Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Boston-End of Sept/early Oct. (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/boston-end-of-sept-early-oct-47207/)

Portia Jun 26th, 1999 04:02 AM

Boston-End of Sept/early Oct.

Would this be a good time to go to Boston to see the leaves turn? Would they have already peaked this year, end of September - (30th) and the first week in October or is it better to go after the 1st week of October? <BR> <BR>Is it cold then? This is my first time seeing the leaves turn and I can't wait. - or at least seeing them when they are the pretty orange/yellow colors.

Howard Jun 26th, 1999 05:27 AM

You're better off going to the Berkshires in Western Massachusetts or to Vermont for foliage viewing. The first two weeks of October are best. Here are some "foliage" phone numbers and websites from last year (some may not be in operation yet): <BR>Vermont: 800-837-6668; website: www.travel-vermont.com <BR>Massachusetts: 800-227-6277; website: mass-vacation.com

Howard Jun 26th, 1999 05:33 AM

P.S.: Make hotel/B&B reservations soon. The area fills up during foliage season.

Parrot Mom Jun 26th, 1999 05:46 PM

Because of the drought we are having there is no way to guess when the foliage is going to be at it's peak... My opnion would be the beginning of October AND MAKE YOUR RESERVATIONS NOW.... WE HAVE LOTS OF LEAF PEEPERS... <BR> <BR>

Sara Jun 26th, 1999 07:16 PM

Right around Columbus Day weekend is usually when the leaves are peaking in the Boston area. They start a week or more earlier in the Western Berkshires and farther North, but there's usually not really much to see before the beginning of October.

Kara Jun 27th, 1999 09:51 AM