Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Providence and Paradise Islands Restaurants

The Poop Deck

Updated 07/12/2013

Fodor's Review

Just east of the bridges from Paradise Island and a quick cab ride from the center of town is this favorite local haunt. There's usually a wait for a table, and it's worth waiting a little longer for one overlooking the marina and Nassau Harbour. The restaurant's popularity has resulted in a second Poop Deck on Cable Beach's west end, but for residents, this is still the place. Expect spicy dishes with names such as Mama Mary's Fish; there's also an extensive wine list.

Start with Paula's Conch Fritters and then select a fresh, whole-hog snapper or lobster tail for the chef to prepare exactly how you want it. The fish is usually served head to tail, so if you're squeamish, ask your waiter to have the head cut off before it comes out on your plate. Save room for guava duff and a calypso coffee spiked with secret ingredients.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

E. Bay St. at Nassau Yacht Haven Marina, east of bridges from Paradise Island, Nassau, New Providence Island, Bahamas

Phone:

242-393–8175

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 07/12/2013

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2013

Great Bahamian Food

If you are looking for a great meal and even better atmosphere! The waitstaff will take care of your every need and bring you some great cuisine that will have you mouth watering just watch all the other people eating around you. So if you are looking for a good meal at about average prices, then be sure to check out the Poop Deck at one of the two locations.

By rjstar

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 17, 2009

Great Bahamian Restaurant

We went here with a group of 10 on our first night in Nassau. It was casual, fun, and lovely. We had a table out on the deck overlooking the yacht harbor. The food was very good. It was the first time several of our friends had enjoyed Bahamian Peas 'n Rice. This was the most economical dinner we had in the Bahamas ($70 for 2). I had a Bahamian Chicken dish. My wife had the Mahi Mahi (I think it was called "Mama's Bahamian Fish"). Service was very

good. We had a great table.

Read More

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 2, 2005

GREAT FRESH SEAFOOD

Great outdoor porch for dining and unbelievably fresh seafood. The atmosphere is casual and it's clear that The Poop Deck is a favorite with locals. My seafood entree was very good and very fresh.

By Derrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 15, 2004

The Fabulous Poop Deck

Stayed at the Atlantis while on vacation but had dinner there on 2 night. Serves the freshest fish on the island. Service was adequate and waitresses were friendly. Great food for the price.

By al

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 21, 2003

fun place/good food

food was very good particularly the stone crab. excellent grouper. would eat here again. casual but good service.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2003

Best Seafood on the Island

The food here is superb, extremely fresh and Bahamian. The service was lacking and the atmosphere is somewhat dingy, no need to dress up for this place! Don't expect too much of a view, at night you can't see much of anything. Go for the food.

By Visitor

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 24, 2000

Quite simply, terrible!

Bad service, bad food. Over-valued, over-priced.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement