Back To Line

Regent Seven Seas Cruises: Seven Seas Voyager

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • New

Feb 11, 2015

SE ASIA

We just spent 18 days on the Regent Voyager. I would like to caution future cruisers to be aware of something that we encountered for the first time in the over 15+ cruises we have taken. Four of us were quarantined to our room for 24 hours Three of us were PERFECTLY healthy, showing zero signs of illness, and were never seen by a doctor to make this decision. My husband had bariatric surgery five years ago. For any of you who have had

this, you would know that diarrhea can occur for a variety of reasons. One can be a change in diet. Well, as it usually does with my husband on vacation, he had this problem and had forgotten his medication. He was not sick otherwise. He went to the doctor to get some Imodium. The doctor never ran any tests and had the nurse take his temperature. It registered 2/10ths above normal. The medical office immediately put my husband in isolation for 24 hours. Shockingly, they also immediately put myself and parents in a 24 hour isolation as well. We were never seen or examined. A request by me to see the doctor was met with a letter from the doctor saying "contagious illnesses can spread easily from person to person in closed communities"--so why put 3 healthy people in the same room with a "sick" person for 24 hours? We paid $133,488.00 for four us to be on this 18-day cruise in the Master Suite. They put three healthy people, against our will, in isolation (same room all together) with someone who is perhaps sick with a contagious illness? Is there logic there? They had multiple service employees going in and out of the room all day--where is the logic there? So under their rules, instead of one sick person, you now have four sick people, and a variety of employees who will perhaps get sick because they have been in the room. The doctor made this decision in the few split seconds he spent with my husband, and again, he NEVER saw any of the other three people. CDC guidelines recommend the isolation of sick passengers on a cruise ship. They do NOT say anything about traveling companions. This is a Regent policy. While I completely understand the isolation of sick people, especially on a cruise ship full of passengers, in this case, it was overkill, and handled improperly by cruise management. During this isolation, in our case, the General Manager did not contact us, and other than our regular cabin service, nothing was done to explain the "rules" or help us through that day. The explanations only came later after I was "allowed" out of my room to speak with the Manager. The Regent Corporate Office offered a pittance credit on a future cruise, which obviously I declined. I would suggest, in the case of traveling with Regent, you use EXTREME caution when going to see their onboard doctor. This is a venus fly trap meant to "catch" anyone who is even slightly sick. The shop onboard carries no cold/flu medications (as it did in the past) by the way. All of this is dispensed by the doctor now. Again, my issue with this line is NOT the isolation of a potentially sick person, it is the isolation of people who show ZERO signs of illness with no attempt to see the perfectly well people to determine their health during the isolation day. There was no meeting with us to discuss their policies that day, and we were just told by the nurse to stay in the room or run the risk of being taken off the cruise. And we paid $7,300 per day for this? By the way, none of the four of us were sick. We did not get sick and remained completely healthy throughout the cruise. My husband's diarrhea was presumably caused from the dietary changes on vacation as a result of the bariatric surgery. I thought the food and service were excellent Voyager Master Suite My review centers specifically around the Master Suite experience, #700. This writing reflects a just completed 18 day Southeast Asia cruise. It is meant for the traveler that prefers the Master Suite and looks for that level of luxury. My family has traveled on this cruise line 7 or 8 times during the past 15 years. About half of those in a Master Suite. I have been on all of their ships. I have also traveled with Crystal Cruises, most recently on the Serenity, in the Master Suite, which was outstanding in every way. First I would like to say the staff on this ship and the food are exceptional. I would say this area of the experience is "luxury" and very good. I would also say that the production shows, although they do fewer than in the past, are also very high quality, with excellent talent. Now about the room, for a "luxury" cruise experience, for four people, that cost us more than $133,000., it is not at all worth it. This room, and the ship in general (staff/food excluded) is outdated and not at all "luxury." Honestly, out of five stars for the room, I give it 2 stars. I give the ship as a whole in common areas, a 3 star rating. It's on the level of a 3 star hotel. It is clean, but I would STRONGLY recommend if you choose this room and ship, you look at actual photos of the ENTIRE room (as opposed to drawings in the brochure) and look at size. The suite is very oddly designed. First it is on the front of the ship, translating into VERY bumpy. The worst area to put the best room. You will hear an extraordinarily loud noise when the anchor is dropped, but that is only on stops that require a tender. It particularly affects the guest room. The laundry is at the complete other end of ship, and only two wash machines service this level. Rarely is a machine available. (Crystal and other high-end cruises includes comp laundry with Master Suite) Layout: The Master Bedroom is part of the bathroom, only a cheesy curtain separates the bath from the bedroom. The shower and toilet are very small and not even a fraction in design compared to what is out there on other luxury high-end ships. There is absolutely NOTHING about the Master Suite experience that makes the guest feel special. We went from staying at a Four Seasons Hotel, in amazing rooms, to this and honestly upon check in, it was a huge, depressing let -down. The room is VERY dark with low ceilings. It is filled with over 60 coffee table books that clutter every empty spot. There are very few open plugs to charge your electronics. Be sure to bring your european adaptor to increase places to charge. Doors are propped open with yellow rubber door stops that slip and then the door flaps all night. 2nd issue. This is a two bedroom. We brought our parents and put them in the 2nd room. Clearly now, I see for the same price, they could've had a separate Master Suite. BIG MISTAKE. This room is small, like a college dorm room. It has a cheesy closet, a VERY small bath, and really is not a place you would put grown adults looking for a luxury experience. At least in the ship's Master Suite #1100, the second bedroom is a full size room with a closet and patio. So disappointing our parents had to spend 18 days in this space. Given the price we paid, we expected much more out of this room. Of course, immediately upon embarking, we expressed concern about the room. While the General Manager was very cordial about the issue, and suggested "very rarely" are four adults put in this room (would have been nice if the Regent Sales Rep would have mentioned this upon booking), there was never any offer to do anything to improve our experience--other than a minuscule "credit" on a future booking. Honestly, if they offered a free cruise for four, I would not take it. Regent's corporate office (the ones who seem to make all decisions) have no idea how to deal with upscale customers. Do you think that will change with the new ship coming online next year? Same people managing....A minor "credit" for a future booking is not only rude but simply reflects that they are really out of touch. One question to consider...Do you really think this line is capable of managing "the most luxurious ship ever built?" (new ship coming online in 2016) Based on the material they provided onboard, booking a suite on the inaugural itinerary is 100% deposit--no refunds. I suggest high caution on this one. You're making an expensive decision with one enhanced photo and a lot of fluffy marketing. If you have an issue or a problem, do you feel confident you will be satisfied? That is key to operating in the high-end luxury world and unless there are internal corporate changes I question whether one wants to gamble to big dollars here. It seems to me Regent has cut back on this part. When we started cursing with them in 2002, there seemed to be more production shows and more speakers that talked about the various ports. I can only assume because of adding free shore excursions, cut backs have had to occur. Again, only my assumption. We did all of our excursions through a private company called shore trips. They did an EXCELLENT job. We did not participate in the group tours that were free with the cruise. Other than the ship room we had a very good time. I will not cruise with Regent anymore however.

Read More
  • New

Sep 6, 2012

Baltic

This was our second cruise with Regent for 4 of us, brother, and wives. Based upon the excellence our 2011 Cruise we booked this cruise to the Baltic. This cruise did not meet our expectations. Regent talks about how important their customers are, but when it comes to customer issues "they do not walk the talk". They are in avoidance and from this cruise it is clear that their own bottom line is more important than customer satisfaction.

They were a lot of little issues, annoyances, on this cruise, but being fair it was pretty good. When there is a problem they pretty much avoid you, or listen, and do nothing. My main issue is with their travel airline booking department, beware. Once they get your money they will book you on the most inconvenient airline schedules. Yesterday, it took us about 28 hours to get home on a trip that should take about 14 hours. Once they disembark you they literally "kick you to the curve". We were off the boat by 8:30am and they bused us to Heathrow London where we waited over 6 hours for our flight. Meanwhile they were direct flights leaving every hour to our home destination in SFO. Our itinerary had us connect in Dulles DC, clear customs, where we waited another 3 hours, had to change planes, and eventually got home at 4 am. Also there travel department screwed up my wives middle name, and then billed me several hundred dollars for their mistake to reissue the ticket. We lost our good seating, and they solution was shipboard credits which to me is useless when you are spending your money for their mistakes. If we do anymore cruise with these folks before paying them make sure you get your airline booking locked else beware. The food is their 23 signature restaurants was great. The food in their main dining area "The Compass Rose" was not good. We stop eating in that restaurant after 4 tries. I filled out the comment card, and the Executive Chef called me back, very nice, but as I mentioned above did nothing. The staterooms are excellent, comfortable, roomy. No issues Excursions, some are better than others. It is not a slam dunk we will cruise with these folks again. They ruined our experience with their predatory air line booking department. The only memory we are left with is the disaster getting home. They talk about how important their customers are, but really their profit is their most important consideration. This cruise was not as great as last years, and it seemed to us they are cost cutting mode. Regent brags that they repeat customers are their livelihood, and this boat was more than 50% repeat customers. However, to us, we may or may not repeat with them. If we do, we will know our airline and travel arrangements before giving these people any money.

Read More
  • New

Sep 6, 2012

Baltic

This was our second cruise with Regent for 4 of us, brother, and wives. Based upon the excellence our 2011 Cruise we booked this cruise to the Baltic. This cruise did not meet our expectations. Regent talks about how important their customers are, but when it comes to customer issues "they do not walk the talk". They are in avoidance and from this cruise it is clear that their own bottom line is more important than customer satisfaction.

They were a lot of little issues, annoyances, on this cruise, but being fair it was pretty good. When there is a problem they pretty much avoid you, or listen, and do nothing. My main issue is with their travel airline booking department, beware. Once they get your money they will book you on the most inconvenient airline schedules. Yesterday, it took us about 28 hours to get home on a trip that should take about 14 hours. Once they disembark you they literally "kick you to the curve". We were off the boat by 8:30am and they bused us to Heathrow London where we waited over 6 hours for our flight. Meanwhile they were direct flights leaving every hour to our home destination in SFO. Our itinerary had us connect in Dulles DC, clear customs, where we waited another 3 hours, had to change planes, and eventually got home at 4 am. Also there travel department screwed up my wives middle name, and then billed me several hundred dollars for their mistake to reissue the ticket. We lost our good seating, and they solution was shipboard credits which to me is useless when you are spending your money for their mistakes. If we do anymore cruise with these folks before paying them make sure you get your airline booking locked else beware. The food is their 23 signature restaurants was great. The food in their main dining area "The Compass Rose" was not good. We stop eating in that restaurant after 4 tries. I filled out the comment card, and the Executive Chef called me back, very nice, but as I mentioned above did nothing. The staterooms are excellent, comfortable, roomy. No issues Excursions, some are better than others. It is not a slam dunk we will cruise with these folks again. They ruined our experience with their predatory air line booking department. The only memory we are left with is the disaster getting home. They talk about how important their customers are, but really their profit is their most important consideration. This cruise was not as great as last years, and it seemed to us they are cost cutting mode. Regent brags that they repeat customers are their livelihood, and this boat was more than 50% repeat customers. However, to us, we may or may not repeat with them. If we do, we will know our airline and travel arrangements before giving these people any money.

Read More
  • New

Sep 6, 2012

Baltic

This was our second cruise with Regent for 4 of us, brother, and wives. Based upon the excellence our 2011 Cruise we booked this cruise to the Baltic. This cruise did not meet our expectations. Regent talks about how important their customers are, but when it comes to customer issues "they do not walk the talk". They are in avoidance and from this cruise it is clear that their own bottom line is more important than customer satisfaction.

They were a lot of little issues, annoyances, on this cruise, but being fair it was pretty good. When there is a problem they pretty much avoid you, or listen, and do nothing. My main issue is with their travel airline booking department, beware. Once they get your money they will book you on the most inconvenient airline schedules. Yesterday, it took us about 28 hours to get home on a trip that should take about 14 hours. Once they disembark you they literally "kick you to the curve". We were off the boat by 8:30am and they bused us to Heathrow London where we waited over 6 hours for our flight. Meanwhile they were direct flights leaving every hour to our home destination in SFO. Our itinerary had us connect in Dulles DC, clear customs, where we waited another 3 hours, had to change planes, and eventually got home at 4 am. Also there travel department screwed up my wives middle name, and then billed me several hundred dollars for their mistake to reissue the ticket. We lost our good seating, and they solution was shipboard credits which to me is useless when you are spending your money for their mistakes. If we do anymore cruise with these folks before paying them make sure you get your airline booking locked else beware. The food is their 23 signature restaurants was great. The food in their main dining area "The Compass Rose" was not good. We stop eating in that restaurant after 4 tries. I filled out the comment card, and the Executive Chef called me back, very nice, but as I mentioned above did nothing. The staterooms are excellent, comfortable, roomy. No issues Excursions, some are better than others. It is not a slam dunk we will cruise with these folks again. They ruined our experience with their predatory air line booking department. The only memory we are left with is the disaster getting home. They talk about how important their customers are, but really their profit is their most important consideration. This cruise was not as great as last years, and it seemed to us they are cost cutting mode. Regent brags that they repeat customers are their livelihood, and this boat was more than 50% repeat customers. However, to us, we may or may not repeat with them. If we do, we will know our airline and travel arrangements before giving these people any money.

Read More
  • New

Sep 6, 2012

Baltic

This was our second cruise with Regent for 4 of us, brother, and wives. Based upon the excellence our 2011 Cruise we booked this cruise to the Baltic. This cruise did not meet our expectations. Regent talks about how important their customers are, but when it comes to customer issues "they do not walk the talk". They are in avoidance and from this cruise it is clear that their own bottom line is more important than customer satisfaction.

They were a lot of little issues, annoyances, on this cruise, but being fair it was pretty good. When there is a problem they pretty much avoid you, or listen, and do nothing. My main issue is with their travel airline booking department, beware. Once they get your money they will book you on the most inconvenient airline schedules. Yesterday, it took us about 28 hours to get home on a trip that should take about 14 hours. Once they disembark you they literally "kick you to the curve". We were off the boat by 8:30am and they bused us to Heathrow London where we waited over 6 hours for our flight. Meanwhile they were direct flights leaving every hour to our home destination in SFO. Our itinerary had us connect in Dulles DC, clear customs, where we waited another 3 hours, had to change planes, and eventually got home at 4 am. Also there travel department screwed up my wives middle name, and then billed me several hundred dollars for their mistake to reissue the ticket. We lost our good seating, and they solution was shipboard credits which to me is useless when you are spending your money for their mistakes. If we do anymore cruise with these folks before paying them make sure you get your airline booking locked else beware. The food is their 23 signature restaurants was great. The food in their main dining area "The Compass Rose" was not good. We stop eating in that restaurant after 4 tries. I filled out the comment card, and the Executive Chef called me back, very nice, but as I mentioned above did nothing. The staterooms are excellent, comfortable, roomy. No issues Excursions, some are better than others. It is not a slam dunk we will cruise with these folks again. They ruined our experience with their predatory air line booking department. The only memory we are left with is the disaster getting home. They talk about how important their customers are, but really their profit is their most important consideration. This cruise was not as great as last years, and it seemed to us they are cost cutting mode. Regent brags that they repeat customers are their livelihood, and this boat was more than 50% repeat customers. However, to us, we may or may not repeat with them. If we do, we will know our airline and travel arrangements before giving these people any money.

Read More
  • New

Dec 3, 2010

EASTERN CARIBBEAN

First time on Regent and overall very nice cruise,,,BUT,,,would take another ship next time,,,due to vibration problems in aft portion or ship,,,esp...in cabins... Generally very good...some specialty restaurants seemed better due to quality of food and service...main dining room tends to be very "leisurely" so plan on eating early or give yourself plenty of time....loved room service.... Great ex.for above mentioned vibration problem..big,,over

300 sqft...with large bathroom,,,and TUB,,,even had walkin closet, and balcony..... Many things to participate in,,,pool, shuffelboard,jogging track,,,lectures,,,,,busy schedule,,,much to do...or not...depends on your interests.. Most were very nice,,plus inc. in price,,so many took advantage,,but not crowded.....Only one I d pass on was Cozumel city tour and shopping,,,never made it to the shopping part,,,most of time seeing island on bus and very long stop at Mexican history museum.... Cruise started in Ft. Lauderdale and was 7 days,,,went to Key West,Belize,Cozumel,Costa Maya,,and Guatamala,,,,returning to Ft. Lauderdale....most ports very poor and sad to see much poverty,,,but glad to see that part of world....would go on another ship with Regent,,but not that same area again....Would recommend for sports lovers,,,since ziplining,scuba,snorkling,,,etc...not as much for older cruisers in each port.Many senior citizens onboard,,,few children.Loved having all excursions,tips,drinks,,etc. included....spent only money on tour guide tips...

Read More
  • New

Nov 30, -0001

UNKNOWN

-Suffice it to say, the ship is quite luxurious. - The standard cabins are the largest. Plenty of room. Plenty of storage and drawers and hangers. Walk-in closet and in-room safe are very nice features. - The 3-cushion sofa and "living" room area were spacious. - Bathroom is very spacious. Plenty of counterspace and shelves. - Interactive TV worked fine. - Public rooms were comfortable and cozy. - Service in all of the eating

venues was outstanding; main dining room (Compass Rose) was as good as the specialty, reservations-required restaurants. The Veranda restaurant where you can go if you want to be casual was ok. The 2 other reservations-required eateries: The Signature restaurant was very good. In the Latitudes restaurant, there's a large window of the kitchen where there was supposed to be some kind of show; it was very disappointing as nothing happened. While the food was excellent, there was no show of any kind. - Food was great; haute cuisine. Portions were on the small side but taste great. Obviously, one could always asked for more. - The Pool Grill was superior to any that we've eaten at. In addition to beef hot dogs, they served prime beef hamburgers, prime steak/chicken sandwiches, veggie burgers, salads and daily specials. - All soft drinks were free as were wine at all meals. - Casino was more than adequate. - Tours were generally reasonable but RSSC needs to improve it's selection of tours and guides. - Pre- and post- cruise experience could be better -- provide more help/information in getting to and from the ship. - Entertainment was better than ok but not as good as the Crystal. The theatre in which the shows were presented was very nice -- not a bad seat in the house. - Very nice feature: only 1 public announcement daily even though it was at 9:00am daily. - No tips required or requested; tips were voluntary. - Dry cleaning and laundry prices were almost reasonable; ship had a tailor on board who shortened clothes/etc. for a very reasonable price -- very nice feature! - While there was a jogging deck, we missed not having a promenade deck on which to sit and watch people walk by. Al in all, I highly recommend sailing on the Voyager. RICHARD WAN

Read More
  • New

Nov 30, -0001

Western Caribbean

My wife and I have previously cruised with Holland America (Maasdam & Veendam), Celebrity ( Mercury) and Cunard (QE2). In March of 2003 we were invited on a pre-inaugural cruise on the brand new Radisson Seven Seas Voyager. We were so impressed that we booked for a one week Western Caribbean cruise in November 2003. We flew to Florida with Virgin, using their premium economy service, 5 days before our cruise and spent a blissful few days

at the Hilton Beach resort on Marco Island. EMBARKATION On Sunday the 23rd we drove from Naples to Fort Lauderdale arriving at check-in to find long queues. The link between the laptop check-in computers and the ship was faulty and the signal repeatedly failed, preventing staff from checking passengers in. Although there appeared to be large numbers of RSSC people behind the check-in desks staring at the computers, nobody actually appeared to be able to resolve the problem. Arriving passengers, including ourselves, soon became annoyed at the lack of information, lack of seating, and most of all the lack of anybody willing to explain what was happening! There seemed to be no manual back-up in place in case of just such a crisis. Not what you expect from a 6 star ship! After about an hour of waiting, the link was re-established and we were checked in. THE CABIN We were able to board at around 3.30 and were greeted in the lobby with smiles and a glass of Champagne. We were shown to our cabin on deck 7, where we found our steward and stewardess waiting to greet us. The cabin (suite 743) was beautiful, decorated in muted shades of taupe, beige, mushroom and cream. The sitting area was furnished with a large settee and 2 armchairs, a table that converted into a dining table and sliding doors led to a balcony. This was furnished with 2 chairs and a table. The sitting area was also furnished with a television and DVD player, a writing desk, bookshelves and a fridge, which, at our choice, was stocked with 2 bottles of premium liquor and soft drinks which were replaced daily. Complimentary Champagne, fruit and flowers awaited our arrival. On the in-board side of the room, there was very comfortable queen sized bed, with bedside tables and a built in dressing table. Adjoining this was a good sized walk-in closet, and an excellent marble bathroom with a separate shower and tub and wash basins. The whole cabin had a very spacious feel. The fitments were high quality and there were quite sophisticated lighting options. The wide range of bathroom requisites were from the very excellent Judith Jackson range. We were so impressed with the soaps that we bought quite a large supply from the spa! Towels and towelling robes were plentiful and replaced frequently. The total size of the suite was about 300 sq ft. If one had a criticism, and it’s a minor one, more light was needed in the bathroom. THE SHIP Seven Seas Voyager, whilst not the prettiest ship from the exterior is beautiful inside. Understated and elegant, there are no jarring colours and the ambiance is restful and sophisticated. The public rooms are intimate and inviting and the restaurants never feel crowded. The overwhelming impression is one of space! With a passenger load of about 650 for this cruise (the ship only takes 700 when full), the ship never seemed crowded, and one doesn’t queue for anything. A good example of this was the lido area. This and the sun deck around the pool seemed to cope with the passenger load easily. For most of our cruise the weather was good so we spent quite a lot of our time by the pool. The smiling stewards were always so willing to move sunbeds where you wanted them, provide limitless supplies of towels and even brought round chilled flannels and complimentary soft drinks unbidden, as well as providing a full bar service. We tended to prefer our chairs on the upper promenade deck overlooking the pool area where we could enjoy the breezes, as well as watch what was going on. The two-deck theatre was very comfortable and well laid out with excellent sight lines and acoustics. There was an assortment of bars and lounges which, again, never seemed to be crowded, but were welcoming and comfortable. The shop served most needs but this was the only area in which we thought the service questionable and a little supercilious. Maybe they are run by concessionaries? Not being smokers, we are sensitive to cigarette smoke, but apart from the cigar room, we were not bothered in any way. All the restaurants are non-smoking. THE FOOD When we were aboard in March during the pre-inaugural voyage we were fairly impressed by the food, but over the first season things had improved enormously. There was a choice of four restaurants, two of which, Signatures and Latitudes, required reservations. Luncheon was served in La Verandah and there was a daily grill on deck by the pool. Teak tables and chairs and parasols were available in the sun for those who wished to dine alfresco. Each morning, breakfast was served in the main Compass Rose restaurant and La Verandah, however we always breakfasted in our cabin. Obviously, the room service choice is more limited than the main restaurants, nevertheless, we found that our breakfasts were beautifully and accurately presented and always piping hot. The table was set up with white linen and the contents of the tray were properly laid out, as opposed to other lines where the tray is just left on the table. Compass Rose The main dining room, the Compass Rose, was first class. We were always able to obtain a table for two, without ever being as asked if we wished to join other people, even when the restaurant was at its busiest. (We heartily dislike sharing, and would not book a ship unless we could be guaranteed a table for two). The dinner menu in the Compass Rose consisted of a choice of hors d’oeuvres, soup, fish, pasta, salad, entrée and dessert. Alternatively there was a chef’s degustation menu. If you found it impossible to choose…which we often did…the waiters could not have been more accommodating. It was possible to change between the menu options and the choice was wide enough for most palates. The quality of the food and service was world class. We did not have one course, which was anything other than top notch. Portions were nouvelle cuisine size, which, given the complexity and richness of some of some of the dishes, was more than enough for our palates. There was a choice of complementary house wines to accompany the meal, and these were most liberally poured. Being European we find some Californian wines too scented for our taste, and upon request, a good quality French or Italian wine was always available. It seemed that on some evenings, the wine waiters went out of their way to tempt us with ever better wines! Service was punctilious while remaining friendly and polite, you really felt that the dining room personnel cared personally whether you were enjoying your meal. The dress code was published in the daily information sheet but generally and somewhat unusually, we noticed that people dressed up rather than down. Signatures This was the French restaurant run by the Ecole Cordon Bleu de Paris. Having lived in France, I have been lucky enough to have eaten at quite a number of the top-rated restaurants in France and Europe. The meal we had in Signatures ranks up there with the best of them. It is top class French cuisine. We did notice, however, that not all the American guests appreciated either the European flavours and presentation or the portion sizes! We do hope that Radisson do not bow to any pressure to ‘Americanise’ this restaurant. It is quite simply the best food that we have ever had at sea and it beats the much-vaunted Queens Grill on the QE2 into a poor second. It is always busy and it is worth making a reservation as soon as you have boarded the ship as it books up fast. In order to be fair, each couple is allowed one reservation per 7 days to ensure that everybody gets an opportunity to eat there. The Maitre D’ and the waiting staff were particularly charming and helpful and more importantly, informed, and with a degree of warmth not found in France! This was an outstanding culinary experience. Latitudes This was the other reservation-required restaurant, which served American cuisine. There was one sitting in which diners were invited to table at 7.30pm. The style of the restaurant was such that the kitchen is open and one can watch the chefs prepare the food. We did not eat here, but will undoubtedly try it on a future voyage. La Verandah This was a high quality buffet-style restaurant at breakfast and lunch which became a Mediterranean bistro in the evening. We tended to lunch there on most days and were delighted with the selection, which always included various hot and cold hors d’oeuvres and seafood, with a fish dish, a hot dish of the day and pasta dish – freshly cooked to order. Again waiters carried your tray if required and would go out to the deck barbeque for you if that was your preference. At night, the atmosphere was much more sophisticated, with subdued lighting, full waiter service (you could choose you own hors d’oeuvres if required) and a menu with a wide range of Mediterranean dishes. We ate there on one evening and were delighted. The dress code for this venue was country club casual. From this restaurant double doors opened to an open air after deck, which was set out with high quality teak furniture. One can hardly imagine a more romantic setting for dinner. All the tables both in and outdoors were properly laid with linen napery and good quality glass and silverware. As in every facet of this ship the staff were exemplary. If one had had a long day ashore or could not be bothered to dress, the full Compass Rose menu was also available served course by course in one’s suite. We didn’t try this as we were only on a short cruise, however on a longer cruise, this may well be a tempting alternative. THE ENTERTAINMENT My wife is a professional Theatre Director and we have often been critical of the entertainment aboard previous cruises. The Voyager was like the curate’s egg – good in parts. Two full scale ‘production shows’ were staged during our cruise by the Peter Terhune Company. One, a brave attempt at a more classical programme, opera for the masses, and the second a standard song and dance show. Unfortunately both used pre-recorded ‘clic’ tracks for the orchestral backing. The singers sing live but somehow the relationship between the band and the singer is lost and the show suffers as a result. Come on Radisson, think of all the excellent unemployed musicians there are simply gasping for a job. There is no substitute for ‘live’ music. It raises the quality of performance from mundane to sublime! Provide something different, something classy…to match the classiness elsewhere on board. The shows were attended by only about 200 on each evening so maybe there is a lesson for RSSC to learn here. Other ships in the deluxe class have done away with this type of show and introduced high quality cabaret acts. We did not attend the entertainment on the evenings other than the formal show but anecdotal evidence was that many of our fellow passengers were disappointed, so if this suggestion were to be followed, quality would have to improve. THE PORTS We have been on the Western Caribbean circuit on two previous occasions so we regarded the ship as more of a destination than the ports. We did not go ashore in Progresso as we have visited the stunning ruins at Chichen Itza on a previous cruise. It was quite noticeable that many passengers stayed aboard and enjoyed the facilities of the ship. We spent a morning in Cozumel and we found that the ‘hassling’ by locals has increased here. There were 5 large cruise ships in port that day so I suppose that it is inevitable that the Mexican charm of the town will be diluted by 5000 or so passengers wandering about. Georgetown Grand Cayman was a charming as ever, but our real favourite was Key West were the ship docked at sunset next to Mallory Square and spent all night and next day in port. Whilst parts of the town are tacky, we like Key West and love wandering about this most un-American town. The weather here, whilst sunny was very windy and chilly. However that did not stop us, and many of our fellow Voyagers having a great time. DISEMBARKATION We breakfasted in our suite and were ashore by 9am with no hassles. Our luggage was waiting and there were plenty of porters and taxis. Gratuities were included in the cruise fare, so there was none of the last night friendliness from staff who have ignored you during the whole of the cruise only to become your best buddy on the last night of the voyage! With only 650 passengers to process the whole process could not have been easier. CONCLUSION Seven Seas Voyager exceeded our expectations on many levels. The ship is elegant, understated and delivers a cruise that meets even the most demanding passengers’ requirements. It is not a ‘fun’ ship where the ‘party animal’ reigns supreme and is organised from morning till night. Neither is it ‘God’s waiting room’ where all the passengers are in bed by 9.30! It delivers a highly personalised, top-notch product, which thoroughly deserves the accolades it has received. Sort out the entertainment, and it might just be perfection!

Read More
  • New

Nov 30, -0001

Eastern Mediterranean

Age: Baby Boomer Occupation: Self Employed Number of Cruises: lots Cruise Line: Radisson Seven Seas Cruises Ship: Seven Seas Voyager Itinerary: Eastern Mediterranean Summary in Advance This cruise is something everyone should do at least once in their lifetime. The ship, the dining, the service, and the itinerary are simply, the best. Radisson has it right! The Set Up Joanie and I were the seminar leaders

and group escorts for two small groups of 22 travel professionals aboard the Radisson Seven Seas Voyager for two seven day itineraries, back-to-back in the eastern Mediterranean. Getting to the Ship This was a continuation of a month long trip that had already taken me to China, Korea, Japan, Jamaica, Haiti and Mexico. I left Joanie in Hong Kong and was finally meeting up with her in New York's JFK airport. I debarked the Navigator of the Seas in Miami and made my way to MIA for a flight on American Airlines non-stop to JFK. Upon arrival I transferred to Swiss Air international terminal and met Joanie who had just flown in from SAN. It was great to see her and after a while we boarded Swiss Air for the flight to Geneva. I must say that I would not choose Swiss Air again, as the pitch in coach was barely tolerable, which is quite unusual for an international flight. We connected in Geneva and flew non-stop to Athens, Greece. We flew into Athens a day before the cruise, but if you have not visited Athens, I would suggest at least a couple of days to explore its treasures. We stayed at the Royal Olympic Hotel in Athens and I would highly recommend it. The hotel is well located, just a 5-minute walk to the Plaka and its wonderful restaurants, shopping and sights. One can also walk to the Acropolis and many other famous Athens sights. The hotel commands a formidable view of the Temple of Olympian Zeus and the surrounding area. One can see the acropolis on the top of the hill from your lanai. The rooms are quite generous in size for European hotels and the service is excellent. After enjoying dinner in the Plaka, we settled in for the evening. We were up early and again ventured into the Plaka for breakfast and some serious exploration of every nook and cranny the Plaka offers. This was really the first time that I had ample time to really penetrate the Plaka and I would rate it quite high on Athens’s “must see” list. Around noon, we checked out of the hotel and took a taxi to meet the ship in Piraeus, the adjoining port city to Athens. The Seven Seas Voyager Docked in Kusadasi The Ship: Having sailed the Seven Seas Navigator recently, I was surprised by the size of the Seven Seas Voyager. She looks much larger than the Navigator and carries 700 lucky passengers. She is considered a 6-star ship and she lives up to her reputation very nicely. As the world's second all-suite, all balcony ship, The Seven Seas Voyager is a true luxury experience Cabin 1042 Joanie and I treated ourselves to a Penthouse Suite (includes butler service) and we were glad we did, as things turned out.   The Penthouse Suite Floor Plan   The Penthouse Suite is 370 square feet (including the balcony) is quite large enough for two people on a longer cruise.   Penthouse Suite Bedroom (Cabin 1042)   The bedroom partitions off from the living area by the use of a full length drapery. When this privacy drapery fully encloses the bedroom area, the black out shade over the window in the bedroom allows for maximum darkness making sleeping during the day very easy. Joanie actually slept almost 24 hours straight in this environment when she was recovering from her illness. The bedding is of the highest of quality. There is a master lighting control on the headboard for the entire cabin, and there are two reading lights with separate controls that allow one to read without bothering the other person. two-drawer nightstands reside on either side of the bed. Next to the bed is a complete women’s cosmetic mirror, lights and counter. An excellent hair dryer is also located there. With enough drawer space for everything women bring with them. Along the wall facing the ocean is a huge desktop and chest of drawers, desk drawer and storage area. There are two 110v electrical outlets and a telephone, however, currently there is not Internet access available from the cabin for a notebook computer in the Penthouse Suites. HINT: Bring a extra 10 foot extension cord with at least 3 outlets for the use of various electrical appliances. The Living Area The living area is of substantial size. The balcony (50 square feet) does not have lounge chairs, but rather plastic chairs and a small table. It is perfect for coffee in the morning, but not large enough to lounge in the sun. The privacy on the balcony is excellent, however. The sofa is at least 6’ 6” and is large enough for a tall person to comfortably sleep on (I know, I slept on it one evening when Joanie was really ill). For in cabin dining, there are two comfortable chairs and a table that converts into a dining table, rather than go out to one of the restaurants and there are two comfortable chairs. A full bar, with an entertainment center below, take up most of the cabinetry. Radisson includes 2 bottles of your favorite booze per cruise and you can order whatever you want for mixers and such. The entertainment center houses a television offering multiple channels and first run movies with no extra charge. There is also a DVD player and a substantial DVD lending library is located in the Internet café. Below the entertainment center is a concealed refrigerator stocked with bottled water, beer, soft drinks and juices. All of these beverages are also included in the cruise fare and are replaced as you use them. If you would like bloody Mary mix, as an example, it will be provided for you on a daily basis. The Walk-In Closet The walk-in closet is large enough for an extended cruise and easily accommodates everyone’s wardrobe with room to spare. There is a separate tie rack and also a belt rack for men and a full chest of drawers (with a hidden safe) there, as well. The Penthouse Bathroom The bathroom is simply elegant. First, there is a full sized bathtub with excellent water controls, next is a fully enclosed glass shower with excellent water controls and a toilet. The mirrored sink area offers plenty of space for storing toiletries and there is both a men’s and a women’s side. It comes stocked with Aveda cosmetic products that include shampoo, conditioner, body wash and body lotion. There is also Aveda bar soap. Next to the doorway is a floor to ceiling mirror for that last second check before heading out for the evening. I might mention that the door also has a doorbell for folks to announce their arrival at your suite. Joanie and Sagit, Our Butler Sagit, our butler also came with the suite. Sagit was a lifesaver for Joanie. Without Sagit, it would have been very difficult to make sure that Joanie had everything she needed to recover from her bout. One quick request of Sagit and he would magically appear with whatever we needed. Once Joanie was healthy again, we laughed about simply booking ourselves into a suite with a butler the next time we get ill, rather than staying home and being miserable. All in all, I would highly recommend this category on this ship. The cabins are well located, the extra touch of having your own butler and the extra room in the cabin makes a longer period on a ship much more enjoyable. I did get a chance to see the other cabin categories on the Voyager and also liked the Grand Suite, as it had a Jacuzzi tub next to the bedroom looking out its own floor to ceiling window at the ocean. I thought it would be fun to cruise in it sometime in the future. Also, I took some pictures of the Deluxe Suite, Voyager Suite, Grand Suite and Master Suite and published them here. I also included a floor plan for each suite so that you can see the differences. If it were me, I would take the Grand Suite on my next Seven Seas Voyager cruise. The Dining Venues One of the great things about luxury cruising is the dining and the Seven Seas Voyager is no exception. She offers four exceptional restaurants and a poolside lunch venue. The dining is gourmet and the experience delightful. Here are the restaurants in the order that I enjoyed them. Signatures Restaurant Signatures Restaurant, deck 5, aft   ( Sample Menu ) This was by far my favorite restaurant on the Seven Seas Voyager. Here is how the ship describes the restaurant; “Signatures is operated exclusively under the auspices of chefs of the famed Le Cordon Bleu of Paris. The menu is presented in the classic A La Carte tradition. This elegant venue is only open for dinner, the Dress Code requires jackets for Gentleman and Informal for Ladies, and reservations are required.” The menu is excellent, the service impeccable, the presentation engaging and the entire dining experience is simply six-star. We dined here twice and would have every night if we could have pulled it off. Compass Rose Restaurant Compass Rose Restaurant, deck 4, mid ship ( Sample Menu ) This is the ship’s main restaurant and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. While it is the main dinning venue, it by no means pales in comparison to the other dining venues. We had several meals in the Compass Rose Restaurant that rivaled the other dining venues in all aspects. The Compass Rose is open for breakfast and lunch for those that want a more formal dining experience. No reservations are required for dinner. La Veranda Buffet La Veranda Restaurant (Italian Steakhouse), deck 11, aft ( Sample Menu ) La Veranda is the Voyager’s Italian Steakhouse restaurant in the evening time. It offers excellent Italian dishes and a fabulous antipasto buffet that in itself is worth dining here. Add to the antipasto buffet excellent soup, pasta, salad and entrée selections, and you have the makings for a great dining experience. No reservations are necessary for dinner at the Italian Steakhouse. Dining on the Fantail at La Veranda La Veranda is also the ship’s buffet restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Breakfast finds many different fresh fruits, juices, nuts, breads, meats, eggs and other treats. There is a gourmet omelet station that also offers specialty egg dishes like Eggs Benedict and such. One can choose to dine in the restaurant itself or on the fantail out in the open. We found that breakfast on the fantail was something we looked forward to. Lunch also brings an excellent array of dishes to please your palette. Every day there are salads, soups, meats, seafood (including shellfish of some sort) freshly made pasta to your taste, an Asian station with various Asian dishes, rice and other treats, and a full dessert offering. The table service is excellent and we found no need to go any further for breakfast, and sometimes lunch when our appetite suggested we could consume such treats. Latitudes Restaurant Latitudes Restaurant, deck 5, mid ship  ( Sample Menu ) We only dined in Latitudes once and our meal was not all that great, particularly when compared to the other restaurants. I am not sure if Joanie and I are Asian fusion snobs, or if the restaurant actually fell short of everyone’s expectations. Being from San Diego where there is a wealth of Asian fusion restaurants and having a rich Asian dining background, we found the menu to be uninteresting and the service only very good. Unless you are an Asian dining aficionado, I suspect you will find the restaurant much to your liking. Joanie and I had experienced some 6-star Asian fusion meals in Hong Kong only a few days before this cruise and I suspect that experience made us impossible to please. But, I have to call it as I see it. The Pool Grill Pool Grill, deck 11, mid ship Joanie and I took a good number of lunches at the Pool Grill and they were excellent when compared to other cruise lines and ships. On several occasions the bar-b-ques were fired up and wonderful lunches were prepared poolside. This usually happened on days at sea. The normal daily menu included a small salad bar, mixed salads, numerous condiments, grilled to order selections such as hamburgers, hot dogs, steak sandwiches, fish sandwiches, chicken sandwiches, fries, chips and such. There were also fruits, desserts, cookies and other treats. One could choose to dine at one of the poolside tables or have their lunch served at their poolside lounge chair. The food was consistently good and the service excellent. My only observation was that the menu didn’t vary from day to day. I would have liked to have seen the mixed salads from La Veranda Restaurant extended to the Pool Grill on a daily basis to offer new and exciting choices for those that chose the Pool Grill on a consistent basis. Morning also saw a selection of early morning treats at the Pool Grill. A fresh cup of coffee or tea, fresh fruit, various breads, dried fruit selections and yogurt were available for those up early, or wanting a modest (and healthy) breakfast. The Coffee Corner Coffee Corner, deck 5, forward I couldn’t write this review without mentioning this little jewel. The Coffee Corner is open 24-hours every day and offers both regular and a decaffeinated coffee machines that dispense cappuccino, latte and regular coffee on demand. There are also pastries and/or cookies offered all day. Several types of tea are also available for those wanting it. A visit to the Coffee Corner is a great way to take a break and enjoy a fresh coffee drink at your leisure.   Other Public Rooms Deck 12 The best way to explore the Seven Seas Voyager beyond the restaurants is to start at the top deck and work our way down the ship. If you will join me, we will head all the way aft and take the elevator to deck 12.    The Paddle Tennis Court   All the way aft is where the paddle tennis court is located. While we didn’t use it, those that did had a ball.   Part of the Jogging Track   The jogging Track runs the length from aft of the paddle tennis court to the forward portion of deck 12 around the pool. Both walkers and joggers heavily used the jogging track every day of the cruise.   The Seven Seas Voyager Pool Area Walking forward on the jogging deck, one captures their first glimpse of the Seven Seas Voyager's pool area. This is constructed perfectly for this ship and it is never crowded. The Shuffleboard Court All the way forward on deck 12 is where the shuffleboard court and additional lounge chairs are located. Deck 12 was an excellent place to be when entering and departing ports, as it offered excellent views and visibility. Deck 11 The Observation Lounge By going down the forward stairwell to deck 11 and then going all the way forward, we enter the beautiful Observation Lounge. The Observation Lounge Bar This offers a great bar and nightly entertainment, but is also a great place to hang out during the day time and when entering or departing ports. Moving aft past some of the suites on board and past the top level of the atrium, you enter the pool area. The Pool Bar The Pool Bar is on the port side; and a small stage, where groups play during sail-a-way parties and at-sea days, is located adjacent to the pool bar on the starboard side. A ping pong table is located there when there is no entertainment. The Pool Area Lounges The pool offers excellent lounges that recline and feature thick mattresses. The lounge chairs purposely have an abundant amount of space around them making it quite easy for everyone to get into and out of them. The pool is salt water while the 2 Jacuzzis are fresh water and are always kept at a perfect temperature without being too hot. Just aft of the pool, several dining tables are part of the Pool Grill. The Pool Grill serves those using the pool for breakfast and lunch and offers extended hours for those returning too late for the other restaurants. Going inside leads to the aft stairwell. Walking through the doors leads you to the La Veranda Restaurant with its aft fantail for dining outdoors. Decks 7, 8, 9 and 10 These are all passenger cabin decks. However, note that each deck has its own self-service laundry with free usage. This was a life saver for Joanie and I. Deck 6 Moving all the way forward on deck 6 from the aft elevator, we pass several passenger staterooms until we arrive at the atrium. The Photo Shop On our right is the photo shop. The Seven Seas Voyager has two photographers that are completely non-invasive. They shot pictures only when requested and make themselves available for portraits on several evenings. Just One Section of the Library Across from the Photo Shop is the ship's library. This is an excellent library with all of the books color coded by type and then alphabetized with the beginning letter designated on the color tag. This makes it very easy to replace the book once you have read it. The Seven Seas Voyager Library There is a substantial travel section featuring books on many of the destinations that may be featured on the itinerary. Unfortunately, many folks took the books to their cabins and never returned them until the last day of the cruise. The Entrance to the Judith Jackson Sea Spa and Salon Forward of the forward elevator bank the Judith Jackson Sea Spa and Salon is found. The entrance is great and is always manned by the wonderful and happy young ladies that staff the spa. Click here to see a sample Judith Jackson Spa Menu The Workout Area There is a minimal workout area, but just enough equipment and free weights to accomplish a maintenance workout. There are several treadmills, a step machine and bikes for cardio workouts. as well. I especially enjoyed the steam room and shower in the work out area. The steam room was small, never busy and HOT! The showers were private, large and very enjoyable. The Aerobics Room While I didn't take any classes, Joanie took some almost every day in the aerobics room. They offered several classes and there was never a charge. Joanie loved the instructor and looked forward to every class. The Beauty Salon The beauty salon was always busy with ladies primping for the formal and informal nights and the massage and treatments offered in the spa were very popular. Deck 5 Leaving the salon area and making our way down the stairway to deck five and then moving forward we find the entrance to the upper level of the Constellation Theater. The Constellation Theater This is the main showroom on the ship and the place where most special events take place. It offers comfortable seating, great sightlines and wonderful acoustics. The Registration Desk Looking aft, one sees the registration desk (on the starboard side) and the tour desk (on the port side). The registration desk is manned 24 hours per day and is quite helpful with every request or question. The Tour Desk The tour desk personnel are also quite helpful and there was an excellent assortment of tours offered at each port. Shore excursion talks were given prior to arrival in each port and were subsequently televised for those that missed the talk. One of the services that the Voyager provides that I would give high ratings for is the thorough disclosure of every port for those wanting to "do it on their own". They provide maps and detailed information on how to enjoy the port without buying a tour. I don't think this cost them a single tour booking, but it really pleased those that wanted the information that had already decided to not take a tour. Aft of the main lobby lies the Hotel Manager's and the future cruise consultant's offices followed by the Internet Cafe on the port side. The Internet Cafe The Internet Cafe offers a reasonably fast connection depending on the location of the ship. It was down while in some ports (presumably because of port interference) but was generally very functional. The Voyager has also created a wi-fi "hot spot" in the Internet Cafe so that you can get your laptop online should you want to use your own computer. We didn't take that option simply because we didn't feel right SKYPING in an environment where other people were trying to concentrate. The rate to access the Internet is charged by the prepaid hour, rather than a per-minute rate. An hour is $6.00 ($.10 per minute), 5 hours is $25 ($.083 per minute), 10 hours is $40 ($.066 per minute), and 20 hours is $75 ($.0625 per minute). These are excellent access rates for a ship. Joanie and I purchased 2 10-hour packages, but would have purchased one 20-hour if we had known that you can have more than one computer accessing a code at one time. Club.com Computer Center Next to the Internet Cafe is Club.com, more computers that are used for computer classes, but that are also connected to the Internet for access. There was never a problem getting a terminal to log in on, even at the Internet cafe's busiest times. Window Shopping at the General Store Across from Club.com are the Voyager's boutiques. There is a rather large jewelry store and then the ship's logo and general store. General Store Interior There is everything that one would imagine you would find with the exception that there didn't seem to be an abundance of logo items for the ship. Many in our group wanted to purchase logo items and just could not find what they were looking for. I suspect that this is a lost revenue opportunity for Radisson. On the port side opposite the boutiques lies Latitudes Restaurant. The Horizon Lounge Bar Moving aft from the aft stairwell, we enter the Horizon Lounge. The Horizon Lounge Stage This excellent bar and smaller showroom is quite intimate and comfortable. The showroom is used for smaller entertainment venues such as comedians, and the bar also serves the Signatures Restaurant. Deck 4 Moving forward from the Horizon Lounge and down the aft stairwell, we are delivered to the back entrance to the Compass Rose Restaurant. Walking through the restaurant and out the main entrance we see the entrance to the Night Club on the port side. The Night Club Bartenders, the Best on the Seven Seas I loved the Night Club (also known as the Voyager Lounge) and we made it our choice of meeting places. First, the bartenders were awesome. Once Joanie was feeling better, I stopped by the Night Club while I was waiting for Joanie to finish dressing for dinner. She was to meet me there for a glass of wine before we went to Signature's Restaurant. When I sat down the bar tender asked if I had just joined the ship. I explained that my wife had been ill and I had stayed close to the cabin to make sure she was OK. I didn't think anything of it, ordered a glass of wine and when Joanie arrived we had another. When it came time to pay, the bartender refused to charge us. From that point on, every time we entered the bar, they had our wine of choice ready for us. They were the best bartenders I have ever experienced on any ship. The Night Club (Voyager Lounge) Dance Floor The Night Club also offers pre and post dinner entertainment and dancing. There are always hot and cold appetizers available for those that want them prior to dinner and the entertainment is perfect for the venue, not to loud or invasive, but the right mix of sang and music. I wish The Night Club was somewhere near my house The Casino Gaming Tables Across from the Night Club is the Seven Seas Voyager's casino. While I am not a gambler, the casino was a very popular spot for many of the passengers. The Casino Slot Machines The slot machines seemed to be the most popular, as there were always folks playing them whenever the casino was open. The Conference Room Across from the casino on the port side is the Voyager's conference center. The Conference Center can accommodate substantial number of people. The adjoining card room may also be included in the square footage. The Voyager would make an excellent meeting venue for smaller groups. The Connoisseur Club On the starboard side of the Voyager moving forward is the ship's cigar club, the Connoisseur Club. While I didn't visit this club while the smoking lamp was on, Joanie and I used it to wait for the ship to clear in one of the ports. It is quite comfortable and I suspect, a great place to enjoy that stogie. The Constellation Theater From the Stage Finally, all the way forward on deck 4 is the main entrance to the Constellation Theater. You can see the sightlines are excellent from every seat in the house and the seats are easily accessed without crowding. The Entertainment Every evening on the Voyager there are several choices for entertainment. There is always a main show in the Constellation Lounge and music in some of the other lounges. Joanie and I didn't go to any of the shows, as we were having to good a time just relaxing. The day's entertainment and other events are featured in "Passages", the Voyager's daily schedule of events. I have included a sample copy of "Passages" here. The Group on the Seven Seas Voyager for the First Week The Cruise October 11th, 2004; Piraeus, Greece We arrived at the cruise terminal and were immediately escorted to the ship after checking some of our luggage with the porter. In less than 5 minutes, we were on the ship and in the main showroom registering for the cruise. Before we knew it, we were enjoying champagne talking with some of the members in our group. The entire process was completely painless and should be the kind of embarkation every cruise line should strive for. Since our cabins were not to be ready for a couple of hours, we made our way up to the pool area to enjoy the first of many wonderful poolside bar-b-que lunches. Joanie and I snuck down to our cabin and discovered that it was ready for us, so we got our carry-on luggage and made our way to settle in. Our checked luggage awaited us, so we started unpacking. Since I had already been on the road for over two weeks, I especially appreciated the self-serve laundry on our deck and wasted no time filling the washers and dryers laundering my clothes. Our butler introduced himself and I was able to give him the balance of my clothes that required dry cleaning and pressing. I was ready for the cruise. We attended the mandatory lifeboat drill shortly before departure from Piraeus and then returned our life vests to our cabin on the way to the pool deck for the sail away party. In addition to free cocktails, fresh shrimp cocktail, bar-b-qued shrimp, chicken, pork and steak skewers were offered along with several other delights. It was wonderful. We met some more folks with our group and had tons of fun catching up on past cruise experiences and renewing old friendships. Joanie mentioned that she was not feeling that well, so we passed on joining some of the members for dinner and made our way to our cabin for a small rest. That is when it hit Joanie. I don’t know if it was Norwalk Virus or a bug she may have picked up in Hong Kong (or on an airplane) but she became quite ill. We skipped dinner and simply stayed in our cabin for the evening. Tuesday, October 12th, 2004; Nafplion, Greece We slept late and Joanie awoke feeling somewhat better and made the decision to visit the day’s port. Nafplion is a quaint Greek village capped by a very impressive rock structure known as the Palamidhi Fort. It is perched 700 ft. above the city on an enormous rock that has sheer cliffs on all sides and can be seen from all points below. While Joanie and I would have wasted no time in climbing up the fort’s 682 stairs to the entrance, because of Joanie's weakened condition, we simply enjoyed Nafplion’s quaint pedestrian shopping streets and residential areas. Nafplion is typically Greek with whitewashed building exteriors and colorful doors and shutters adorning the simple architecture.  Dogs and cats lounged everywhere, while the local population rode their motorbikes and bicycles here and there. Nafplion is truly a quaint port to visit and well worth a long and leisurely exploration. Those that did climb their way to the fortress said it was worth the climb, however be aware that they will collect money from you once at the top before entering the fort. Joanie was bushed, so we made our way back to the ship in time to enjoy the poolside bar-b-que that was taking place. Now I must tell you. I love fish. When I saw that the lunch bar-b-que consisted of swordfish, yellow fin tuna, rock cod, salmon, grouper and other treats, I almost fainted. I loaded up on the swordfish, tuna and rock cod and enjoyed every last morsel.  Joanie tried to eat something, but just didn’t feel like it. We spent the afternoon lying in the sun around the pool before Joanie decided to go to our cabin to take a nap. I was really starting to get worried about her at this point. It just wasn’t like Joanie to willingly leave the sun to take a nap. She slept for the entire afternoon. Evening brought the first (and only) formal night during the first 7 day segment of the cruise. As Joanie was feeling somewhat ill, I decided to dine with members of the group in hopes of adding some normalcy to the cruise so far. We met for the Captain’s cocktail party and then headed to the Compass Rose Restaurant for a wonderful lobster dinner. I must say that the lobster that was presented this evening was probably the best I can remember having on any ship. After a wonderful dinner, I returned to our cabin to find Joanie sound asleep. Wednesday, October 13th, 2004; Santorini, Greece Up again quite early from a long night’s sleep, Joanie was feeling well enough to give a visit to Santorini a try. We waited for a couple of hours and then tendered into the port of Santorini and made our way to the gondola to ride up the steep cliff to the town of Fira. Fira is a very unique village and its beauty is captivating. We strolled its streets and enjoyed a stop for a coffee drink and to take in the beauty of the caldera below. Joanie was running out of energy, so we made our way back to the ship where Joanie took a long nap. I was continuing to get more deeply concerned about her health. Joanie made the attempt to dine with the group, but I could tell that she was not doing well. We called it an early evening and decided to turn in right after desert was served. Joanie spent the entire night quite ill. Thursday, October 14th, 2004; Kusadasi, Turkey The doctor’s office opened at 8:00 am, so I demanded Joanie get some medical attention. This turned out to be a right decision, as she had picked up a particularly nasty bug. The doctor wanted to put her on an I.V. drip to try to rid her of it, but she refused electing to take an antibiotic and some other medicine. I spent the morning with her as her system calmed down and she was finally able to go to sleep. After a couple of hours, I realized she was going to sleep for some time so I decided to go ashore and spend some time wandering around Kusadasi’s huge shopping area. Kusadasi always amazes me with the variety and density of its shops. I suspect that it is one of the world’s most diverse shopping environments (sort of like an Istanbul Grand Bazaar Light). While Ephesus is the main attraction of Kusadasi, no one should discount the wonderful shopping opportunities offered there, as well. After several hours exploring Kusadasi, I returned to the Seven Seas Voyager to find Joanie fast asleep recovering from her illness. I ordered her some broth and crackers (both items on her doctor’s recommended diet) and then went to the La Veranda Restaurant and simply ordered a bowl of pasta for dinner for myself. Friday, October 15th, 2004; Rhodes, Greece We arrived in Rhodes right on schedule. Rhodes is a great port and is interesting to explore. Joanie was already feeling much better, so after a good amount of time getting ready, we debarked the ship and entered Rhodes’ fabulous labyrinth of alleys, pedestrian streets and squares. While many of the stores were not yet open, we had a great time getting lost in the maze. We had planned on hitting a pharmacy in Rhodes to pick up some items that we might need, so left the walled city in favor of visiting “New Town’s” more modern shopping streets and “New Town Flea Market”. After locating an excellent pharmacy, we explored the entire New Town area before reentering the Rhodes walled city. We stopped for a hot tea and some more shopping before making our way back to the ship. Joanie slept most of the afternoon, We had arranged to meet our group in the Nightclub for cocktails before taking a group photograph. It was fun to finally meet everyone and the group photo came off quite well. We joined three other couples from our group for dinner in the La Veranda Restaurant and had a wonderful time. While Joanie was feeling better, we still went to bed right after dinner. Saturday, October 16th, 2004; Mykonos, Greece Ahhhh, Mykonos. Mykonos is one of my favorite ports. It has everything going for it. Great shopping, excellent restaurants, wonderful beaches, Mykonos is a unique maze of whitewashed stucco buildings with strikingly colored doors and window shutters. The buildings are stacked one upon the other up the hillsides and the streets are nothing more than cobbled pathways that turn and twist their way in every direction. It is truly beautiful. One could easily spend the entire day walking about in Mykonos and never see the same street twice. In fact, Joanie liked it so much that we intend to return to spend a week in one of the boutique hotels in the center of Mykonos. Joanie was feeling much better this morning so we decided to shuttle into Mykonos and spend the day simply shopping and enjoying the people of Mykonos. After what seemed hours of walking about the village, checking out the windmills and otherwise enjoying the sights, sounds and smells of Mykonos, we made our way to the central restaurant area by the small harbor. We settled in for a latte and a cappuccino, and thoroughly enjoyed people watching. We saw this one old guy that looked like the perfect model for a poor Greek fisherman, He had a blue denim shirt, a rough sea worn face, fisherman’s blue jeans and a look that shouted a life of hard labor at sea. Everyone seemed to know the old guy, but it wasn’t until Joanie noticed the gold Rolex on the guy’s wrist that we started laughing. I guess that about sums up Mykonos in a nutshell. Back on board, we spent the afternoon enjoying the warm sunshine by the pool before getting ready for dinner. We decided to just take a quiet dinner for two: and after a quick cocktail in the Night Club, we were treated to a wonderful and intimate dining experience at the Compass Rose Restaurant. Not wanting to break our record of going to bed early, we turned in right after dinner. Sunday, October 17th, 2004; Thessaloniki, Greece Thessaloniki is an odd port of call, but I suspect about the only one that fits into the itinerary between Mykonos and Istanbul. We arrived in port on time, but immigration took forever. When we finally disembarked, we were required to claim our passport and physically present it to the immigration officials in Thessalonki. Right after having it returned, we turned them back over to the staff of Radisson. The whole process was kind of weird. The day was overcast and kind of cool, but Joanie was feeling much better and we wanted to take advantage of her new health and do some exploring. Thessaloniki offers many shopping opportunities in its metropolis, but since it was Sunday, most of the stores were closed. We walked along the waterfront enjoying the fisherman, joggers and general population out for the morning and soaked in the general ambiance of Thessaloniki itself. The main  attraction of Thessaloniki is its archeological museum and it is well promoted everywhere you look. We visited the museum and found it underwhelming. I would say that the main feature of Thessaloniki is its people and wonderful bakeries, shops and cafes. It is a city, different from other Greek islands, but worth exploring to find your own reason to like it. We were back on board the ship in time for lunch in the La Veranda Buffet and then spent the afternoon catching up on some work in the Internet Café and on my own computer. We had arranged to meet three other couples for dinner in Signature’s Restaurant, so we attended the Captain’s farewell party and then made our way to the restaurant. Signature’s is a wonderful French specialty restaurant with a menu that is to die for. I enjoyed a lobster appetizer, escargot and a fabulous sea bass entrée. Of course, all the wine you care to drink is included with the dinner and we did consume our fair share on this evening. Monday, October 18th, 2004; Istanbul, Turkey I love Istanbul! I think it is one of the most fascinating cities in the world. It has absolutely everything going for it and it is a shame more Americans don’t visit its wealth of historic treasures, fantastic shopping, excellent restaurants, fabulous sightseeing and truly hospitable residents. We arrived in Istanbul, cleared customs and then Joanie and I grabbed a taxi to the Blue Mosque to start our adventure. Joanie and I are completely compatible travelers, as our aptitude for sightseeing has about the same time lines. I admire people who can treasure sights for hours and immerse themselves in every little detail of history the sight offers. For Joanie and me, the response is more likely to be: “OK, we have seen it. Let’s move on”. Such was the case for the Blue Mosque. Because it was Monday, the Haghia Sophia was closed, but we visited the structure from the outside anyway. I think the Sophia is the most amazing structure on Earth and wanted Joanie to experience what she could of it. We passed the Baths of Roxclana, the Tomb of Sultan Ahmet I and the various columns still standing in the Hippodrome. We both felt we had done enough sightseeing and started our trek to the Grand Bazaar. If you are a shopper (and Joanie is) you have no idea what a shopping bonanza can be until you have visited the 4,600 shops that make up Istanbul’s Grand Bazaar. That doesn’t include the thousands of shops, boutiques, markets and kiosks that surround the Grand Bazaar itself. The Grand Bazaar started somewhere in the early 15th century and is the largest marketplace in the world. Imagine several hundred jewelry stores, one right after another, for blocks and blocks. That is what the gold market is in the Grand Bazaar. Bargaining is the normal way that goods are purchased and sold, and if you are a good bargainer, you will enjoy the shopping trip of a lifetime. Joanie went nuts. We bought leather coats, gold and fire opal jewelry, scarves, Pashmina and lots more. I was so loaded down with bags that we had to call a halt to our shopping. Sine it was still going to be daylight for a couple more hours, I took Joanie on a walk through the backstreets of the Bazaar Quarter. We were deep into the unusual when afternoon prayer started and it made the experience magical. We somehow missed the spice market and ended up deep into a local market with tons of color. After eventually finding the Bosphorus and locating our bridge, we decided to simply walk back to the ship to take in the fading daylight and beginning of night. We stopped on the bridge for coffee and watched the nightfall as the mosques and various buildings lit the sky for the evening. Istanbul is magical. After a brisk 25-minute walk from the bridge, we arrived back to the Seven Seas Voyager. We unloaded the packages and decided to simply dine in the La Veranda and were treated to another excellent dining experience. Joanie was already making plans for Tuesday’s shopping venture into the Grand Bazaar, as she wanted to go back to some stores and consummate purchases she had not made and do a little Christmas shopping to boot. I was having a ball just watching her enjoy the experience. The Group on the Seven Seas Voyager for the Second Week Tuesday, October 19th, 2004; Istanbul, Turkey We were up before dawn and Joanie was eager to get going. We took breakfast on the fantail of deck 11 at La Veranda Restaurant and then decided to walk back into the Grand Bazaar and experience Istanbul in the early morning. Hordes of fisherman were in their small boats on the Bosphorus and many more were fishing along the edge of the water and from the bridge leading to the Bazaar district itself. We crossed the bridge, went through the underpass and entered the Spice Market and were immediately caught up in the frenzy that makes the Bazaar District so amazing. Joanie thought about buying some saffron, because it is so expensive in San Diego, some Turkish candy, maybe some caviar. There were just too many decisions. We took another route up into the Grand Bazaar itself, this time passing stores that specialized in children’s wear of all types. The various markets are focused on a single product type so in order to buy a certain product that you might be looking for, you must first find the area that the market resides in. Once found, there are dozens, if not hundreds, of stores offering everything imaginable in the product category. We arrived in the Grand Bazaar and wanted to find a store where Joanie had purchased two leather coats the day before. She wanted to exchange one because it was stained. I was suspect that the merchant would do this. After finding the store (not an easy task) the merchant went out of his way to make sure that Joanie was satisfied. He gave her an upgraded coat and apologized profusely for the problem. Joanie was so taken; she purchased another leather coat and some infant booties and mittens from the guy. We finally completed the shopping tasks with time to burn. We decided to take a completely different route back to the Spice Market and ended up on a street that the only products sold were fine pashmlna (women’s Turkish evening shawls made of silk, lace and other feminine adornments). Joanie entered one store and was able to purchase 2 of the most beautiful pashmina I have ever seen for 20-million Turkish lira

Read More
  • New

Nov 30, -0001

Baltic Sea

I took my first luxury cruise on Radisson’s new Seven Seas Voyager as a special way to celebrate my 50th birthday. With its large cabins, the Voyager is perhaps the most comfortable ship afloat. We picked an 11-night Baltic Sea cruise that departed August 19, 2003. Having taken 20 other cruises on mass market lines, mostly Princess and Celebrity, I was afraid that once I stepped into the luxury

market I’d be so spoiled that I’d never want to sail on anything else. I could taste the caviar, lobster and champagne as I envisioned days of being pampered. Luxury cruises are expensive. Our cruises on Princess and Celebrity usually were in balcony cabins at about $300 per couple per day. The cruise on the Voyager cost $1000 per cabin per day, more than three times as expensive as our other cruises. Was it worth $1000 a day? Pour yourself a little champagne and read on to find out. At these prices you have to judge Radisson with a more critical eye. A deficiency that easily could be overlooked on a $300 a day cruise should not occur when you’re paying $1000 a day. The one word that best describes the Radisson experience for me is inconsistent. The cabins and personal attention were wonderful. It was great not to have to wait in line for anything and have servers bring you any food or drink you wanted. But the food was disappointing and the service not quite what it should be at these prices. Embarkation: Even though they say boarding begins at 3PM, you can board as early as 11:30AM. You’re met by one of the cruise staff, given a glass of champagne and escorted to a lounge to check in and have a security photo taken. Then you can have lunch at the pool grill or sandwiches in some of the lounges. There’s no hot lunch available except for what’s cooked on the grill, hamburgers, chicken, and steak sandwiches. The rooms are not usually ready until about 2:40PM but you can tour the ship while you wait. The Ship: The Voyager is one of the best ships afloat in terms of passenger comfort, 49,000 tons and only 700 passengers. Other ships that size could carry up to twice the passenger load. To fully appreciate the Voyager you have to venture inside. From the outside, the ship looks like so many of the newer floating hotels. Not much on the outside appears special. It’s painted all white. There is not even much of a promenade deck. With no chairs, it’s really just a place to duck outside for some fresh air if you happen to be on deck 5. The centerpiece of the ship is an atrium that goes form deck 3 all the way to the top on deck 11. The Voyager is furnished in an elegant but simple fashion. There’s not much to wow you until you enter your suite. The Suites: This is where the Voyager clearly leaves other ships in its wake. The minimum suite is a 300-sq. ft. cabin with an additional 50-sq. ft. balcony. There is more than enough room for two people. The sitting area has a full size sofa with two additional chairs and a small table. There’s also a desk and bar in the sitting area, and a small vanity by the bed. The bathrooms are fabulous -- full-size and marble, there is a separate shower, bathtub, and large sink with plenty of storage space. There’s also a walk-in closet with enough hangers and room for everyone’s clothes. And there are cushions for your two lounge chairs on the balcony. And remember this is all in the minimum cabin. The Food: When I did a little on-line research before the cruise, passengers had said the food on Radisson was on par with Celebrity. This surprised me since, at these prices, I felt the food should be a lot better than on Celebrity. It was not. The overall quality of the food was my big disappointment on the cruise, the only area that did not meet expectations. The food was inconsistent. A few of the meals were the best I’ve ever had on a cruise ship. Others were major failures. There are four restaurants on the Voyager. The Compass Rose is the main dining room, with open seating. Show up anytime and eat with whomever you wish to dine. I never saw anyone waiting for a table. And there are plenty of tables for two for those who don’t want to eat with others. While the food at Compass Rose is certainly good, the menus and preparation of the food left a lot to be desired. We felt much of the food was overcooked or not seasoned properly. The meals our first two nights in the Compass Rose were so unmemorable that we didn’t eat there again until the final two nights of our 11-night cruise. On the second night, which was formal, they served Beef Wellington and lobster tails. Both were disappointing. The beef was overcooked and the lobster tails were very small baby lobster tails that lacked texture and flavor. I’ve had much better Beef Wellington on Princess and better lobster tails on every other cruise I’ve taken. They didn’t even stock regular lobster tails, only the baby ones. This was very surprising for a luxury cruise. On the last formal night the waiter forgot to serve the sherbet course to our entire table. To their credit, they did accommodate special requests for cherries jubilee and baked Alaska. There are two specialty restaurants that require reservations. Signatures is a gourmet restaurant, part of Le Cordon Blue. Its philosophy is the exact opposite of Burger King. At Signatures you have to have it their way. No substitutions, no special orders. But there’s plenty on the menu to satisfy almost all tastes. For the most part, the food is very good to excellent and presented so artfully that I took pictures of some of the dishes. By the way, the dress code for Signatures is always at least semi-formal, even on causal nights. The other specialty restaurant is Latitudes. Here, they serve different dishes from different restaurants around the United States. Everyone eats at the same time, 7:30PM. Your only menu choice is between two main course items, usually a meat and fish. At Latitudes we noticed the greatest inconsistency. This is where I had both the best and worst dishes ever on a cruise ship. Some of the food is truly excellent. A shellfish soup and a fillet mignon in a wonderful sauce were the highlights of the food part of the cruise. But on our second visit and with a different recipe, the same excellent cut of fillet mignon was not properly seasoned and served on top of a puddle of bland beef consume. The unanimous opinion of the six people at our table was that the beef turned out bland and tasteless. It was as if the chef had not even bothered to taste it. Deserts also were inconsistent. A pecan pie was overcooked and tough. Some tips for making reservations at Signatures and Latitudes. If you want your choice of times and days, make your reservations as soon as they start taking them at 3PM on the day of sailing. They’ll only let you make one reservation for each restaurant. But you can book a larger table and invite someone you meet later. After a couple of days when everyone has had a chance to make their first reservation, they will let you make a second one. If they do fill up you can always try for a cancellation. We ate in Latitudes two nights when there were at least 10 empty places for people who had made reservations but didn’t show up and neglected to call. If you have a hearty appetite, beware of any dishes where the meat comes sliced. The polite term would be to say the portions are “delicate.” In other words, they’re small. We had three different meals of sliced veal, sliced duck breast and sliced Chateaubriand that amounted to no more than 2-3 ounces of meat in a serving. You should have seen the expression on my face on the last formal night when I ordered Chateaubriand and I got a plate with two small 1/8-inch thick slices of meat. The entire table asked for more meat which the waiter brought after a wait that seemed too long. The fourth restaurant is La Veranda, always casual and with an outdoor seating area. We only ate there twice, although some people felt this was the best food on the ship. Its theme is a Mediterranean Bistro. Humus and chunks of Parmagiano cheese await you with bread on the table. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. Much quieter than Compass Rose. Here the appetizers are served buffet style, and the waiter brings your entrée and some deserts. Other deserts are available from the buffet. On the whole, I thought the food in La Veranda was very good. They had an excellent lamb shank, and I don’t even like lamb. But others at our table were not as impressed by the food here. To be fair about the quality of the food, I spoke to many people on the cruise that were delighted with it. They loved every bite. It’s interesting how two people can experience the same meal and come away with two completely different impressions. But I was not alone in my feeling that the food was inconsistent. Everyone in our core group of eight passengers felt the same way. And while the quality of the food wasn’t always excellent, the presentation was beautiful. The Drinks: All drinks at meals are complimentary. However, except for wine with dinner, they don’t tell you the drinks are free. They never offered a pre-dinner cocktail or an after dinner drink. But they are free if you ask for them at the dinner table and the waiters will bring them. This applies in all restaurants. Non-alcoholic drinks are always free anywhere on the ship. Upon arrival you select an in-room bar set up of two bottles of liquor or wine. You also get two cans of beer and mixers, soft drinks and bottled water. The non-alcoholic beverages are replaced as needed. To our surprise, we found that, other than water, we really didn’t drink anything in our suite. There are so many opportunities to drink elsewhere on the ship that we didn’t have much of a desire to drink in the room. I ended up lugging the two unopened bottles of liquor back home. Radisson does not seem to make much of a profit on drinks. The most expensive glass of red wine we ordered was $5.50 and most cocktails were no more than $4.75. I know people have suggested that Radisson just go to an open bar policy. But they would have to raise cruise fares to do it and those who don’t drink would end up further subsidizing those who do drink. I would suggest a compromise that would give passengers a choice of the in-room liquor or a shipboard credit. A $50 bar credit would have been more use to us than two bottles of liquor we never had time to drink in the room. The Service: It was always prompt, professional and attentive. With a ratio of 1.5 passengers to 1 crew, the ship excels at service. Even tables in the buffet restaurant are set with table clothes and silverware. Same for tables in the Horizon Lounge at teatime. As soon as you sit down at a table anywhere, someone is usually quick to come to take a drink order. But as good as the service was, there is still room for improvement. Only about a quarter of the time did the serves make an attempt to address me by name. Almost every time I was drinking soda, I had to ask for a refill, instead of the server coming to me to ask if I wanted another one. And in only one case did the server bring a refill without asking or being asked. The room stewardess and her assistant were very professional in doing their jobs. I never had to ask for anything for the room. But again, they never made an effort to address me by name in the 11 days of our cruise. They only would say “good morning” or “have a nice day” when we passed in the halls. I’ve taken cruises on Princess and Celebrity where the room steward was calling me by name on the second day. These are small points but they are important if you want to be the very best. The Lounges: They are all comfortable, pleasant and simple. Not much leather or glitz. Most of the chairs are cloth. The Constellation Theater is the main show lounge. There always were seats available. The Horizon Lounge featured afternoon tea and evening dancing. The Observation Lounge was my favorite, on deck 11, glassed in and overlooking the water. A quiet place to have a drink or tea and watch the ship sail. There is also the Voyager Lounge outside the entrance to the Compass Rose. Great for a drink before dinner, it turns into the disco later. The Staff and Crew: Cruise director Barry Hopkins was excellent. He and his staff made an effort to chat with and get to know everyone. I felt the ship’s management was accessible if anyone had a problem. The Captain also seemed accessible and was on the bridge to answer passenger questions during the two sea days when the bridge was open for visits. Entertainment: The 10 singers and dancers who did the three production shows were excellent. The rest of the shows in the main showroom were a bit spotty. I felt some of the entertainer’s acts were not good enough to sustain an entire show. But you really can’t expect to have all top acts on a smaller ship. There was also an on board enrichment lecturer who many people thought was great, even though I didn’t get to hear her. And the cruise director Barry Hopkins did a couple of lectures himself, on digital photography and the Royal family, which were popular and entertaining. Internet Access: Available in the top suites and in the Internet café. The price for surfing the net is very reasonable. You’re charged only for actual downloading time. It’s less expensive to use a web-based mail account like Hotmail than to use the ship’s email address. With the ship sailing full, there was sometimes a wait for a computer terminal. Laundry: Free self-service laundry, including detergent, is available on all decks. With only two machines per deck there sometimes was a wait. Dress Codes: On the Voyager there are three: casual, semi-formal and formal. I’ve concluded that ship dress codes really apply only to men. Women can wear anything but jeans. A black pantsuit can double for casual and semi-formal nights. Add a string of pearls and you can wear it for formal night too. So for the men, formal means tux or dark suit and tie. About half the men wore tuxes. Semi-formal is a jacket, tie optional. Most men wore ties. Casual means no jacket. About half the men wore them anyway. Tipping: This is a topic that seems t get people riled up. The policy on Radisson is that all tips are included in your cruise fare and no tips are expected on board. They even tell you on board that tips are not expected. Some people felt the need to tip anyway, sometimes up front, and believed they received better service. I didn’t tip extra and my service was fine. However, as much as people don’t like the hassle of tipping, I believe that you will never get service as good as you would get when the employee’s income depends on a personal tip from you. Conclusions: Radisson is an excellent cruise line and I would sail it again. Some people have said it’s like a floating Four Seasons resort. But I didn’t feel that it was quite up to that level. The Voyager excels in its cabins, passenger comfort and service. In my opinion the food needs improvement. At these prices the food should be much better than the mass-market lines, not on par with them. What you’re paying for on Radisson – and you’re paying a lot for it – is a larger cabin, much more attentive service, not having to wait in line, and a more exclusive group of passengers. Whether you think it’s worth three times the cost of a mass-market cruise is a personal choice. I wasn’t won over completely. But I would like to sail a luxury line again. When I do, I think I’ll try Crystal’s new ship Serenity so I’ll have something to compare with Radisson. Please feel free to email me if you have any questions. Tom Giusto giustot@mindspring.com

Read More

Cruise Forums

Have a cruising question? Ask our Fodorite community.

Cruise News

Read our latest news about cruises.

Store

Shop our travel guides on European, Caribbean, and Alaskan cruises.

Back To Top