Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Caribbean Islands
Reload this Page >

Best Caribbean Destination with a Toddler?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 21st, 2012, 04:51 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi All - I have a 20 month old and am looking for a 4 night Caribbean getaway in May.
I am looking for some ideas on a destination that meets the following criteria:

a safe island
a modern and family friendly resort (clean, not too dated, and a place that won't frown upon you bringing your little one out to a nice dinner at the resort - also hopefully a resort that has good medical care on premise just in case!)
good/above average service
good food
great beach and pool
convenient from NYC

This is my first time travelling with my little one, so I want to make sure we pick the right place. Thanks in advance for your input!
Old Apr 22nd, 2012, 04:30 AM

you can fly nonstop from jfk to provo, turks & caicos on jet blue. not a cheap flight.
grace bay beach is fantastic for little ones. always calm, sand never gets hot to touch, has gradual entrance and is oh so soft.
excellent dining options. all but a couple welcome kids.
lots of hotel options & many with condo style rooms. in particular royal west indies is mid range but has screened porches which can be so useful when your little one naps & goes to bed early.
the somerset is another place you might like.
Old Apr 22nd, 2012, 04:44 AM

Agree, Providenciales (the main island in the Turks & Caicos) will be perfect for you - relatively short non-stop flight from NYC area airports, lots of condo style family oriented resorts, fantastic 11 mile long white sand beach (Grace Bay - where you'll find 98% of the resorts in the T&C's located), with calm waters. Plus you'll have access to plenty of restaurants (both on/off resort) that are family friendly.