Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   1st time Germany trip (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/1st-time-germany-trip-876653/)

Godod Feb 5th, 2011 09:38 AM

1st time Germany trip

Its my first time to Germany and first time to Europe....Germany to start because i have a good friend there which will be traveling with me from the start. She lives in Siegen and we plan to go to Amsterdam then Spain.... Of course I am doing research but was wondering if anyone would have any tips.... Ill will be arriving in Frankfurt spending a day or two then to siegen by car.. some days there then Amsterdam.....any advice on how to get there by train....and from there possibly back to Siegen or straight to Spain.... not sure exactly where to start in Spain yet.... 3 week trip and its in august.... manly going to stay in hostels and anything that would be not to pricey... if anyone has anything to add please do....just looking for opinions on any aspect of this trip

Thank You

danon Feb 5th, 2011 10:15 AM

Spain is a big country and VERY hot in August .
A bit hard to give any suggestions without some idea about your interests.
One can spend a lot of time in Germany and Holland.

janisj Feb 5th, 2011 10:18 AM

May I ask why Spain? You will be in a lovely part of Europe and can explore more of Germany, or the Netherlands or tack on a bit of Belgium or maybe Paris. Most parts of Spain will be very VERY hot in August.

But to get to Spain -- you'll want to fly for sure.

janisj Feb 5th, 2011 10:19 AM

was posting the same time as danon . . .

kfusto Feb 5th, 2011 10:55 AM

I would much rather be in Germany in August than in Spain personally. My one visit to Spain in late July was miserably hot and crowded and I would not subject myself to that again.