Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Sydney Restaurants

Tetsuya's

Updated 01/15/2014

Fodor's Review

It's worth getting on the waiting list—there's always a waiting list—to sample the unique blend of Western and Japanese-French flavors crafted by Sydney's most applauded chef, Tetsuya Wakuda. The serene, expansive dining room's unobtrusive Japanese aesthetic leaves the food as the true highlight. Confit of ocean trout served with unpasteurized ocean-trout roe is a signature item on the set 11-course degustation menu (A$220 and A$97 extra for matching wines),

while other dishes may include New Zealand Scampi with chicken liver parfait, or roasted breast of quail with quail leg rillettes. The menu changes often but never fails to dazzle. Views of a Japanese garden—complete with bonsai and a waterfall—make this place feel miles from the city center. It's open for dinner from Tuesday to Saturday, and lunch on Saturdays only.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

529 Kent St., Sydney, New South Wales, 2000, Australia

Map It

Phone:

02-9267–2900

Website: www.tetsuyas.com

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun.–Mon. No lunch Tues.–Fri.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 01/15/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Sydney

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 17, 2013

Tasty Food, Indifferent and Slow Service

My spouse and I dined at Tetsuya’s in late August 2012. A few weeks prior to our trip, we booked a dinner reservation via e-mail. Tetsuya’s offers an 10-course tasting menu for $210 per person. Our total bill was about $540 with two rounds of drinks. Tetsuya’s is located in downtown Sydney, near Town Hall and Darling Harbour. Valet parking is available at an extra charge. Chef Tetsuya Wakuda is one of Sydney's most famous chefs, and his nouveau

Japanese/French creations are presented attractively. The location of the restaurant is attractive, set in a Japanese house that surrounds a beautiful outdoor courtyard with water features. There are three dining rooms, plus a bar/lounge area, all decorated with art and ceramics. Tetsuya’s has been on the Worlds 50 Best Restaurants several times. The restaurant serves dinner on Tuesday through Saturday as well as lunch on Saturday. The dinner service was painfully slow. Lots of time elapsed between courses - perhaps 20 minutes or longer after one plate was cleared until another plate was delivered. As with our meal at competitor Quay earlier in the week, the staff shows no “food love”; no one cared whether we liked a dish or not, no one inquired about whether we liked a particular course, or even whether we enjoyed our meal in general. The general attitude of the waitstaff was pretentious and patronizing. They were unable to serve me an iced tea - our waiter said that he would check whether the kitchen could make some, but he never returned to deliver an answer. The food was tasty, although not particularly memorable. We ate the signature ocean trout dish, but the portion was enormous for a multi-course tasting/degustation menu. The tian made of spanner crab was delicious, and the floating island dessert was unique. Overall, our meal at Tetsuya’s was rather underwhelming.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 29, 2009

Tetsuya's Review

There is no denying that the food at Tetsuya' is absolutely fabulous! Every bite is a delight to savour for years to come... Tetsuya's truly deserves its global reputation for culinary excellence. My only concern is that the atmosphere can be so reverential that one can find dining here to be somewhat solemn and even intimidating at times. As a seasoned restaurant patron, I found the hushed atmosphere less than enjoyable with neighbouring tables

whispered conversations the only background to our own exchanges. To be fair we were seated in a room populated by couples, so perhaps other rooms with larger tables may have had more of an atmospheric spark. Nonetheless, Tetsuyas is a place to pay homage to a wonderful chef and team in very pleasant surroundings.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 26, 2007

Not a great experience

My husband is the foodie - I just go along. But as the companion, I have been to many top rated restaurants in the world, including L'Espalier in Boston, and Le Cinq in Paris. That said, I wasn't impressed with Tetsuya's. I found the restaurant cold - in temperature, decor, and service. The service was detached and inadequate for a restaurant of this level. The pacing was off - the courses were served too far apart. The service was off in that

we were attended by at least six different people, none of whom seemed terribly interested in us. We had to ask to have the food described to us as the servers wanted to deliver and run with at best cursory statements like "this is the rainbow trout." The food at top rated restaurants is always presented - not dropped off. This was particularly an issue at Tetsuya's because there is no menu. Until the food arrives, you do not know what you are getting. The food was unique and had many expensive ingredients (such as caviar). With all the courses (and wine pairings), there was plenty of food and wine. Too bad they couldn't take the time to give the food the introduction it warranted. Although I would have to say that despite the obvious food value, I have had better food elsewhere and at less expense. I perused the other reviews before writing and was glad to see that I am not the only one who found Tetsuya's lacking. I wouldn't go back and would not recommend it.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2007

Don't believe the hype!

This place is a bad joke....we have been to the finest restaurants in the world...this is not one of them....pretentious would be kind; the food is sparse and poor; the service is surly and condescending....if you need to impress yourself, go there.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 1, 2006

Expensive? You bet

The food is very good, no doubt. the dessert alone had 3 courses. Atmosphere also contributes to the price - the restaurant looks like a stately japanese abode with nice japanese greenery surrounding it. Service is good, they memorize everything and not a notepad seen. The value is weakest here, since it is AUD175+++ per person and i'm amused they try to "upsize" your 9 courses with 2 more courses, at an extra charge of course

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 14, 2005

I have never had a better meal.

I thought that I had eaten well in my travels and certainly I have had some fine meals, but this truly was the best. The attention to detail, the delicacy and the overall presentation was perfect. I don't know if Tetsuya's is able to qualify for Michelin stars, but they certainly should be in the running. The price fix menu was innovative, flowed effortlessly and was perfect. The fusion of French and Japanese was flawless. I was not served one thing

in 9 courses that was not outstanding. The wine list was reasonably priced and I had a 2001 Moss Wood Cabernet that was stunning. Reservations are almost impossible to get, but be persistent and they will let you in. Absolutely incredible.

Read More

By bryan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 30, 2003

henriks tongue

this was the most incredible eating experience of my life!The foodwas devastating in its concept variety and execution, the staff wereimmaculate in their attitude and service and the setting was a dream.

By Roger

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2003

A MUST for food aficianados

This was a fun,theatrical dining experience. The flavors were creative and exciting, the service professional. The atmosphere is nothing special but the excitement of the cuisine is what your here for. Make sure you book well in advance.

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 18, 2002

Gastronomic Genius!

I have listened to all the talk for a few years and now I can understand why this restaurant and its amazing chef receives the accolades they do. The food is just sensational, an incredible culinary experience for the senses. Who would imagine strawberry sorbet and white balsamic vineager with basil would be a dessert to die for! The service was inoffensive but highly proffesional. Truly a wonderful dinning experience.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement