Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   How much vacation time? (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/how-much-vacation-time-277288/)

Suze Dec 3rd, 2002 08:34 AM

How much vacation time?

How much vacation time do you get?<BR><BR>I only get two weeks a year.

Teacher Dec 3rd, 2002 08:41 AM

2+ months in the summer and holidays, but there's a trade-off. I'm a special education teacher, and its not unusual for me to work a 60-70 hour six-day week during the school year.

Suzie Dec 3rd, 2002 08:45 AM

I get 13 holidays, 1 personal day and 4 weeks of vacation OR sick leave. You know, when it's spread out over the year it doesn't seem like that much!

Julie Dec 3rd, 2002 08:52 AM

I get three weeks of vacation, seven personal days, and the major holidays (Thanksgiving, xmas, New Years, July 4th, Memorial Day, and Labor Day). Sick days as needed.

hmmmm Dec 3rd, 2002 08:53 AM

It's not unusual for many people to work 60+ hours per week but most don't get 2+ months off in the summer.

Emily Dec 3rd, 2002 08:57 AM

My husband has 5 weeks built up, but too many deadlines to take any days off. He even had to go into work on Friday after Thanksgiving, it really sucks.<BR><BR>He often works 60-70hr weeks also, w/o 2 months off.

beachbum Dec 3rd, 2002 09:02 AM

not enough!

suzanne Dec 3rd, 2002 09:04 AM

I have worked here long enough to now get 15 vacation days a year (we all start at 10). I get 7 holidays and 5 sick days. The best part is I can carry over unused days (to a limit) to the next year! So last year I took 5 weeks off...and only 1 week off this year (too damn busy!) <BR><BR>I envy Europeans, who seem to get at least 6 weeks off a year.

Teacher Dec 3rd, 2002 09:05 AM

Yes, but I'll wager that those who work 60+ hours without the 2+ months off have salaries that reflect the extra time spent on the job.

ny Dec 3rd, 2002 09:06 AM