Camping in California

Search

Camping in California

Search this Thread

Old Apr 26th, 2019, 09:33 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Camping in California

Flying in from the east coast to LA. Renting a camper van with no bathroom facilities. Thinking the first destination will be Sequoia NP.
This probably isn't the best forum for camping related questions but I'll ask anyway and feel free to direct me to the correct forum.

Questions:
If the only available campsites are in a nearby National Forest, are there generally showers available. If not where do folks go to shower?
Also can someone recommend a good campground to spend 4 or 5 days sleeping in a camper van?
What's the weather like in a place like Sequoia in May?
Old Apr 26th, 2019, 10:06 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
I am no camping expert, but it seems that most of your questions are answered on the Park's web site. Be aware that, due to the heavy snowfall, some campsites will not open until later than usual. These are listed on the web site. Details of amenities available are also provided for each campsite. Also, you may want to make a reservation.

https://www.nps.gov/seki/index.htm
Old Apr 26th, 2019, 11:07 AM

The amenities in National Forest campgrounds vary by campground, but they are generally pretty limited. Some don't even have running water. it really depends on the particular campground, so you have to check the national forest service web site. Here's a link to the directory of NFS campgrounds:

https://www.forestcamping.com/

For showering, some national park and state park campgrounds have showers that you can pay to use, even if you aren't camping in that campground. People staying in campgrounds without showers will sometimes use those - maybe take a shower every few days and in between just wash up a bit with a bucket or whatever. There are shower wipes that people use to freshen up without washing.