Reload this Page >

Top Picks for Restaurants

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 21st, 2002, 06:48 PM
alice

Will be travelling to Hong Kong, Beijing, Xian and Shanghai. Looking for some modest/moderate priced restaurants. Will be staying at the Sheraton in Kowloon, Palace Hotel in Beijing, Hyatt in Xian and Hilton in Shanghai. What are your favorites for dim sum, wonton/noodles, cantonese, western foods?<BR>Thanks much!

Old Sep 23rd, 2002, 08:52 AM
Patty

Xian is a good place to try some local specialties. We ate at a couple of restaurants in the Drum (or was it Bell?) Tower area. One specialized in dumplings and we had a tasting menu of all different kinds - each had a different ingredient and the outer wrapper was shaped to reflect what was contained inside. Another local specialty is called something like 'pao muo' (I'm not very good with pinyin). And it is basically a mutton soup poured over a shredded bread/cake (you shred it yourself) which soaks up all the soup - very good! I'll look up the names and addresses of the restaurants tonight and post them later. Both were very moderate in price. <BR><BR>When will you be in Shanghai? Fall is the season for hairy crab. Try it if it's available. It's a small, freshwater crab (not a meaty cold water crab) but very tasty. Actually the delicacy is the roe. I believe you'll need to order the female crab for the roe (male crabs are about half the price). We had this several times including at one of the restaurants in the Hyatt, but for someplace more reasonable in cost, try Lu Bo Lang.

Old Sep 23rd, 2002, 09:08 PM
Patty