First time car renter - Hertz / Amex / Boston Logan Airport

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 20th, 2022, 11:02 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, I am brand new to renting cars, and will be renting one at Logan this weekend. Hertz seems to be the cheapest at Logan from what I can see on AutoSlash when I let it know I have an Amex Platinum credit card, so that's where I'm planning to go with. I'll be taking the car north up to Maine, and need seating for 4 people, but only space for a bag or two. I'll also be adding one of them as an additional driver (non-spouse or domestic partner.)

====== Here's what I've done so far: ======
A) --> Setup my account with Hertz, and added my Amex Platinum to get the Gold 5 Star status.

B) --> I've called and confirmed that Customer Support can see my upgraded status, and I've verified that I get to skip the front desk and that I get a free one-size upgrade as long as I book a midsize or better.

C) --> I've run a search picking up and dropping off at Logan International at my respective times, chosen my Platinum Amex, and has AutoSlash find me prices on midsizes. The cheapest is through Priceline, so I booked a free-cancellation, pay on arrival midsize through Priceline, making sure to enter the CDP associated with my Amex Platinum card, and my flight number. I didn't see anywhere to add and extra driver, so I assume I'll do that onsite.

D) --> I looked up the process on arrival which appears to go as follows: At Hertz just head directly to the Gold lot without having to stop anywhere, then wander around and find a car I want, being sure to inspect it thoroughly for existing issues, which I must photographically document. Jump in and drive to the exit where apparently I'll have an interaction with an agent; I assume they'll see if I want to add an additional driver here and ask me if I want insurance and so on.