Search

Botswana/Zimbabwe Itinerary

Search this Thread

Old Nov 20th, 2004, 12:18 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Botswana/Zimbabwe Itinerary

First of all, this is my first time posting to a message board - so please bear with me. Thank-you to everyone who participates - I've gotten a lot of good info from your posts over the last several months. I'm within a week or two of firming up our Botswana/Zimbabwe itinerary for Sep 2005 and would like your comments:

1 night Johannesburg
3 nights Chitabe Trails
2 nights Tubu Tree, Duba Plains or Little Vumbura
3 nights Savuti
1 night Victoria Falls Hotel
3 nights Mana Canoe and Walking Trail
2 nights Chikwenya
3 nights Makalolo Plains

This will be our third African safari (previous to Kenya and Tanzania). We especially love watching all the predators and are hoping to see wild hunting dogs on this trip. We also love to watch elephants and hippos.

Any input regarding the camps and/or the itinerary would be appreciated - especially regarding the 2 nights in Botswana where we can't decide! Thanks.
Old Nov 20th, 2004, 12:29 PM

Hmmm this is a very tough one because of personal preferences. Keep in mind when you read reports that everyone's opinions of each camp (my own included) differ not only based on accommodation and area but also depending on which guide they had, what game they saw and, quite importantly, which managers were in charge during their visit.
I wasn't too keen on Chitabe Trails when we went in 2001 because our guide wasn't brilliant and managers weren't up to scratch, though they were still nice.
I adored Little Vumbura in 2001 not only because of camp staff and guides but also because the mokoro experience blew my mind.
Tubu Tree in 2004 was one of my absolute favourites. Camp staff, guides, accommodation (better than other Classic WS camps) and game viewing was just excellent. Not a water camp but at certain times of year one can DO mokoro rides too on a visit here.