Photographing Mountain Gorilla?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 7th, 2005, 12:00 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Based on suggestion, I am starting a new thread specifically directed at what sort of photography equipment would be best for photographing Mountain Gorillas in Rwanda. I have a dRebel and a 75-300mm f4-5.6 IS USM Canon lens as well as the "kit" lens that came with the camera (18-55mm f3.5-5.6). I am considering getting another lens that would be a better wide-angle zoom lens, not just for this trip but also to use as a main "walking around" lens here at home. I have considered the Canon 17-85 f4.5.6 IS USM lens. Another suggestion is a Sigma 18-125mm f3.5-5.6 for a more universal lens. Or I can just use the kit lens I already have.

I will first of all admit that I am not an expert photographer and just getting into digital since last year.

I have the longer zoom lens (75-300mm) for wildlife photography while on safari. But the Mountain Gorillas present other challenges. If anyone has any suggestions as to what lens would be my best option for photographing them, I would appreciate any advice.

I have also heard that some just do video and have happy memories from that -- and I have a small camcorder as well that I will attempt to use as well to capture motion and sounds not possible with still images.
Old Jul 7th, 2005, 06:40 AM

You certainly will not need a long lens. On our trip, I used a Nikon F100 with a zoom lens (28mm -210mm, I think), but I really didn't need the zoom. Film speed is more important, and we had brought 200ASA and 800 thinking it might be dark, but we were fortunate to find the gorillas in sun and used the 200 speed film.

Photographing gorillas is more about exposure (since they are so dark) and film speed than lens size.
Old Jul 7th, 2005, 07:00 AM

wanderlust