Know your loonie from your toonie in Canada

The units of currency in Canada are the Canadian dollar (C$) and the cent, in almost the same denominations as U.S. currency ($5, $10, $20, 1¢, 5¢, 10¢, 25¢, etc.). The $1 and $2 bills have been replaced by $1 and $2 coins, known as "loonies"—because of the loon that appears on the coin—and "toonies," respectively. See our Canada Travel Guide.