Search

June or August?

Search this Thread

Old Jun 28th, 2009, 09:17 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
June or August?

If you had your pick, which is the better month to visit? I know neither is ideal since it's winter, but I'm a teacher and I want to be able to go for more than 10 days.
I studied abroad in Adelaide about 12 years ago, and was there from July - December. I remember July as being chilly and rainy, but I don't think it was awful (similar to summer in Scotland which is where we are headed next month). I am not sure about the rest of the country though at this time of year. Ideally our trip would cover some time in Adelaide, Melbourne, Sydney, and then up the gold coast.

Thanks!
Old Jun 28th, 2009, 10:12 AM

I would go in August, the later in the month the better. Daylight hours will be longer and it will be a tad warmer (not that it ever gets THAT cold in the south of the country). It will likely be very pleasant on the Gold Coast - warm enough for beach sunbathing some days. As you may know, the "winter" months are probably THE best time for the north of the country, including much of the Outback.
Old Jun 28th, 2009, 10:48 AM
Original Poster

It would probably be the first three weeks of August, if we went in August, school usually begins the last week of August.
Old Jun 28th, 2009, 02:13 PM

I'd have to disagree with Ralph as July/August are generally the real wintery months in the south whereas we do get what we call our Indian Summers extending into June with some relatively mild weather, temperatures still often in twenties [centigrade] whereas August you'll be having low to mid teens in south at best and just a few degrees higher even on Gold Coast where I lived until recently for six years.

You'll not be getting too many sunbathers out on the Gold Coast despite what Ralph may feel is "likely".
You have many more beach goers in June and water temperatures would be warmer than in August.