Search

Tanzania Photography

Search this Thread

Old Feb 16th, 2011, 08:13 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tanzania Photography

As the name says, I'm brand new to this and will be going on our first safari to Tanzania in late July and August. We've booked our itinerary, and I'm now turning my attention to such matters as what to take with us, etc. Foremost is deciding what photographic gear to take, and I thought it prudent to ask those of you who've "been there, done that" several questions:

1. Will most of the better game sighting opportunities be in the early morning and later in the afternoon, as opposed to the middle of the day? (If so, that will put a premium on cameras that work well in lower light situations.)

2. Will most of the [individual] animal sightings be in shade or in the open or an equal mix of both?

3. Will most of the [individual] animal sightings be at some distance from the vehicle? If so, what will typical distances be? Will a 400mm lens (35mm equivalent) be sufficient?

4. On our game drives, will we be taking most of our pictures/videos from within the vehicle or will we have opportunities to get out and take pictures/videos while walking around? Note: we are two couples traveling together, so we'll have some "control" of each day's itinerary -- e.g., when and how long we stop.

5. I understand the use of beanbags in the vehicle, but will it be practical/possible to use a monopod or small tripod in the vehicle?

I appreciate answers to any of these rather general questions, as they will help guide me as to what to expect and what to bring.

-- Bill
Old Feb 16th, 2011, 08:48 AM

NeophyteBill: