Need a little advice on newbie traveling overseas

Search this Thread

Old Aug 12th, 2015, 08:49 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need a little advice on newbie traveling overseas

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie to international travel.

I'm hoping to take my elderly Dad to see his and my kin back home in Manila. I have bonus miles that are coming to me and want to use that (AA) to take the first leg of the trip from ORD to Tokyo, then take a flight to Manila using a different carrier (AA doesn't go to the Philippines, I think). Could you give me some advice on booking the flights - do I need to book them myself or should I use a travel agent or maybe Expedia/CheapoAir? How do you do this and how can I best be sure that we get to our connections, as well as be able to maneuver an 86-year-old gentleman through the airport terminals?

Thanks!
Old Aug 12th, 2015, 09:48 AM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Just a matter of your comfort level.

You could use a travel agent, or you could book it yourself researching online. I use Expedia to find the various flight options, but then prefer to book directly with the airlines own website when I purchase the ticket.

As far as airport terminals, there are options for help if your Dad would be willing to be assisted with a wheelchair. Or there are motorized carts that take people who need help place to place. You need to request this from your airlines in advance.
Old Aug 12th, 2015, 10:43 AM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
You might want to post on the Air Travel forum.

BTW -- While AA doesn't fly into the Philippines, they have partner airlines that do. W/o looking up who flies where I'm pretty sure at least Cathay Pacific serves Manilla.

So -- use the pull down menu to move over to the Air Travel board and post your questions there.
Old Aug 12th, 2015, 10:45 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post