Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > South America
Reload this Page >

Destination Recommendation (w/ specifics)

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 23rd, 2016, 04:19 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey
I am hoping for some insight from some seasoned travelers. I am looking for a destination to travel to for an extended period of time (3 months+, or at least long enough to have an apartment. Up to 1 year.) I'm looking for a couple criteria to help me decide. One is that I want it to be cheap, as I'll be living off my savings, trying to get my freelancing business started. Which brings me to #2, it must have the internet. #3 Is that it would near a beach, not in a giant metropolis. I live in San Francisco now, and I'm ready to fall back into a slower lifestyle. #4 is that they would speak Spanish. I have a Spanish degree, but would like to use immersion to master this skill. #5, which is of way less importance than the others, is that the more modern the better.

So, in order from most important to least:
1. Cheap
2. Internet
3. Beach, smaller city
4. Spanish
5. Somewhat Modern amenities.

Originally, I was considering Medellin, Colombia. However, I'm not quite sure now because it seems like I'd be moving right back to the hustle and bustle of a huge city. I don't want to live in a village by any means, but I'm just kind of over daily-bus-commutes and huge crowds everywhere. I'm also considering Cartagena, but the internet is telling me that it is far more expensive because of retirees. If anyone can disprove this, I'd know where I wanted to go.

Any place that meets some criteria but not all is certainly welcome.Any place that you're really excited about right now would be awesome to hear about.

Thank you!
Old Apr 24th, 2016, 08:03 AM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
First order of business would be your paperwork to allow you to stay past the usual 90 day tourist visit.