Reload this Page >

Student Studying ABroad for Summer with thight budget - lots of questions

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 22nd, 2000, 04:35 PM
Erika

I am a college student leaving July 1 for a year abroad with my first stop being 8 weeks in Berlin. I am on a "starving student" budget and would like to know any tips for living in Berlin for as little as possible. I have some questions, but I know there is something I will forget to ask, so any tips or "must see's" would be great. <BR> <BR>1. What are some good restaurants where I could grab lunch without paying too much? The program I am studying with is located in the historic center of the city within walking distance of Alexanderplatz and Unter den Linden. <BR>2. What kind of weather should I expect for July/August? <BR>3. I will be flying into Paris and taking an overnight train to Berlin. Is is worth it to upgrade to first class? What are my options for second class travel? <BR>4. What is my best option as far as money? Should I get Traveler's checks in $$ or marks? How much can I rely on my ATM/Credit cards? <BR> <BR>Any help at all would be great. THANKS! <BR>Erika

Old May 22nd, 2000, 05:14 PM
Scott

Hi Erika, <BR> Although I didn't get to Berlin my Family and I just got back from Europe including Munich,Innsbruck,Seefeld,Vienna,Venice,Milano,Pari s,and Frankfurt. <BR> I think your best bet as far as money is your Visa,& ATM cards.As far as food,you can buy pretty good food at any of the open markets.They do however require cash.If I may suggest,take a few DMs with you and some good old US dollars. <BR> I also found Rick Steves "Europe Through The Back Door" quite informative as far as the budget minded traveler goes. <BR> Have A Wonderful Trip.

Old May 22nd, 2000, 05:29 PM
Tricia