Except for citizens of Canada and Bermuda, most visitors to the United States must have a visa. If you are from one of the 39 designated members of the Visa Waiver Program, then you only require an ESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization) as long as you are staying for 90 days or less. However, nationals of Visa Waiver nations who have traveled to Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, or Yemen no longer qualify for ESTA. Also, if you have been denied a visa to visit the United States, your application for the ESTA program most likely will be denied.

Trending Stories


Find a Hotel


Fodor's Essential Southwest: The Best of Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Nevada, and Utah

View Details