Back To Line

Royal Caribbean International: Liberty of the Seas

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Mary_CR

  • New

Dec 11, 2016

Western

2nd time on RC won't go again , no value for the money , the food was just edible . The staff no one really smiled except for a few . Our cabin Stewart was very good . Good entertainment & The Cayman Islands was very nice . The ship was very nicely decorated for Christmas they had a Christmas parade & party which was excellent but overall wouldn't go on Royal Caribbean again like I said food is one of the nicest things of going on a cruise and

this one just did not meet anybody's expectations :(. Very bland food, just edible, we loved Sabor and Giovanni's and chops grill the steaks came out hard as a rock! Ok cabin, nothing special outdated & we had a balcony Yes they had a nice variety of shows and entertainment. Had a good time but like I said. this cruise was lacking

Read More

By paul_CR

  • New

Oct 13, 2015

New England - Canada

Except for the food, it was by far the worst cruise. One of the cheapest cruises, until you get the final bill. The only non-extra was toilet paper and hand sanitizer. They even refused pay port fees for a missed port, after they said the would.. Best part of the cruise was the food. The Middle Eastern food was surprisingly hot which I loved, but it may not go over for everyone. The worse meal was breakfast. To save a few bucks they used powdered

eggs. Also, expect to spend 2 hours for dinner. Small but clean cabin. The shower is so small, you have to get out to dry off, it was almost claustrophobic. Few activities that did not require spending money. Evening entertainment was good, not great, at least the few I saw. The first two nights dozens of people, including me an my wife, could not get seats. We stood in line an hour to an hour an 1/2 to get seats after that. The miniature golf course was nice and not crowded as the temperature was below 60 and the wind was over 10 knots. The one pool deck movie we watched (too cold) was interrupted so that a three piece band could play. Do miss any Royal Caribbean or Celebrity cruise. Is there a chance you could have a good time on one, sure, but you would have better odds in the casino, which has worse odds that land based casinos. Pay a little more for another companies cruse and you will probably end up with the same bill at the end.

Read More

By greg_CR

  • New

Sep 12, 2015

Bermuda

The overall experience is very disappointing and we will not recommend it to any of our friends. Before you spend your money - think twice as the price is not cheap, but the service is. Windjammer restaurant had almost the same food every day. The restaurant will have you use plastic plates (editors note: they are corelle dishes for breakage reasons), no trays, and cheap silverware. If you are looking for a fresh juice - it will be offered

for $3.50 a glass! But, this food is still better than what they serve in the Michelle Angelo's restaurant for dinner. The waiters were good, but the food - was blah! Their food can't stand competition with any food in 3 stars italian restaurant in NJ. The stateroom was below average, very worn out and old furniture and bedding that was changed only in the beginning of the cruise and the sheets had holes in them; the towels old; the shampoo was given only in dispenser and no conditioner; they don't give you an iron even on request (editors note: irons are a fire hazard on ships and not allowed in any cabin on any cruise line); the bathroom toilet bowl is so warn out that it is black inside.

Read More
  • New

Jan 6, 2015

belize-cozumel

Overall Liberty of the Sea Cruise in December 24-29, 2014: It is not a cruise I would take again. Belize was not worth the trouble of getting off the ship; the weather was not the best of the year ( cold); Cozumel excursion to Playa Mia was not worth the time and money; food in the ship was abundant but again, who prefers quantity over quality? I don't. Kids club was not what you would expect as a fun place to leave your kids; the way they rushed

you to get off the ship the last day was not a nice thing to experience. Gratuities and tips: we made the mistake to pay in advance during the book of our trip and in our final bill there were extra gratuities included. I would highly recommend not to pay the gratuities and tips during the booking process. It will cost you less if you pay there directly to your servers. So, if you are traveling with kids choose cruises that have higher ratings for kid's friendly environment. Skip beaches that do not have port or are poorly maintained like Belize. Go on cruises during seasons when the weather is warmer so you can enjoy the water activities. Don't pay for gratuities and tips in advance. Research before you get in the ship about the excursions to the islands you visit. Internet is expensive in the ship. About the all-inclusive food: Pizza available 24 hours but do not expect something that worth the calories. Breakfast with a great selection of fruits, beverage, pastries, etc. Dinner and lunch were not as delicious as the name of the dish sounded on the menu. Instead of quantity I would rather taste the quality of ingredients. Water bottles are for sale; not included. I was concern about the quality of the water served during meals but no problems with that. The alcohol beverages also not included and not interesting either. We asked for a "Brazilian caipirinha" which is basic vodka, lime and sugar and we could not recognize the flavor of none of the ingredients. We had a delicious meal at the steak house they have in there but we had to pay for that Small but very clean cabin. Kids club: I thought that would be the selling point of the cruise for us. Well, it was a regular place to drop off kids while you have dinner. Not much exciting things to do once in there. My kids find ok. And everyday they did not want to come back. I expected more exciting activities since they offered a "kid's club" style care. The arcade was lame. Several machines were out of order. My kids had a one hour cupcake class. I asked clearly to the person who was about to teach the class when should I come back to pick them up. He said in an hour. When I came back 8 minutes before the one hour the class was supposed to finish, my kids were waiting in a dark room. I found very inconsiderate with guests specially because they were children and I was not late. So, the level of professionalism and care of people who work with kids in this ship is very low. The water activities: water was cold. December might be not the best time of the year for a cruise like that. They have heated Jacuzzis though. But all the swimming pools had really cold water. Belize and Cozumel beaches : in Belize we could not even take a tour because they do not have beaches for tourists to visit. They have several excursion to see crocodiles, the blue sea hole, etc... Nothing we could do safely with kids. Besides that, the customer service people on the cruise let us know that Belize is not safe place to walk around. So, what's the point of making a stop there? Also, you have to get a small boat to reach the Island because they do not have a port. My opinion is that Belize is not interesting and not convenient for families with small children, seniors or people with disabilities. In Cozumel we bought the excursion they sold in the ship. The place was "Playa Mia". The food, beverage and bus transportation were included. Again, it was not a good deal. The food was bad in quality and variety. Beverages were made out of store bought fruit box; like the ones I send to school for my kids. And the person preparing the drinks poured the ice in my cup with his hands touching all other ice cubes stored in a big plastic bag. I was glad I had Hepatitis vaccine all up to date! Margaritas were served in plastic cups and tasted like really bad lemonade. We paid extra for the snorkeling and the experience was pleasant. I felt a little grossed out when the guy gave me the equipment coming out of a bucket with a soapy blueish water and said: "wear it!". Again, I was glad my Hep vaccines were up to date. Regarding hygiene and quality of services Mexican beach places are not close to US standards. So, watch out for that. The Cozumel beach Playa Mia was not bad but it was not impressive either. I bet if I booked another excursion directly on the Port I could get better deals and more beautiful beaches. Skip Playa Mia. Not worth it. I would not go with kids again to Liberty of the sea cruise.

Read More
  • New

Apr 24, 2014

Cozumel

The food was okay. Not great but not bad either. The servers made the main dining room really fun. This was the best food of the day. We ordered room service every morning and ate it on the balcony. It came on time every day and was good. The Windjammer/buffet for lunch was the least impressive but you could usually find something suitable for lunch there. My son ate there every night before going to the kids club too and there was plenty

for kids for dinner on there as well. Stateroom was excellent. Very clean and comfortable beds. Our family of 4 shared a balcony room with a pull out couch. It was perfect for us and much larger than we expected. We were able to unpack and put all 3 suitcases under the bed and out of the way. Very happy with the room. Onboard activities were good. We used the kids club for our kids every session. They loved it and we were so grateful for the alone time. I got to work out and relax while they had fun. They kept them very busy and happy. We didn't do a ship excursion. We just took a taxi to a beach resort (Playa Mia) and was fine with it. With two small kids we couldn't do anything too adventurous. It served it's purpose. Pools, beach, food, clean bathrooms.

Read More
  • New

Feb 3, 2014

FLL

Oh Royal Caribbean…I’m so disappointed in you. I consider myself an experienced cruiser – not an aficionado by any means, but I’ve been on 6 or 7 over the years. Obviously I am a fan. Actually, about half of those have been on Royal Caribbean, with the last one about 4 years ago giving me a pretty great experience (the other lines were Carnival and Celebrity if you are curious). However, this most recent experience

was enough to make me say I’ll likely never book with Royal Caribbean again. I set sail on the Liberty of the Seas from Fort Lauderdale in late January. It was a family event – our group was about 70 people. We are a fun group that can roll with the punches and make the best of things – the only reason the vacation wasn’t a total bust. If you are like me, one of the things you look forward to most on a cruise is the food. Oh the food! Midnight buffets, burgers by the pool, main dining room smorgasbords and even the specialty restaurants…bring it on. Someone jokingly said if you don’t gain 2 pounds a day on a cruise you are doing it wrong. My past cruise experience led me to believe that I was in for a 4-day long amazing culinary adventure…I could not have been more wrong. The food on the Liberty of the Seas was TERRIBLE. To be fair, the casual buffet in the WindJammer for lunch and breakfast was good…your usual fare. The main dining room is where I had the majority of my problems. The seafood was fishy and rubbery across the board – it all tasted like it had been leftover from previous sailings. It was old and on the verge of going bad. To add insult to injury everything had that too hot, rubbery taste we all associate with excessive use of the microwave. OK, lesson learned – I’ll stick to land based cuisine…it didn’t help. Nothing was ever cooked to order properly. On multiple occasions my medium rare order came out charred and well done, while my neighbors well-done was close to bloody. Of the 4 nights we had dinner only the last had any actually tasty dishes. The last night…also known as tip night – call me cynical but I feel those 2 things may be related. I didn’t personally dine at Chops or Portofino (the specialty restaurants), but members of our group did and reported back that they were only marginally better. Upon closer examination, cleanliness was a huge issue on board. Despite the instructions in the form of verbal abuse from staffers to use the Purell stations prior to entry into dining areas. Upon checking into our staterooms my father found what looked like pubic hair inside some of the drawers. Over the 4 night cruise our stateroom was cleaned only twice. At first glance the Liberty looked like a great option, one of the largest in RC’s fleet I believe. Let’s start with the positive…the activities on board and the ship itself were great. The public areas were well designed with plenty of fun bars, shops and restaurants to hang out in (personal favs were Schooner Bar and the Hoof & Claw English Pub). The casino was very good with friendly dealers who willingly taught me the basics of craps. Yay! The pool area was awesome – if crowded –with plenty of hot tubs and a rock wall. The FloRider surfing set up was an absolute blast! Finally, some of my group utilized the child care services and reported excellent experiences on that front. We didn't go on any of the excursions as we had an event in Cozumel Now let’s talk about that terrible level of customer service I mentioned earlier. Again, based on prior cruises, I was expecting pretty good customer service. Maybe not Disney level, but it is a cornerstone of this industry and I would expect representatives of the cruise line to take it seriously. Nope, the staff of the Liberty of the Seas was not helpful or friendly…in fact they were downright combative at times. It started in the main dining room – I’m sensing a trend here. The wait staff was horrendous. Every single night at our table they either got an order incorrectly, didn’t bring someone’s order out, brought out random extra orders or forgot to take someone’s order entirely. They were also incredibly slow at filling water glasses or taking additional wine orders. Not to mention the hair incident. The beverage staff was equally awful at many of the on-board bars. They seemed to all be moving at the speed of sloth, it took a staggeringly long time to get a drink anywhere…even when we were the only people in the bar area. Bartenders will frequently roll their eyes at you, or condescendingly ask “what’s the magic word” when you order a drink. Side Note: I’m generally polite and a prior server – I tip well and always say please, which that guy would have heard if he bothered to pay attention to anything. Expect to be blamed for any problem you bring to someone’s attention – even at the guest relations desk. We had a small billing discrepancy I needed to clear up at the end of the journey. The rep behind the desk was completely rude and abrasive. I have never been so disappointed in a company. The level of quality for my experience as a whole was so far below my expectations it was shocking. I love going on cruises, I’m sure I’ll go on many more in my lifetime – they just won’t be with Royal Caribbean.

Read More
  • New

Jan 4, 2013

Five nights

Overall Its a very nice experience to be onboard of Liberty of the seas. Good food, lot of on board entertainment, excellent customer service especially in the main dining room. First time in Haiti i can tell its beautiful at least Labadee. The only negative of this trip was that we were going to Jamaica when "some one got sick"...???? And they had to divert the ship in order to meet an helicopter from the us coast guard and that took long time therefore

we never went to Jamaica and we have to come back to Fort Lauderdale FLA! Well, me and over hundred more were out side when the helicopter arrived and honestly we never saw anyone boarding the helicopter????? Any ways, that have nothing to do with the good experience on board of the Liberty of the Seas. The food was excellent at all of their complementary restaurants. The stateroom was clean and well decorated. The bed was very confortable! Wow highly recommended... Thats all i can say! They do all they can to advise all guests about any excursions or event. I really loved my trip! Beautiful beach in Labadee, Haiti, and during cruising you always find something to do.

Read More
  • New

Dec 21, 2011

Western Caribbean

The terminal that the Liberty leaves and arrives from is completely in adequate for the number of passengers. Waited on line at terminal 25 over an hour to check in. On arrival we were herded to terminal 24 to claim our luggage and go thru customs. Then had to walk approx. 1/4 mile to the parking garage dragging our luggage. The cruise itself was good although there were 4300 passengers on board (early Xmas breakers!). We took our children and

grandchildren and they all enjoyed, especially our lunch at Pancho's Backyard in Cozumel, our only port. I would hesitate to cruise again at Holiday time!! Generally good. Portions getting smaller and no lobster tails on a 4-day cruise in the Dining Room. Standard Veranda cabin quite adequate, plenty of space for clothing , etc. Plenty to do if that's your thing. N/A

Read More
  • New

Oct 13, 2011

western caribbean

This cruise was a great vacation from the start! Accomodations were excellent, the ship was immaculate! We tried My Time Dining for the first time and totally enjoyed that experience. The staff was friendly and, Cruise Director, James was the best yet! I've cruised 7 times with Royal Caribbean and have not had a bad experience so I will continue being loyal to the company. I'm booked on Navigator of the Seas in March for 8 nights to the eastern caribbean.,

Food was fabulous! Fresh and tasty with plenty of options to choose. Stateroom was nicely appointed and kept spotless by our Cabin Attednnt Plenty of activities to do if interedted. Don't miss Stingray City in Grand Cayman!

Read More
  • New

Sep 26, 2011

med

This was our 12th cruise with RCCL. We are Diamond members of the Crown and Anchor Society. All previous cruises were in the Caribbean and this was the first Med. Cruise. Check in was hectic but seemed to be well thought out but there were problems. Once through Security we came up the Suite check in line. There were 6 representatives checking folks in but the line was a mile long. Each passenger seemed to take a full 20 to 25 minutes to check in.

Once it was our turn, it took only 3 minutes to check in! We discovered that most folks had not done an on line check in and had to go through medical forms, passport forms and credit card forms then do the normal check in stuff like pictures on ID cards. Hint: Do the one line check in! The ship was beautiful and well maintained. Our Suite was perfect. The food was very disappointing as was the attitudes of the servers ins the Windjammer. The tours were just so so and expensive. Departing the ship was well thought out and fast. Of our 12 cruises with RCCL, we were most disappointed with the food on this cruise. We chose not to eat in the Main dining room for all but one meal. The food was not good and not up to the normal RCCL standards. Service in the Main dining room was good and everyone was nice but the food quality was just not good. Since we ate most of our meals in the Windjammer we noticed a definite attitude among the servers and staff. It was difficult to get a cup of coffee! The area where the coffee was brewed and where water and juice was served was staffed by surly folks that were just not pleasant! Such a change from prior cruises. The food selection was just not up to usual standards and downright disappointing! We sailed the Oasis and found everything to be fabulous. Staff, selection and quality all great but not on the Liberty. Stateroom was excellent. Our attendant was a bit behind in leaving towels and removing her cleaning utensils when finished but overall did a good job. We had a Grand Suite which entitled us to the use of the Concierge Lounge. Excellent! Admittedly we did not take full advantage of on board activities although there were many! This was difficult for us. Due to the length between the port and some cities, some travel took 3 hours round trip! We felt the prices were moderate for the tours we took. The tours were well organized and conducted professionally. Some tours took 9 to 10 hours and that was too much for us. We chose tours around the 5 or 6 hour mark but let's face it, you cannot see Rome in 2 hours! That's what it worked out to be after 90 minutes each way to and from the port. We are not too enthused about this cruise. One wonderful thing is that RCCL has finally realized that they should take care of loyal customers! We had access to the Concierges Lounge and a special Diamond member lounge!The Concierge, Francois Roux and Bar man Hugh Brown were high lights of our trip. These two men knew the meaning of service and took really exemplary care of us during our stay. We would probably not take another Med. cruise. Still the lure of a Greek Isle cruise is there..lol. Ship was beautiful.

Read More
  • New

Apr 25, 2011

Transatlantic

Boarded the ship in Miami, everything was straight forward and the system seemed to be very efficient. We had an Oceanview Stateroom which was very spacious and well equipped. The weather was very kind to us and we enjoyed a very smooth and comfortable crossing. We dined for dinner at the second sitting in the Michelangelo dining room. Generally, the food was very good, the meat and fish dishes were exceptionally good but we did find that the

vegetables were slightly under cooked to our taste. The menu offered a wide range of choices. Our waiter, Ransel and his assistant Alfredo were both most attentitive and took good care of us. Any complaints that we had were dealt with immidiatley. Large Oceanview - forward. Spacious, clean and well appointed. Very comfortable bed and the room was very quiet. Our cabin steward, Wayne was very accomodating and looked after our needs extremely well. A wide range of things to do and take part in. Cannot see how anybody could be bored on this ship. We did think that the library could have been better stocked and that the opening hours should be more flexible. Did not go on any organised trips, we just took the shuttle bus to city centres from the ship. Most worked out okay but the transport in and out of Valencia could and should have been better organised. We had an exceptionally good voyage. The entertainment onboard was simply suberb. An experience that we thoroughly enjoyed and look forward to doing it again.

Read More
  • New

Jan 2, 2011

Eastern Carribean

The Liberty of the Seas is not a vacation, it is a headache. Don't get me wrong, I love cruises and look forward to trying ANY other ship.The food was generally awful, everyone was in a foul mood (including the self involved staff). I am food oriented and highly enjoy a wonderful meal. If you enjoy food, this is NOT the cruise for you. The meals were so small portioned, I had to order two and I am a small framed person. Not to mention that their

version of spice is a little bit of salt, and fresh cracked pepper. I almost had to resort to buying seasoning on one of the islands, so my pallet didn't die of boredom. We dined at Chops one evening, which is the 5 star meal upgrade. The presentation was well executed. The portions were more then enough and each dish had flavors that outdid the previous bite. If you are forced to take this cruise, I highly recommend you upgrade to this restaurant. The stateroom was very quant. Our room overlooked the Promanade, and was excellent for people watching. Our room was kept very well. Our attendant was always around, even though she always had our needs met. Our attendant, is the only reason I believe The Liberty of Seas knew what customer service was. The Liberty is loaded with activities. We did luck out that our cruise was filled with senior citizens, despite the fact you would get ran down by the rascals. The lines were very minimal for everything, but the lines to get into the after dinner shows. The ship offered a ice skating rink, a descent casino, rock wall, Flow Rider, and miniature golf. We first arrived to St Maarten and choice to relax on a beach excursion. It included lunch and a beverage and was worth every penny, St Maarten has the best sand I have ever walked through. Our second stop was San Juan, and we chose the Bacardi Tour. It was interesting to learn about, but not something I would recommend if it is your first time to San Juan. Our third and final stop was Labadee, which is exclusive to the Royal Carribean Cruise line as the way I understand it. We decided to do the Sea Kayaking, which I recommend highly. You able to see the original Labadee Village, which is where the name came from for the tourist attraction. To start with... their was computer errors, so the ship had delayed boarding. Many people were not able to get the lunch the offered, since they did not extend the lunch time despite that the boarding errors were on their end. I was one of these people and asked several employees for crackers or anything and was REFUSED by ALL. The entire staff was generally very unhelpful on the entire cruise. Save your money for true luxury cruise, not a wannabe. The Liberty of the Seas has a lot of wasted potential for the luxury cruise they claim to be.

Read More
  • New

Mar 9, 2010

Western Carribean

It was our first cruise, and we loved it! We will definitely go again on Royal Caribbean Very good Great, very clean Great we went on 2 of the 4 Best time we ever had

By Sue_CR

  • New

Feb 19, 2010

Western Caribbean

We went on our first cruise - that was a week long, and we were with other family members and had a great time. We had a balcony room which was great to sit out there at night and watch as we left the ports. There were almost 5000 people on board, but everyone was friendly and the service was great. We are definitely looking forward to cruising with them again. We only booked one excursion, we went parasailing, It was something we'd never done, so

we figured the time was right. My dad in his early 70's even went parasailing and enjoyed it, except he said it could've gone higher or lasted longer. There were so many activities and shows we didn't get to do everything we wanted, but we still had a great time. The food was always great. There was so much variety and I got to try a few things I'd never had before. Our stateroom was home for a week. The bed was VERY comfortable and the sheets and linens were top notch. I've been in nice hotels that weren't as comfortable. If you needed something it was taken care of right away. And my husband and I both loved the towel critters each night. We took pictures of them. Too many to mention. We saw a couple shows, and an ice show. They were all great. We'd never been on a cruise before, so we went off at each port. We shopped at one, took a guided tour on another and went parasailing on the last. The trip was thoroughly enjoyed and we look forward to our next cruise with RCCL.

Read More
  • New

Sep 4, 2009

Western Caribbean

Our 11th RCCL cruise, and as Crown & Anchor Diamond class, we enjoyed some of the perks, mainly the private Diamond Club for free cocktails each evening. There were close to 4000 passengers, including 1000 kids leading us to believe that smaller ships with half as many passengers would be more to our liking. RCCL appears to be cutting corners in this economy. Fewer choices on the dinner menu plus smaller portions(which is OK!!). The buffet for

breakfast and lunch in the Windjammer was good and the Portofino Italian dinner was excellent. My biggest gripe was at breakfast where they now charge $3.95 for a glass of fresh-squeezed orange juice. The concentrated OJ was available but it is terrible!! Stateroom was fine and had plenty of storage space. Our steward(ess) Melvina from Jamaica was very accommadating. There are plenty of activities for those who are so inclined. This is a fabulous ship for families with kids, especially pre-teens and teens who would love the Flowrider, ice-skating, basketball, and mini-golf, to name a few. We normally do not take excursions - except to the stores!! Our shore time is generally spent shopping except for our traditional visit to Pancho's Backyard in Cozumel. We love the ambiance of Pancho's including the Margeritas and the Marimba players. It's next to Los Cinco Soles for shopping which is fun to browse. For us, as Seniors, the ship is too big. For families, it's great. Hopefully, we can take our kids and their kids on a Freedom class in the not too distant future. The Liberty is beautiful and very well maintained. Overall, RCCL is still our favorite even though they are cutting corners in some areas.

Read More
  • New

Aug 13, 2009

Eastern

Royal Caribbean are the biggest hustlers on the seas. Please beware of their theivery when paying for a cruise as well as the Seapass onboard if US Dollars are not your local currency. RCCL will rip you off a 10% extra with their lousy exchange course. The cruise will cost you 10% extra as well as all expenses onboard. BOYCOTT them! Excellent trip with wonderful food but it was ruined by cheap RCCL that punish foreign cruisers and rip them off.

By Deb_CR

  • New

Jun 1, 2009

Eastern Carribean

What a great cruise, the staff was exceptional and wanting to serve your every need. Wasn't sure about going on the cruise as singles and how easy it would be to meet others and make new friends. No need to worry, by the second day we had met another couple and each day another. We enjoyed everyones company which made the cruise a blast. The themed dance parties and specific events for sports competitions were a ton of fun. There are a lot of

people on this ship when it is sold out, and this one was. It was a challenge always trying to get a chair by the pool, you have to strategize your breakfast and timing to get by the pool early if you wanted in the fun areas. The gym was absolutely the best, plenty of equipment, boxing classes, cycling, palates, overall just great for your morning routine. The rooms were serviced twice daily with great room attendants, we had a balcony which was perfectly laid out with just the right space. Enjoyed the breakfast at the Windjammer daily. The dining room was not my favorite as we booked 4 nights at Chops or Portifino's. Portinfino's was the best in my opinion with fantastic service. Sabboro's pizza was always a great afternoon snack, Ben and Jerry's for ice cream was another. Enjoyed the coffee shop and room service was always great, which was included in your package price just for a small service fee.

Read More
  • New

Jun 1, 2009

Eastern Caribbean

This was our 34th cruise, 7th on RCCL and we probably won't sail any other line than RCCL. We have five booked and would not hesitate to do the Freedom or Explorer class ships again. They are big, but you never felt crowded. You could find a place to unwind and even be by yourself on some of the lower decks. Food was great the shows were great and ice skating performance tops anything we've ever seen.....awesome. We're booked in a few weeks

on the Monarch doing a pre reunon cruise as we are taking her again for a big reunion in November, we've been on her before - the service, class and just all around cruise experience is best on RCCL....HAL, Princess and Celebrity are good, Carnvial is a value and the big ships are fine...but for overall cruise value and service become a Platinum or Diamond member of RCCL and you'll see what the good life really is. Love cruisin, just wish we had started earlier, we'd be at 100 by now. Excellent, waiters and Head were great. Great, very modern. Super, do a lot or nothing- your choice. All great- we've been so many times, we usually just go into town and shop. This time we had our grandson and did some and they very very good.....Haiti is wonderful, and they really treat you like it's your island. Awesome ship, great service and wonderful weather made it a smooth super trip. The main deck will take your breath if you've never been on a big ship - the parades, the cafes and the glass elevators are something else to see.

Read More
  • New

May 3, 2009

Eastern Caribbean

I love cruising with RCCL. There is so much to do and a great amount of fun that comes with it. If you are very active, they have many activities on board, plus the gym. If you just want to relax, you can just lay by the pools or listen to some great music at the different lounges, such as Boleros. My husband and I love the Liberty of the Seas so much that is the second time we go on it. We did not regret our decision. Waiting to see the Oasis of

the Seas. We went to San Juan, PR, St. Maarten, & Labadee, Haiti their private location. We had a great time at all of these places unfortunately we were an hour late for San Juan because of bad windy weather that had the boat rocking a bit too much the first two days. The rest of the days were a breeze. I would recommend taking some motion sickness medicine in case this may make you sick. You never know how the weather will be like. The have very nice children's area pool with sprinklers and buckets dumping water, plus they have their own jacuzzi. If you have no children there is the Solarium where only adults are allowed to the pools and jacuzzis. There are two more pools in the center of the solarium and the H2O zone for the kids that either or can be around. Something new that they have this year is the My Time Dining. If you wish to do the main dining as, come in at the time you please, they now have that option for you. If not you can set up a certain time you want to eat everyday other then the two dining times that are available and they have easily have the tables to just be set up for your family. We did not participate in that, but it may be an option we may want to be part of in the future. The food was amazing. At all points during the cruise there is a variety of food to eat. The pizzeria Sorrento's has really good pizza, we tried to make it a everyday thing to go by and have some slices. The main dining room was delicious. There was always something in the menu I wanted and sometimes was stuck between a few choices. My husband would sometimes have the same problem but this is easily solved since our server Muthu was always amazing to bring two entrees or appetizers whenever we requested it. Only complaint is that the food was so good I gained way too much weight, but totally my fault, not the cruises. hehe There are sugar free desserts in case some individual have diabetes. Something that I keep in mind because of my mother in law in case we convince her to come next time. The Windjammer has great breakfast buffet every morning and for those wanting to be pampered you can still go to the dining room for breakfast. We hd an interior stateroom and it is small, but in what cruise ship is it not when you get anything besides a suite? We had a great flat screen TV. Everything was always tidy and freshly clean thanks to attendant, Pennell. I have to say I love that they clean it twice a day and you always have fresh towels in the room. The bed was very comfy, did not have any problems sleeping. I really enjoyed that there was no window since it really allowed me to sleep deeply. Remember to have your alarms set up in these rooms or you may sleep the day away. I loved all the onboard activities on this ship. There is so much to do and so little time at some points. My husband loved that they have the Flowrider. The crew is helpful in teaching you to boggie board or surf. There is miniature golf which we played several times. There is rock climbing for those interested, same with ice skating. The Ice skating show was great. I had tons of fun playing Bingo. The competitions for basketball, volleyball and soccer kept many people entertained during the cruising days. It was great just watching or participating if you are into sport. We did the excursion for the Waverunner in Labadee - I would recommend it especially to first time Jet Skiers such as my husband and myself. They had a great system of keeping everyone safe and the views were amazing. LOTS OF FUN!!! I hope that this was helpful!

Read More
  • New

Apr 5, 2009

Eastern Caribbean

We just got back from our first cruise. We chose the Liberty of the Seas because of all the activities that it has for kids. We travelled with our boys, ages 11 & 14. We had an absolutely fantastic time and can hardly wait to go again! We were absolutely blown away by the amount and variety of food available! Our breakfasts and lunches were usually in the Windjammer where everything is buffet style. We had our dinners in the dining room. The food

was delicious. A few things lacked in taste, but everything was fresh and presented well. For those late night munchies, we would pick up pizza at Sorrento's (Yummy!) or cookies from the bakery in the promenade. For the afternoons by the pool, the soft ice cream machine was always a favourite! We didn't try the fancier restaurants or Johnny Rockets because there was a charge for the food and we truly felt like the all inclusive restaurants had more than we could ever want. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. On the days when we were in ports, we took a little cooler along and made picnic lunches from the ship's food. That way, we didn't have to worry about off shore food. I quickly discovered that a cruise is the best way to travel with teenagers! There is so limit to the amount of times they can eat in a day! Our staterooms were very nice. Of course being in an inside stateroom gave us a little less space, but it worked out just fine for the little time that we actually spent in there. We actually got two rooms, so we had double the space. The beds were the most comfortable 'away from home' beds that we have ever slept in! There were two twin beds that could be converted into a king-sized bed of desired and two night tables. There was a tiny sitting area with a loveseat and table. The flat screen TV was hinged so it could be turned in any direction. Separating the bedroom from the sitting area was a curtain that could be drawn if necessary. There was also quite a few drawers, a large closet, a vanity for getting ready and a tiny bathroom with more hot water than you would ever use! The stateroom attendant came in twice a day and so the room was always clean. Wow! Never a dull moment! Each day you were given a Daily Compass, which was a newsletter of all the activities for the next day. At any given time, there were tons of choices. Our boys kept so busy with the Flowrider, mini golf, basketball, wall climbing, ping pong and pools, that they never even tried any of the activities in the kids' clubs for their ages. In the evenings we always went to the shows. They had the most amazing shows and entertainers! In San Juan, we wanted to tour the city. We felt the excursion from RCI was quite expensive, so we didn't book it. Luckily, when we got off the ship there were tons of local companies that offered the same tour for half the cost. We had the neatest guy, who has lived there most of his life. He took us all over and told us all about the history. He stopped whenever we asked him to and took family photos for us. Our next port was St. Maarten. Once again, we wanted to tour both sides, but thought we would wait to see what the local companies offered. We discovered that RCI's price was very reasonable and that the local companies charged a lot more. In the end, we skipped the tour all together, played in the ocean and walked down the main street to do some shopping. Labadee was our favourite. There were lots of excursions offered, but we wanted a beach day! One of the locals us were to snorkel. My boys had a blast and I could watch them from my beach chair. In Labadee, there is also a wonderful barbeque lunch put on by the ship that included some fantastic local entertainment. There is also a huge market area where you can shop for souvenirs. A word of advice, practice being assertive ahead of time! All in all, it was an absolutely wonderful holiday. It was more than dreamed it would be! We can hardly wait to go back! Feel free to E-mail me with any questions. Happy Cruising!

Read More
  • New

Nov 30, -0001

Eastern Caribbean

The ship is so big you have to walk a long way to get to activities while dodging alot of people, strollers, and children. All the bars are smoking bars. It was January and I didn't expect 565 children on board. Total passengers 4000, crew 1000, I just think that's too many people in one area! People saving deck chairs while they go do something else. The ship is beautiful. The food presentation was excellant, always hot. Most dishes were great,

some lacked flavor. Some of the desserts were purchased through food distributor. Most of the pineapple were under ripe, melons was ok. We really enjoyed the buffet (The Windjammer). I was hoping for more seafood and Caribbean cusine. It was very clean and peaceful. We had a stateroom with balcony, fantactic! The room was serviced twice a day. Very Good. Loved-San Juan and Phillipsburg, but we got rainned out at Labadee.

Read More

Cruise Forums

Have a cruising question? Ask our Fodorite community.

Cruise News

Read our latest news about cruises.

Store

Shop our travel guides on European, Caribbean, and Alaskan cruises.

Back To Top