San Juan Suburbs

The suburbs of Cataño, Bayamón, Guaynabo, and Dorado, west and south of San Juan, are separate municipalities but in many ways indistinguishable from the city itself. Cataño, bordered by the Bahía de San Juan in the north, is an industrial suburb, perhaps most noted for its distillery belonging to Bacardí. Bayamón can be reached in 15–30 minutes from central San Juan; if you come by car, stop by the attractive central park, bordered by historic buildings. Guaynabo is a mix of residential and industrial areas and is worth visiting for its historical importance—Juan Ponce de León established the island's first settlement here in Caparra, and you can visit the ruins of the original fortification. Further still, some 15 miles (24 km) west of San Juan, Dorado offers a luxurious perch to those who would prefer to stay close to but not in San Juan, or to those who merely want to play a round of golf on a great course.

Explore San Juan Suburbs


Find a Hotel


Fodor's Puerto Rico

View Details

Plan Your Next Trip