Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Is it worth it to charge a trip to Europe on a Credit Card?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 24th, 2006, 12:06 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a serious case of wanderlust. I went to study in Lyon, France last year and I want to go back soon. The only problem is that I am a college student and I can only go in summer of 2007 and I would have to charge the trip on a credit card. I graduate from college in December of 2007. Once I graduate, i will have to start working full- time and I won't have time to travel to europe. I would charge the plane ticket and housing and food, which I expect would be around $2500. I would pay it off within a year. My question is has anyone else ever charged a whole trip just to Europe for a month?
Old Dec 24th, 2006, 01:36 AM

IMO yes, many will disagree.

Back in '99 I was 29 years old, living paycheck to paycheck, no savings, still paying off college loans, car loan, you get the idea. I had always wanted to go to Paris. I was nearing 30, damnit, and I just *had* to go! So yes I charged the whole trip, to the tune of about $2,500 for one week.

I fell in love with Paris.

About a year later, I was just paying off the first trip, when I decided I absolutely must go again. So I charged another trip.

No regrets.

My finances have improved a bit since then. Instead of taking a year to pay off a trip, it only takes 1-3 months depending on how much shopping I do, or how many Michelin star restos I dine at.

Obviously traveling is a huge priority of mine. Being in debt for a couple months is no biggie, I don't lose any sleep over it.

Only you can decide what is best for YOU. Only you can decide if it is worth it.
Old Dec 24th, 2006, 02:05 AM

Received 6 Likes on 1 Post
If you start saving money immediately, you won't have to charge so much.
Old Dec 24th, 2006, 02:28 AM
ira

Hi B,