Florence: One artist's move to Italy

Search

Search this Thread

Old Aug 17th, 2008, 04:27 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Here I sit on the 11th day of moving to Florence. Some may know my original plan was taking me to Barcelona to continue my 10 year career as a mosaic artist. well things change and so do plans. Quick re-cap: A decade of bad positioning while doing my work and a few pinched nerves later, on the advice of my nuerologist to maybe find another line of work, I scrapped all previous plans and came up with a new one. I may not be in physical shape to continue as a craftsman with my own hands at the pace I previously was, but I am an artist so decided to use my creative brain,work smart, not hard, take my knowledge of mosaic and translate it into jewelry that I will design but have others hands produce.

I had been thinking about that for a while so I switched gears, googled jewelry schools in Europe and Florence had a bunch. In order to better show what I want made to those making it I thought it necessary to learn the craft of metalsmithing myself.

So after putting the contents of my apartment in storage, with 5 70 lb. suitcases ( 320$ in overweight charges) and my cat ( 100$ for in cabin travel) I headed to Florence.

There have been quite a few hiccups this past week and a half, but as those who have read my trip reports know I can roll with the punches. A detailed report will come shortly as well as a link to a blog I am starting for family and friends.

To start the top 10 things I have learned so far:

10) With the exception of heavily touristed areas pretty much everything in August is closed til the 24th or so.

9) How to use clothes pins ( I am the least domestic person I know)

8) Punta Video 24 hr. really means you get charged every 6 hrs

7) A large gelato can set you back 12 bucks