Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cancun Hotels

CasaMagna Marriott Cancún Resort

  • CasaMagna Marriott Cancún Resort, Zona Hotelera

    Corey Weiner/redsquarephoto.com/Marriott

  • CasaMagna Marriott Cancún Resort, Zona Hotelera

    Marriott

  • CasaMagna Marriott Cancún Resort, Zona Hotelera

    Marriott

  • CasaMagna Marriott Cancún Resort, Zona Hotelera

    Marriott

  • CasaMagna Marriott Cancún Resort, Zona Hotelera

    Marriott

  • CasaMagna Marriott Cancún Resort, Zona Hotelera

    Corey Weiner/redsquarephoto.com/Marriott

  • CasaMagna Marriott Cancún Resort, Zona Hotelera

    Corey Weiner/redsquarephoto.com/Marriott

  • CasaMagna Marriott Cancún Resort, Zona Hotelera

    Marriott

  • CasaMagna Marriott Cancún Resort, Zona Hotelera

    Corey Weiner/redsquarephoto.com/Marriott

Pros

  • More culturally traditional than most Marriotts
  • Excellent Thai restaurant
  • Gorgeous views from most rooms
  • On-site wedding planner and car rental

Cons

  • Geared to groups and conventions which account for 60% of the hotel's business
  • No designated pool for children
  • Wi-Fi ($15/day) can be spotty

Updated 03/18/2013

Fodor's Review

Sweeping grounds and arched walkways that lead up to the six-story building will make you forget you're at a Marriott. The lobby has large windows, elegant chandeliers, and small sculptures throughout; rooms have private balconies, flat-screen TVs, and marble floors. The secluded gardens and beachfront gazebo are ideal for weddings, as is the small chapel added in 2010. For a $30 fee, guests can enjoy the spa of neighboring JW Marriott, where amenities include chocolate

body wraps and cornhusk exfoliations. The kids' club costs an additional $35 per day; the fee includes lunch, supervised swimming, and cultural programs.

Read More

Hotel Award Winner | 2011

Hotel Information

Address:

Blvd. Kukulcán, Km 14.5, Cancún, Quintana Roo, 77500, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

998-881–2000; 800-900–8800

Website: www.marriott.com

Hotel Details:

  • 414 rooms, 38 suites
  • No meals; Some meals

Updated 03/18/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Cancun

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 21, 2004

Inconsistent

Just returned from my third one week stay in the last four years. Hotel is starting to show its age and needs to have its rooms refurbished. Staff is very friendly and wants to help, but service has become very inconsistent. Not anxious to return.

By helen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 26, 2003

kinda fun

We stayed in mid december for about a week. At this time, the hotel beaches had red dangerous surf warning flags each and every day, so if you had kids or weren't an extremely confident swimmer, going into the ocean wasn't an option. The pool is adequate, although the next door JW Marriott has a better one. Although somewhat lacking in vegetarian options, the restaurants at the hotels were pretty good, with one caveat - do not go the sports bar.

Dark, gloomy, and depressing. The steakhouse is fun, and the service in all the restaurants and the lobby is great. The lobby was nice, as was the overall hotel layout. The room was okay. We had a ground floor room looking out at the lawn (standard gardenview). The marble floors are nice, and sensible as you may be tracking in sand. It was clean, but nothing to write home about, and the bed was rock-hard. The noise level even on the ground floor was low. It was a nice place to stay

Read More

By Trevor

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 24, 2003

True Paradise

Stayed here 2 times and going again for Christmas. This is truly a balmy paradise, with friendly staff, excellent food, beautiful rooms and a wonderful pool and a powdery beach.Close to everything in the hotel zone. 5 Stars!!*****

By Tammi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 4, 2003

The most attentive and friendly staff

We just returned yesterday from a week's stay at the Marriott Casa Magna Resort in Cancun and had a wonderful time. The resort itself was beautiful and clean. The housekeeping and waitstaff could not do enough for us. Our bags were lost by the airline and after many call ourselves, the Concierge, Carlos, helped to locate and deliver them when even the airline could not. The lobby bar waitstaff was attentive, especially Mariana and Jose Manuel.

They even helped our daughter bone up on her Spanish with "lessons" each afternoon and evening. The pool was beautiful as was the beach with plenty of chairs and palapas to sit under. The breakfast buffet was excellent and a great value considering the variety of foods offered. We stayed in an oceanfront room with an unsurpassed view of the Carribbean Sea. Rooms however, are of average size and are becoming a bit tired but were impeccably clean nonetheless. We would definitely return.

Read More

By lynn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 17, 2003

tropical paradise

this resort got some bad reviews.we found it to be gorgeous.clean.and efficiant.beach was clean,no seaweed.water clear as tap.absolutely beautiful.would definately go back.we're 30-40.from n.y.buffet was loaded w/ good food. price was not great,but hey it's a vacation.e-mail me for any info/pics.

By tara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 11, 2003

Nice Staff

The Marriott Casa magna was very nice and up to typical Marriott standards. The rooms were small but nice, the bathrooms large and spacious. We had the Premium Room Ocean Front and the view was spectacular. The beach was perfect and there were plenty of chairs at the beach and pool in May when we were there. The staff was very accomodating.We did not find even one rude employee in 6 days there. The lunch food by the pool is expensive but so is everything

in Cancun. Although there were families with children staying there, it was not a problem for us and they were quiet. The only thing we were upset by was that there was no happy hour. I questioned them on it and they said that they do not do it at any time of the year. While staying here you can also use the JW Marriott next door's restaurants and can charge them to your room. A word of advice on anyone who is a Marriott Rewards member and is using points to stay, go to the JW Marriott instead. It is definately more upscale and the points certificates are the same but if you were paying for the room, JW is way more expensive. The JW was super nice, looked even nicer than the Ritz! Had a great pool and padded pool chars etc. awesome spa as well. We could not find any reviews on the place when we booked so we stayed with our points at Casa magna to be safe. Next time we will stay at JW. But Casa Magna was very nice and if I were paying for the room, I would stay here again.

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2002

You Will Not Be Dissapointed

My boyfriend and I just returned from an amazing 5 day/4 night stay at the Marriot CasaMagna. Words can not describe the beauty of this resort. The rooms, beach, pools, restaurants, service -- everything was impeccable. You absolutely will not be disappointed!

By Jean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2001

Nice Hotel

We intended to stay at the Fiesta Americana Coral Beach, but after one night there, we moved to the Marriott. The beach at the Fiesta Americana was very small (everyone crammed on like sardines), and the water was calm, like a swimming pool. I like to jump the waves and do some bodysurfing, so we moved to the Marriott. This hotel has a beautiful lobby, good rooms, good restaurants. We went in November which was great because it was not crowded at

all. I would go back in a minute.

Read More

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 6, 2001

Marriott will pamper you!!!!

We went over Christmas, and it was wonderful. It was a great value, and we plan to go back next year. The beach is the prettiest one I've ever seen. The service was better than the Ritz in Cancun. The rooms were very nice. We had a great ocean front room. The room came with breakfast, and the breakfast was good.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement