MUST do's in Rome and Venice

Search

Search this Thread

Old Feb 11th, 2007, 12:24 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm new to Fodor's and have been reading so much the last few days that my head is spinning with all the knowledge that people are sharing and all the information available!!
I thought I would try to tap into your experiences and ask...
Can anyone give me a list of MUST do's for Rome and Venice based on 4-5 days in each city?
While you're at it, maybe you could add your list of "don't bother with..."
This is my first trip to Italy.
thanks so much!
Old Feb 11th, 2007, 12:44 PM

Rome:

Vatican Museums (1/2 day)
St Peters (1/2 day)
Coliseum and Forum (1/2 day)
Shopping (1/2 day)
Art in other churches, chosen according to your interests (1/2 day)
Wandering around, soaking up the atmosphere (1/2 day)
Seeing the famous outdoor sites - Trevi Fountain, spanish steps etc (1 day)

Then following up on whatever you've found most interesting.

Venice:
(Half the interest of Venice is wandering round appreciating the atmosphere. So none of the sites actually take as long as I've specified as I've factored in getting lost time).

Secret tour of Doges palace, followed by self-guided tour. Then visit to Basilica San Marco (1 day)
The Frari church (1/2 day)
Ca Rezzonico (1/2 day)
Visiting the Rialto fish market (1/2 day)
Guggenheim Museum (1/2 day)
Accademia (1/2 day)
General wandering (at least a 1/2 day!)

In both cities there's so much to see that 4/5 days can only scratch the surface. What you choose to do depends on your interests and how "touristy" you want to be (not that being a tourist is a bad thing!). Anyway, those are my preliminary suggestions.
Old Feb 11th, 2007, 01:03 PM
Original Poster

I know...so much to see and so little time! Ideally, not playing a tourist would be my choice. Wandering the streets, absorbing it all... but I do know that there are certain sites that are a must!