The Norwegian krone (plural: kroner) translates as "crown," written officially as NOK. Price tags are seldom marked this way, but instead read "Kr" followed by the amount, such as Kr 10. (In this book, the Norwegian krone is abbreviated NKr.) One krone is divided into 100 øre, but there aren't any coins under a krone in circulation—just coins of 1, 5, 10, and 20 kroner. Bills are issued in denominations of 50, 100, 200, 500, and 1,000 kroner.

Previous Travel Tip

Business Hours

Next Travel Tip


Trending Stories


Find a Hotel


Fodor's Essential Norway

View Details