Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Africa & the Middle East
Reload this Page >

Travel Agents Please Identify Yourselves!

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 18th, 2006, 02:53 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

It seems that those of you who earn a living from booking certain lodges should certainly make it clear when posting, either by providing your work email address (as does Julian@destinyafrica), or a signoff tag as does Melodie on the Australia Board.

It would only take a minimal effort, and then readers can be assured of where the glowing reviews are coming from: pros.

Without naming names, I have read from the same poster the name of the same country and the same lodges again and again.

This person encourages "early booking" and yet this poster earns his living by steering people to these camps.

There is nothing wrong with this, but please, there is also nothing wrong with being honest about it.

Say "I work as a professional and my professional opinion is..." Not only will you benefit from honesty and above-board helpfulness, others will benefit from knowing where the reviews are coming from.

If you do not ID yourselves, this board will end up going the way of Trip Advisor where hotel owners give discounts for glowing reviews.

Alternatively, "regular" folk can indicate that they are merely travelers.

Please keep this community honest! Not everybody knows who is a professional and who is not.

Thanks for the consideration.

Peterman
Old Oct 18th, 2006, 03:48 PM

Peterman,

That is a great idea and, yes, Julian is very considerate for identifying himself.

I do find you a bit pushy, however, for a newbie. Just wondering, but did you volunteer to be the hall monitor in grade school?
Old Oct 18th, 2006, 03:55 PM

As far as any agent advising early bookings, this is just common sense whether going to Tanzania, Kenya, South Africa, Botswana, Zambia or even the high profile lodges of South Africa.