Northern Cyprus

Northern Cyprus is not a country in the strict sense of the term. All countries except Turkey recognize it as an illegally occupied part of the Republic of Cyprus. Thus, public holidays follow those in Turkey, with additional public holidays on May 1 (Labor Day), July 20 (Peace and Freedom Day), August 30 (Victory Day), October 29 (Turkish Republic Day), and November 15 (Northern Cyprus Republic Day). Although English is widely spoken, Turkish, not Greek, is the predominant language, and Turkish names designate the cities and towns: Nicosia is known as Lefkoşa, Kyrenia as Girne, and Famagusta as Gazimağusa. With some 30,000 Turkish troops stationed in this corner of the island, visitors are advised to obey the "no photographs" signs wherever they appear.

Explore Northern Cyprus


Find a Hotel


Fodor's Essential Europe

View Details

Plan Your Next Trip