1 week in a peaceful town close to Paris

Old Oct 25th, 2004, 09:48 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1 week in a peaceful town close to Paris

Because of low season airfares I booked a flight to Paris. I have only 7 days. I've been to Paris before.

I'm a writer and what I'm really looking for (now that I have given it some thoughts after impulsively booking the flight!)is somewhere different, somewhere French and quiet and charming to just relax and write while also seeing a few interesting things.

Yes, I've done some research. Yes, my budget is low.

However, I thought I'd bring this to the travel talk forum for suggestions of a place which has some interesting sights and things to do but is peaceful.
Old Oct 25th, 2004, 11:00 AM

How about Giverny? If you're a Monet fan, you can visit his house and gardens and there's a museum of other Impressionists nearby and walking around that area is lovely. Not sure about inexpensive, though.
Old Oct 25th, 2004, 11:07 AM

I think the vineyards of the Alsace region are perfect, sip a glass of wine and reflect!
Old Oct 25th, 2004, 11:23 AM

If you look at vrbo.com and check out reference number 14930, there is an inexpensive place to rent ($400 for the week)in the village of Carrieres, near Paris. It looks quiet and peaceful but you still have the opportunity to take the train into Paris if you desire. I've considered this before for an inexpensive location and something different but always ended up staying in Paris. Good luck with your search!
Peg
Old Oct 25th, 2004, 12:48 PM

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
In Giverny, you have Monet's House anf Garden, The Anciente Hotel Baudy museum and restaurant where the American painters lived and the American Museum. I don't know the rates this year, but the wonderful Hotel Jardin de Giverny is only steps away from all this with excellant food.
Old Oct 25th, 2004, 05:51 PM