Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Mexico & Central America
Reload this Page >

Which country: Costa Rica, Brazil, or Peru?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 16th, 2008, 11:58 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My husband and I are planning to take a nine day vacation to one of these three countries in January, but can't decide which to visit.

Our background...We are in our early 30s, no kids. We love hiking, snorkeling, and active vacations. I am particularly interested in visiting rainforests because I studied tropical ecology and geography in grad school. I've done research in Uganda, Gabon, and Venezuela and traveled in Mexico, Thailand, and throughout the U.S. including Hawaii. Our budget for this trip is about 5,000 (flying out of Chicago).

I was initially leaning towards Costa Rica because it sounds like the perfect place for an adventurous vacation. I think we could cover quite a bit in 9 days and would love to spend half the vacation hiking in the rainforest and seeing the volcano, and the other half hitting the beach and snorkeling.

Then I started wondering if Costa Rica might be a bit touristy for us and if South America might be a better option because of my interest in rainforests and seeing the Amazon. If we go to Peru, we would split our time between Cuzco/Machu Picchu and Purto Maldonado/Tambopata. If we went to Brazil, we would likely split our time between seeing the Amazon and the beach.

My questions:

Does Costa Rica feel too touristy to fairly well traveled people?

Which country (Peru or Brazil) would be easier to see the Amazon in the short amount of time we have?

Would language be a serious issue in Peru or Brazil since we don't speak Spanish or Portuguese?

Any advice will be much appreciated!
Thanks.
Old Nov 16th, 2008, 12:17 PM