Jamaica Hotels

Advertisement

Breezes Grand Resort and Spa Negril

At a Glance

    Pros

  • excellent beaches
  • super-inclusive package, including 24-hour room service for all rooms
  • elegant

    Cons

  • some rooms need updating
  • central public area lacks view
  • clothing-optional pool is small

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Breezes Grand Resort and Spa Negril Review

Fancy touches at this resort are balanced by an expansive clothing-optional beach (including its own hot tub, bar, and grill), giving you one of Jamaica's best all-inclusive resorts, where it's fun to dress for dinner but equally good to strip down for a day of fun in the sun. It also helps that the clothed beach is one of the best strips of sand in Negril. Appealing to an upscale crowd of all stripes, you'll find a much different crowd here than at sister resort Hedonism II, which is just next door. Low-rise rooms, both oceanfront and garden suites, are stylish; many have French doors just steps from the sand. A newly renovated lobby and a new Greek restauarant top the list of notable changes to this special resort where the mood is quiet and relaxing.

    Hotel Details

  • 210 suites
  • Rate includes all-inclusive.
Updated: 03-13-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Don't Waste Your Money

    Grand Lido is not even close to being 5 star! Our friends booked their wedding at GLN for September. Our travel agent gave it rave reviews. She said it was better than Sandals Negril. We had a wonderful time at Sandals in 2006, so we couldn't imagine it being better. GLN was a huge disappointment for the cost. Don't be fooled by the 24 hour dine-in menu or fancy descriptions of the restaurants. We arrived late our first night and wanted to order food to our room. We were excited by the four page dine-in menu. I tried to order every single item on the menu and they told me they were out. I finally asked, "What do you have?" They sent me some really gross chocolate cake. In 7 days, they were "out" of so many food items. It was ridiculous. At Cafe Lido, they were out of half of the things on the menu. At the buffet, they were out of butter day after day and many other items. At the Italian restaurant, they were out of parmesan cheese!!! The staff made NO effort to find items or give explanations. The bars were the same. They were out of pineapple juice, orange juice, tonic, gin, rum, etc. Again, they made NO effort to hunt down these items. They were out of ice one day. The staff were completely unfriendly and had attitudes. The staff was wonderful at Sandals were it was also NO Tipping. At GLN, they would stare at us like they expected tips. The staff was also very slow to do anything. My friend watched me be treated like a queen when I got married at Sandals. I think she expected the same at GLN. We had to hunt down the wedding coordinator. She would not return our phone calls. When we finally met with her, she did not want to help us and was hateful. Sandals had wonderful seafood dishes. We were hard pressed to find any seafood at GLN. DO NOT waste your money! There are many resorts that are much cheaper.

    by KansasCity, 9/25/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Not what we expected

    I had the mistaken impression that the Grand Lido Negril was the end-all resort in Negril. When my husband and I decided to go to the Caribbean to get married, the Grand Lido Negril was the only place we considered. Because of its reputation. Boy, were we sorely disappointed. Too many details, too little space. If I had a nickel for every time we looked at each other and thought "this is a joke", we could have paid for a charter flight home. I am so glad that we had decided to book our guests at the RIU two doors down. It had gotten so ridiculous, that the general manager gave us a coupon for 2 free days on our next stay, my husband tore it up. You can not re-do your wedding.

    by ForeverOnHoneymoon, 5/21/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Very Disappointing

    Rated 5-star??? Maybe 2-star. The beach is beautiful, the guests & staff (not the management)were wonderful. Nothing worked, we were told that everything was “Temporarily Out of Service” or “Unfortunately Not Available”. NONE of the Five Jacuzzis were functional. The main pool (very small) kept turning green & was closed most of the week. Never any clean towels on the beach or at the pool. The Glass bottom boat broke down (old boat in disrepair) while we were out snorkeling - had to wait an hour to be towed back to shore. They only had 6 snorkels for everyone at the resort to share. Other watersports... that's just a joke. Food was NOT at all good, flies were all over the food at the buffet & some of the restaurants & bars were closed. We were promosed spa credit but then after spending the money told we weren't entitled to spa credit, that we were supposed to get a room upgrade instead. We asked at check-in why we had a crappy room & were told we get spa credit but NOT room upgrade- needless to say, we didn't get either. Management treated us like crap. SuperClubs' website and brochures offer “SuperClubs Guaranteed Getaway” and “SuperClubs Satisfaction Guarantee” however they do not honor them. They send you a letter that says, sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, if you want to spend another $5,000, we will give you a free night.

    by 0908wed, 6/16/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Bad, Bad, Bad

    We have stayed at Couples, Sandals, Rui Tropical Bay and Grand Lido in Negril and Grand Lido was by far the worst stay we've had. The service was terrible, the staff was not friendly, the food was average and when I complained the managment did ABSOLUTELY NOTHING for us. The facility is beautiful, but other than that it was TERRIBLE. I have read other reviews and all the negative things that have been said are true. Save money and have a better time at Couples!

    by JaniceLeigh, 12/16/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Better than other reviews

    I had read these reviews and also information that they had improved on their service. I have to say they must have. I won't say that everything was flawless as it was not. We went as part of a group with 5 couples in 5 rooms and took full advantage of all of the services and they kept up with us. We ordered room service (food and beverage) countless times to various rooms, patios, and the beach throughout the day and night and they always came with a smile. The beaches are spectacular and much more picturesque than the other resorts in my opinion. The pools are a joke but with water and beaches like that who cares. The buffets were actually very good and some of the restaurants were good and some not as good. The main problem was the somewhat dead atmosphere. It needed a more of a pulse and definitely more music! All in all I went in with high expectations and found it a wonderful experience. I would not call it 5 star and not perfect by any stretch but I would definitely recommend!

    by chigdon, 4/18/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Very Disappointing

    If you were going there from Minnesota in the dead of winter well then I guess it would be ok...but otherwise it's simply not that great. Old and tired is the best way to describe the place. I did find the staff to be generally friendly most of the time. When I arrived from the airport in the rickety bus they provided about 3pm there were dozens of angry people in the lobby trying to check in. Evidently the washing machines were broken and there were no linens to make up the rooms. I finally got a nice suite with a view...the room was not bad. Food service at breakfast and lunch was painfully slow. And oh my god is is hot...a few ceiling fans is all you get while sweating prfusely into your food. One night at the Japanese restaurant they sat us at a table for nearly an hour before the waiter/chef finally arrived. No drinks...no nothing just 14 people just sitting there. The pool was very small but clean...the big problem there were never any towels. One reader above commented on the lack of entertainment and I couldn't agree more. The place was dead at night...very boring. And if you're a beer drinker remember this...all you can get is these teenie little cups of draft beer...no bottles or cans. Bottom line is if they sunk a few million bucks into the place it could be very nice. But for now it's simply not that great! Go to Ft Lauderdale instead!

    by big69bob, 8/19/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Breezes Grand Negril Resort & Spa Review

    We just returned from Negril, our 6th time and the 2nd to this Superclubs resort, which was the "Grand Lido" previously. We will nto return to this resort, because while the ultra inclusive is great--all water sports, motorized and otherwise and food and alcahol and tipping and airport transfers--were all included. A fabulous deal. Name brand drinks too, just as advertised. The grounds are beautiful, most service is good, but quite a bit of service is average and not what you'd expect for a resort like this, nor what we received on our past visit. Also, this visit, no 24x7 (or at all for most rooms) room service, no pedi & mani included in the rates, no robes in the room, and the spa-restaurant-bar at the beach end of the property was closed. The restaurant with the spa open had poor service and food not so great. Other food and service at restuarants was exceptional. The buffee was not open at night, so you had 4 other restaurant options, and 2 required reservations which was not a problem. Most you could enter dressed pretty casually--you did not need to dress up unless you wanted too. They held several evening themed dinner events, which were very good. Beach is very nice (except pesky jet skis and other Jamacians out there beyond the mark-off lines trying to sell us services from 9 AM to dark. Great value all inclusive including motorized water sports and no tipping. The life jackets were not very good condition, and there were way too few beach float mats for the people there --maybe 8 total--(and this was shoulder season, hardly that busy.). Jamaican coffee was excellent! It was in our rooms too, but not stocked regularly at all. Coffee otherwise was not available until 7:30 in any restaurant--the only one open was the buffee until 10AM. I think coffee could be stocked and provided easily. Night life for us doesn't matter so much, we like relaxation and we come for the beatiful beach. We came with 2 other couples like usual. The one night life we attended, called "Black Jack" was a stupid drinking game, it was not black jack in any sense and more for 20 year olds than adults in the age this adults-only resort supposedly catered too. The bingo at lunch one day was same thing--winners did shots. Huh? This isn't a spring break time or place. The female manager in the red suit in the office was hardly polite ever--she needs to remember this is service business, or stay in the back away from ANY customers. She was frosty and rude in her manners and tone. We had paid for 7 days not 6 and getting that last day was a big pain--they acted like we were asking for it free. Grand Lido is anything but budget and the prices per night are not cheap--I did not like the treatment at the office--front desk reception. I would never stay here again, because of reductions in services--it was a great value, but we paid a premium to stay here compared to other current travel options, and because we had such fabulous experience before. Oh, ... any garden room sare on the nude side. Doesn't matter if you see them out your door, they're walking all about to and fro. The pools yes are very small on both sides--the beach is great though. We did get moved to an ocean front room--the only rooms not garden that are not on the "hude" side whether they mention that or not. Room was a swuite and very nice. The tubs were had to get into and out of--awkward and a bit dangerous. An accident waiting to happen--although they were spa tubs if you liked baths--probably great. And did we mention no tipping? And no tipping means it at this resort, which is nice. Because at the Riu Negril where we stayed last time, we had to tip at te all inclusive constantly to get ANY service. That was never true for ANY employee at THIS resort--we did not have to carry any money. But we will not go to this resort again. We'll go back to Beaches (Sandals line).

    by dachrist, 11/19/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Breezes Grand Resort and Spa Negril Review

    I'm not impressed with the services nor the resort itself. They promised us with upgrades but we had to argue to get. The rooms are old and needs updating. There are a few restaurants, but they are not that good. Don't let the pictures fool you, the water is a lot darker than you see in the pictures. A lot of sea weeds on the beach. We bought the wedding packages, and we still haven't receive our marriage license. They said that we will get it in 12 months, it's been almost 24 months. I called them multiple times and talk to them on the phone (the wedding coordinator), nothing happened. I tried calling the main line, they just blew me off. O I almost forgot, it takes about 2 hours to get the resort from the airport. With the way they drove, I was dreading the ride back to the airport.

    by Jacky20030321, 1/20/12
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Breezes Grand Resort and Spa Negril Review

    I’m beginning to lose faith in Fodor’s Gold Stars. I chose this resort on the basis of Fodor’s Gold Star rating and it’s not the first time I’ve been led astray. The resort is pretty run down. I’d never been to an all-inclusive resort before but the guests I talked to said that this wasn’t a very good one. The food was SPECTACULARLY bad. The service wasn’t much better – they were very comfortable saying no to the guests. Even though it is in Negril, the resort is not on the main bit of Negril beach so you can’t walk to a more lively location. Most of the clientele there were quite elderly.

    by UniversalExports, 3/19/12

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Breezes Grand Resort and Spa Negril

Map of



View more trip reports

· Forum
  • Get info about weather.

    Hello everyone, I live in CA. I want to have a trip to Caribbean island. But, my is too sensitive. So,before i decide to go there, I wo... Read more

View more travel discussions