gifts for a host family

Aug 29th, 1999, 03:41 PM
Marcia

gifts for a host family

I am a college student going to spend 10 weeks in France with a host family. I need to bring some kind of small gift. Does anyone have any suggestions. My mother suggested dried cranberries since we live in Mass. and they would keep for ten day trip we have planned before I meet my family.

Aug 29th, 1999, 04:22 PM
gpotvin

We usually bring something from our home area - Minnesota - like wild rice,wood carvings collectors coins etc. Things with English written on them like local tee shirts are good. Kitchen towels are always appreciated as our cotton goods seem to be somewhat superior.

Aug 29th, 1999, 04:56 PM
Lori

Marcia,
When we visit our relatives in France we always take gifts from the southwest (where we live) so something "native" from Mass. would be fine. If your host family has children and you know their ages, you might also consider taking t-shirts with some local logo on them (you can always take "large"), the kids in our family always like them. (They don't take up any room in the luggage either.)

I work in a university and know several students who did a "study abroad" program and this subject always presents itself, but I think you are safe with some "local" gifts - they don't have to be anything fancy, it's the thought that counts anyway.

What you might consider doing for your host family is what one of the students I know did for "her family" in Madrid this summer. She and another girl from the U.S., who was also staying with the family, cooked a Mexican dinner for them all as the family had expressed an interest in Mexican food -- now I know you live in Mass. so you may not be up on fixing enchiladas and tacos, but you might consider doing something like fixing a typical "American" dinner for them, if you can cook that is Just an idea of course.