Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Hotels

Hotel Allegro Chicago

  • 171 W. Randolph St. Map It
  • $
  • Design

Pros

  • C.O. Bigelow products in the bathrooms
  • Yoga equipment available upon request
  • Complimentary 24/7 fitness center

Cons

  • Small bathrooms and closets

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

Theater lovers will relish an opportunity to stay at this Art Deco–themed hot spot; the eclectic decor—including pop art–inspired chairs and sofas—is a hit, and the lobby's black-and-gray wallpaper looks supersharp. The service is solid, and the rooms are a treat with their muted metallic walls and blue mohair headboards. The bathrooms are well crafted, with gleaming new gray marble and updated sinks and vanities. Rent a suite if space is your thing. The building,

staying true to its original architecture, kept the rooms on the smaller side.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

171 W. Randolph St., Chicago, Illinois, 60601, USA

Map It

Phone:

312-236–0123; 800-643–1500

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 452 rooms, 31 suites
  • No meals

Updated 06/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Rod

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 1, 2006

Good value with a Euro twist

Very stylish with a Euro flair. For the young and trendy set. One block from the El. Good-sized rooms for the price -- those who complained about room size obviously haven't spent much time in big cities.

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 6, 2005

College reunion girls loved the Hotel Allegro!

This was a fun hotel, with great service, including early check in and late check out. I couldn't quite follow the color schemes in the rooms, but they were clean, and in good condition.

By Deb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 9, 2005

Great Value

I stayed at this hotel for a girls weekend, the room was huge and had every thing we needed. This Hotel is close to shopping, theatres, the Art Institute, and all transportation. Very well priced for the location, I will stay there again.

By Susanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 18, 2004

Modern and funky - but not too much so

We had a wonderful 4 night stay to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is great fun - I loved the reading nooks, and spent a lot of time looking out over the frozen river. I also really liked the goldfish! We liked it so much we went back in August for our anniversary. Both times we got a great rate for a suite  which was wonderful, on a corner, very spacious and had one of the best spa tubs I have come across in a hotel. Maybe they have been

refurbished because we had no problem with anything being worn out or not clean  it was all impeccable. And I think that they must have worked on the service issue since some of these reviews were written - we couldn't fault it.

Read More

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2004

Good weekend value hotel

We stayed here April 04 two nights, weekend AAA rate. Good location, lots of self-park garages ($21/night self park vs. $34 valet), near theaters, State Street, River North restaurants, Art Institute is not far. Next to El. Older hotel (1920s), formerly Bismarck, very sharp & hip remodeling with offbeat colors/design. Room was decent size for a city hotel, although hotel has mostly queen beds. Top quality bedding, towels, furniture. Bathroom was

fine, new plumbing. Room was whisper quiet despite facing Randolph St. and El (requested upper room away from elevator). Free broadband internet requires computer with wireless receiver. Service was quite friendly and prompt. Free wine hour 5-6 in lobby, lively fun atmosphere. Hotel was full and elevators hard to get...take the "secret" service elevators around the corner from the guest elevators...they were rocket fast. Overall, a reasonable value and good location for a weekend getaway in the overpriced Chicago hotel market.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 20, 2003

If you like small and cramped rooms, this is the place for you

The rooms are incredibly small and cramped. This place is terrible; I can hardly turn around. The front desk says all the rooms are the same size. Try somewhere else.

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2003

Excellent value in downtown Chicago

Our family had a reunion in Chicago, and we took 14 rooms at the Hotel Allegro. We all agreed that it is an excellent choice for the value-conscious traveler who wants to stay in Chicago’s Loop. The hotel’s decor is full of delightful surprises, and is perfectly in tune with the theatre district. My wife and I upgraded to a suite that was spacious, it had all the amenities found in much pricier hotels, and it was clean. The whole floor was

non-smoking. The weekend manager has old school charm and treated us as if we were his family. The hotel’s restaurants are a bit pricey, but the Loop has a wide variety of places to eat. Valet parking is $30, but it's expensive anywhere in Chicago’s downtown. The service provided quick return of our vehicles. We'll be back.

Read More

By Jennie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 31, 2002

Acceptable only if someone else is paying

The decor was contemporary and stylish, but the room refurbishments were poorly done. The ten layers of paint in the tiny bathroom looked tacky, parking was very expensive and the staff were less than pleasant. It was conveniently located for business but would not recommend staying there otherwise.

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 17, 2002

Only if you get a fabulous rate

If you're expecting a Monaco-clone, forget it. The owners did a cosmetic -- instead of structural -- remake. And the hotel suffers for it. The rooms are very small, new wiring is tacked onto old molding, the elevators have freight-elevator wood floors, and the sinks and tubs show years of wear. Having said that, the rooms are pretty. Service is another story. The concierge really is as awful as other reviews indicate -- what hold does she have that

they keep her on-staff? And during check-in, the clerk was smiling to me while complaining under her breath about the guest phone call she just handled. Yipes. The one bright spot in the human side of things at Allegro is the doorman -- smiling, helpful, joking about the weather. Maybe he could give classes to the rest of the staff. Did I have a terrible time? Not exactly. Would I stay again? Definitely not.

Read More

By Guest

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2001

Perfect for Business

This hotel is great if you need to be near the Merchandise Mart for work-related conventions, etc. If being near Michigan Avenue Shopping is your thing, DO NOT STAY HERE as is not even walking distance to those sights. I had a different room experience, as my room was always clean and very spacious. I also thought it was a great value, but I do advise booking way in advance...

By Kay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 24, 2001

Allegro/stinko

Reservation problems that the staff was not concerned about. Promises, promises never kept. Small rooms, barely able to move around in them. Air conditioner barely cooled the room and leaked/sweat a large pool of water on the carpet. Bathroom was not cleaned well. Glad to escape our vacation. It was a miserable stay. We will not return to this place.

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 7, 2001

My Gripe about the Overhype

Chose this hotel based on the ratings here and elsewhere...but found it didn't live up to the hype. Oppressive, heavy handed funky decor (lobby like a scene from an old Russian movie) and the teeny tiny room overlooking another nearby building made for a claustrophobic and less than satisfying visit. But if you want "different"...yep, this ain't no Holiday Inn.

By Rose

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2001

Allegro Made Me Very Allegro!

Found a super deal on another web site, also far below their normal rates. Was thrilled to find it in a great location, the entire hotel has great flair. The staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the city. The only thing I didn't like is that the walls seem to be thin. I could hear my neighbors more than I cared to. None the less, this is a great place and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 12, 2001

Room for a song!

Just happened to find a great rate on the Allegro website far below their other rates. Make sure you check availablity at allegrochicago.com before making phone reservations. Convenient location. The decor is very pleasing. The people are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is good. The standard rooms are very small. The value I got was very good!

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 27, 2001

COOL!

When you walk into this hotel, the colors just jump out at you. We were very impressed with this hotel. We got a very good rate and the value was excellent.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement