Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   Europe (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/)
-   -   1 week in a peaceful town close to Paris (https://www.fodors.com/community/europe/1-week-in-a-peaceful-town-close-to-paris-482365/)

sunnygardens Oct 25th, 2004 09:48 AM

1 week in a peaceful town close to Paris

Because of low season airfares I booked a flight to Paris. I have only 7 days. I've been to Paris before.

I'm a writer and what I'm really looking for (now that I have given it some thoughts after impulsively booking the flight!)is somewhere different, somewhere French and quiet and charming to just relax and write while also seeing a few interesting things.

Yes, I've done some research. Yes, my budget is low.

However, I thought I'd bring this to the travel talk forum for suggestions of a place which has some interesting sights and things to do but is peaceful.

artlover Oct 25th, 2004 11:00 AM

How about Giverny? If you're a Monet fan, you can visit his house and gardens and there's a museum of other Impressionists nearby and walking around that area is lovely. Not sure about inexpensive, though.

richardab Oct 25th, 2004 11:07 AM

I think the vineyards of the Alsace region are perfect, sip a glass of wine and reflect!

minimn Oct 25th, 2004 11:23 AM

If you look at vrbo.com and check out reference number 14930, there is an inexpensive place to rent ($400 for the week)in the village of Carrieres, near Paris. It looks quiet and peaceful but you still have the opportunity to take the train into Paris if you desire. I've considered this before for an inexpensive location and something different but always ended up staying in Paris. Good luck with your search!
Peg

cigalechanta Oct 25th, 2004 12:48 PM