Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   Bed & Breakfast Suggestions in Lisdoonvarna (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/bed-and-breakfast-suggestions-in-lisdoonvarna-538409/)

jshirema Jun 21st, 2005 10:59 AM

Bed & Breakfast Suggestions in Lisdoonvarna

I'll be in this area in late September. I was curious to know what people think of Lisdoonverna in general. Moreover, if I could get some B&B recommendations.

elaine Jun 21st, 2005 11:02 AM

Okay, I give up. Where is it?

jshirema Jun 21st, 2005 11:09 AM

It's in Ireland. Sorry this is my first time posting here. I may be in the wrong area

elaine Jun 21st, 2005 11:10 AM

no, I was just admitting my ignorance.

This is the Europe message board, there is no separate area for Ireland.
Welcome.

chatham Jun 21st, 2005 12:24 PM

jshirema: I've stayed in Lisdoonvarna twice. The 1st time I stayed at Carrigan Hotel. It was very friendly and nice. The second time I stayed at Sheedy's Country House Hotel. It was great! The only B&B I personally know of is Kincora House. It's down the street from Carrigan. They have nice rooms and a Pub. Are you going for the Match Making? It will be in full swing. I've found Lisdoon. to be a good place to stay near the Burren and Doolin. I'm sure it is great fun in Sept. Good luck, Joan

jshirema Jun 21st, 2005 12:43 PM

Thanks very much for the comments. I won't be in town during the matchmaker festival. However, I'll be in this area for a couple days before heading to Galway for the Oyster festival.

This will be my first trip to Ireland. I'm quite excited. If you have any other suggestions, I'm all ears.

I plan on spending two days in Dingle, 2 in Lisdoonverna, and, as mentioned, two in Galway for the festival.

Do you feel like Lisdoonverna is a good place to land for a couple days, or should I consider something else in the surrounding area?