Fodor's Expert Review Aiken-Rhett House Museum

North of Broad Historic Home Fodor's Choice

A prime example of the wealth derived from chattel slavery, the Aiken-Rhett House is considered one of the best preserved town-house complexes in the country. Built in 1820 and virtually unaltered since 1858, it boasts original wallpaper, paint, and some furnishings. Two of the former owners, Governor Aiken and his wife Harriet, bought many of the chandeliers, sculptures, and paintings in Europe. The carriage house remains out back, along with a building that contained the kitchen, laundry, and housing for enslaved laborers, making this the most intact property to showcase urban life in pre–Civil War Charleston. Be sure to take the audio tour, as it vividly describes the surroundings, giving historical and family details throughout.

Historic Home Museum/Gallery Historic District/Site Historical Fodor's Choice

Quick Facts

48 Elizabeth St.
Charleston, South Carolina  29401, USA


Sight Details:
Rate Includes: $12, with admission to Nathaniel Russell House Museum $18

What’s Nearby