Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Barbados Hotels

The Club Barbados Resort & Spa

Pros

  • Adults only
  • Intimate atmosphere
  • Short walk to Holetown
  • Walk to Sandy Lane Beach
  • Waterskiing and boat trip included

Cons

  • Beach erodes to almost nothing at certain times of the year—usually the result of fall storms—but the sandy deck is a good substitute

Updated 02/27/2014

Fodor's Review

The Club Barbados is one of the island's few adults-only environments (age 16 and up) with all-inclusive rates and the only one on the west coast (so far); only spa and salon services and room service are extra. A horseshoe of rooms and suites faces the sea, although most units overlook the pools and gardens. Some upper-floor waterfront suites have no fourth wall, creating an airy, open-to-the-view environment. Guests enjoy a lavish breakfast buffet, four-course lunch,

afternoon tea, and intimate dinner service, all presented in the oceanfront Sunset Restaurant, or you can enjoy classic West Indian cuisine at Enid's, the colorful Bajan restaurant that is open for dinner and special events. There's nightly entertainment, and the Rum Shop and the Beach Bar are casual meeting spots during the day.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Hwy. 1, Vauxhall, St. James, BB24013, Barbados

Map It

Phone:

246-432–7840; 866-317–8009

Hotel Details:

  • 93 rooms, 65 suites
  • All-inclusive

Updated 02/27/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Barbados

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By slykab

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2011

Almond Beach Club and Spa Review

The Almond Beach Club is a quaint facility on the west coast of Barbados next to the Sandy Lane Resort. The service there was inconsistent with ratings that have been listed. The front office staff although they come through with your request, seemed to be bothered when you asked of things out of the ordinary. For instance, I needed bottled water, but had to meet with the assistant manager before it was provided. My wife signed up for yoga, but because

no one else signed up was never told that it was cancelled. The restaurant staff and manager were outstanding! Heather the main cooking in the restaurant was excellent. You will enjoy the conversation from the Rum Doctor, who sponsors rum tasting once a week. Tina the instructor and chef at Enid's cooking class were outstanding. She was excellent at explaining and demonstrating how to prepare the Barbados Island’s staple dishes, pumpkin soup, flying fish and cou cou for all the taste and enjoy! We had a room facing the pool and garden, which had a sitting room with bar and refrigerator, porch and king size bedroom. The bathroom was clean, but could have been cleaner. We had to comment to management regarding how the room was kept. The furniture in the sitting room was somewhat worn, and had a tube television. The location was excellent to get to both the north and south of the island. Water sports were abundant, but the resort has no beach. There is a sandy area which sits above a rock sea wall in which you have to walk down stairs to the sea. To actually sit on a beach you need to walk at low tide over to the beach at Sandy Lane Resort., as there are no private beaches in Barbados. Or you can take the van to one of the other two resorts owned by Almond, the Almond Casuarinas Beach which is south and is wonderful and the Almond Village which is north of the Almond Beach Club. I preferred the Almond Casuarinas’ Beach it is the newer of the three resorts and beautiful! Several nights during the week there was live entertainment at the resort, dancers, live band and singers, limbo dancers. There is a separate piano bar, and a karaoke night which was fun. Overall, we enjoyed our stay because it was quiet, the Almond Beach Club is adult only, no children. The other two almond locations have kids clubs available. The guests were interesting and friendly. Some other American's, but mostly British guests stayed there, hence the baked bean for breakfast in the morning. I must say we never had a bad meal there! Since I don't drink, maybe there should have been an all-inclusive version which included no liquor. But if you like to drink, anything this is the place to go. All day and night long!!! They did run out of mixes for mixed virgin drinks from time to time. Overall the all inclusive experience was good.

Read More

By Monica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 13, 2004

we'd go again

The relaxing time we had overshadowed the smaller issues...problems with the door lock (obviously a commmon problem there), not hearing back from the front desk. We really enjoyed the food and drinks. Lots of shade for non-sun-worhippers like myself. Liked that we could use the sister hotel's facilities but come back to a more quiet place. Day trip to local beach was interesting (part of all-inclusive). Biggest issue was booking an oceanfront

and being given a pool view...complained and were moved after much discussion about how that room was supposedly more expensive because it had a living room...doubt it. Overall very pleased.

Read More

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2003

What a Resort!!

I can't believe what I read, some of the comments, are outragous. I believe the Almond Beach Club, is a very romantic place, they have a Great Spa, it was so relaxing, We can't wait to go back!!..The staff were So friendly, always going out of thier way to please us. The Beachfront Room were Great! You can hear the Ocean, which reminded me how far I was from from home. The food was outstanding, the service was great. All you can eat, and drink.

I will recommend this to couples or singles who just want to get away.

Read More

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2003

Great Vacation

Waiters and staff are really accommodating. Many delicious food options - seafood/Italian, whatever you want. Beautiful pools.

By Lori

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2003

Something to Rave About

I would like to know who "Michelle" from New York is - who rated 12/14/2002 - Was she really at Almond Beach Club? Does she work for a competetor? I wonder why you gave her ???comments validity???

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 14, 2002

The Worst of Barbados

The promotional package for this vacation was "The Best of Barbados." Nothing can be farther from the truth. The resort is crying out for renovation. Mildew, dust and mold were everywhere including on the furniture. The floors were dirty. The door locks were always broken. Plus, if you are allergic to cats, stay away!! There are at least 5 on the grounds. The beach is a joke. Full of boulders with a tiny stretch of sand. The food was mediocre and

monotonous. Everything was one temperature--lukewarm. Better rooms can be found at Motel 6. Stay away!!!!

Read More

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2002

Come be ignored!

Called room service twice - no answer. Called guest services to make a dinner reservation at the better restaraunt, she told me she'd call back, never did. The food is marginal at best. A rusty old hand truck of some sort resided on the grass beside the path to our room. Paid for beachfront room - got oceanview instead. No fridge. I've seen nicer bathrooms at gas stations. Pluses - it's very quiet here. Sandy Lane Beach is a short walk away.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2002

horrible place

The room smelled air conditioning didnt work and they can break into your room with a screw driver. Worker told us that it was supposed to be closed for renovations.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2002

Man dies of hunger in restaurant

Stayed here twice, the food, accommodation and facilities were excellent, the only real gripe was the the waiting time in the restaurant, my better half had to kick me a couple of times when I nodded off.

By Ben

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2002

It's the Carribean , for heaven's sake

We went to the Almond Beach CLub for the first week of January and had a lovely time....of course there are always little things which could be better such as the size of the bathroom and the same food (very good) every night....but overall, remember that you're in Barbados - just try and relax a little...if you want everything to be flawless, stay at the Pierre in New York or the Dorchester in London!! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and with a little

patience and imagination you could too.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 7, 2001

Second Rate Resort

I just returned from a disappointing 3-day stay at the Almond Beach Club. Hotel management cannot seem to get anything right. The hotel beach is perched on a rocky cliff area. The layout of the rest of the hotel feels cramped as well, with limited walking space around the pool and the rest of the grounds. With few exceptions, the staff is not well-trained and not particularly accommodating or helpful. At the front desk, expect a 5-10 minute wait every

time - there is usually only one person to handle all in-person inquiries and phone calls. Don't expect much service at the main restaurant, either. The waitstaff make it clear that they would rather be doing nothing than servicing the patrons. If you want the option of relaxing in your hotel room at night, this is not the place for you. The hotel band blasts music every night at such a volume that you will not be able to hear your TV. The only way we got away from being subject to "Ole Ole" every night was physically leaving the hotel property until after midnight. Also, do not lose your hotel key because they will charge you $50 for what they claim is a very "high-tech, high cost" piece of plastic. If you lose your beach towels, you will be charged $40, although you could probably buy brand new towels of the same quality for $5. All in all, the service was poor, the food was mediocre, and the overall experience was not relaxing. Even after informing the hotel manager, we did not receive a satisfactory response. I would not recommend this resort.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement