Getting Oriented

Greater Tokyo incorporates 23 wards, 26 smaller cities, five towns, and eight villages—altogether sprawling 88 km (55 miles) from east to west and 24 km (15 miles) from north to south with a population of 35 million people. The wards alone enclose an area of 590 square km (228 square miles), which comprise the city center and house 8 million residents. Chiyoda-ku, Chuo-ku, Shinjuku-ku, and Minato-ku are the four central business districts.

Previous Travel Tip

Budget Tips

Next Travel Tip


Trending Stories


Find a Hotel


Fodor's Tokyo: with Side Trips to Mt. Fuji, Hakone, and Nikko

View Details