Is it that in 1900, Oscar Wilde permanently checked out in Room 16? Or Jacques Garcia's more recent makeover—rooms done in yards of rich fabrics in colors like ruby red and emerald green? It could be all of the above, plus the intimate bar and restaurant that allows you to mingle with the Parisian

beau monde. A exposed stone grotto holds a countercurrent pool and steam room. Michelin-starred chef Julien Monbabut runs the kitchen of Le Restaurant with an outstanding menu of light and classic French cuisine.

Read More

Hotel Award Winner | 2011

Hotel Information

Address:

13 rue des Beaux-Arts, 6e, Paris, 75006, France

Map It

Phone:

/01–44–41–99–00

Website: www.l-hotel.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 16 rooms, 4 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 02/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Paris

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 18, 2014

SomPoint

The map location for L'HÔTEL is sompo.me/EA6I6O2W .SomPoint is a method to locate every point in the world using only 8 characters.You can convert every address and point on earth to only 8 characters.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 30, 2010

L'Hôtel Review

We just returned from Paris and a stay at L'Hotel. It was a wonderful experience. The staff is very nice and accommodating. They had patience with my poor command of French and didn't switch to English unless I did (always appreciated). Plus, I got sick and the staff made room for us for another night, even though they were technically booked. The public spaces are amazing. It is the place to stay on the Left Bank. The decor is quirky and exotic.

When you step into the hotel, you feel as if you've stepped back into time. The central, circular atrium is like nothing you've ever seen. Most of the chandeliers have flickering light bulbs. At night, the entire hotel seems lighted by candles. We booked a Grand Room at rack rate (not cheap). It was very large, taking up the entire front half of the hotel. Incredibly charming. The only minus is that "non-smoking" means that no one is smoking while you're in it. It did not have the scent of smoke, but it did have the scent of the room atomizer that tries to remove the scent of smoke. It wasn't a big deal, though. Lovely amenities, fabulous bath tub. Separate shower with a rain shower head. The pool and hammam in the wine cellar were fantastic, and pretty easily booked each day, even though we were there in high season. (I have never seen Paris so crowded as it was last week!) The restaurant was likewise wonderful, though the seats are terrible uncomfortable. The space is very chic. Overall, this is THE place to stay in the Left Bank. Much more chic than the Hotel Montalembert or Relais Christine.

Read More

By Eloise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 4, 2002

The Consummate Parisian Hotel

We loved everything about our stay at L'Hotel - the location, the beautiful lobby, the friendly, helpful staff, our lovely room with its complimentary bottled water and Hermes bath products, and the quiet street. My husband enjoyed the steam bath and pool after his morning runs. We had a wonderful visit and hope to return to Paris and L'Hotel soon.

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2002

The Only Place to Stay in Paris

The service is impeccable. Call for a bucket of ice, and it is there almost before you hang-up the phone. The amenities are perfect, including the Hermes bath products. The rooms may not be the largest, but they are exquisite.

By Amanda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 9, 2002

A true Parisian experience.

There is something wonderful about L'Hotel. The rooms are SMALL, but it doesn't bother you because they are decorated so well with many upscale ammenities. (complimentary water in the mini-fridge, fabulous hair-dryers, fancy bedding, magnificent bath tub, etc.) We were there with our one-year old baby, myself and my 6'3 husband and had no problem in the small room. The service is wonderful. They will do anything for you. One gentleman even offered

to babysit. t is located on a very quiet street in St. Germain area which is full of art galleries, cafes, and boutiques. We walked around that area over and over and never tired of the storefronts. Breakfast is expensive, but wonderful to sit in the beautiful rooms. This place is pricey for what you get, but it feels perfect there. I agree that you may find more luxurious hotels, but none as authentic.

Read More

By Krista

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2002

Doesn't care about customers

I made a reservation at L'Hotel weeks ago using an on-line reservation service. Today, two weeks before my scheduled arrival, I received a call from the reservation service informing me that L'Hotel has determined not to use that service any more and, as a result, was refusing to honor any reservations made through the service. Although the service explained to L'Hotel that this was extremely unprofessional, L'Hotel said that they simply did not

care. As a result, I'm left, two weeks before departure, with a worthless reservation and scrambling to find another place to stay. The unprofessionalism and lack of concern for their customers is astounding. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2001

Charming hotel... very unique

We stayed at L'Hotel for 8 nights in late July 2001. Charming hotel. Very unique. They must have spent a fortune decorating. It is magnificent! Hotel staff very nice. All spoke English as needed. They gave me a tour of the hotel's rooms, which was great since each room is different and unique. Our room (the one described by Fodors with the leapord print decor) was a bit "snug"... but very nice and we were happy with it. Nice location on a quiet street

on the Left Bank. We would stay there again. I am sure you can find a better luxury hotel. But you will not find a more unique hotel. L'Hotel is a treasure. David PS... Free internet access for guests in the lobby was a nice touch... nice for checking email every once and a while.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement