Fodor's Expert Review The Old Bakery and Emporium
In 1876, Swedish baker Charles Lundberg built this charming building near the capitol and operated it as a bakery for the next 60 years. Rescued from demolition and affectionately renovated by the Austin Heritage Society, the bakery is now a registered historic landmark owned by the city and run by the Parks and Recreation Department. The Old Bakery sells sandwiches and coffee these days, but its real appeal is as an outlet for handmade crafts made by citizens aged 50 and over. It makes for a nice stop before or after touring the Capitol.