State Dept Warning India

Search

State Dept Warning India

Search this Thread

Old Dec 5th, 2008, 07:43 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
State Dept Warning India

Well, we are still traveling to Northern India Dec 13 and hope our guide has a large rifle and sniffer dog with him. The State Dept. just issued a 2 day warning for Delhi airport, which we are flying into. I registered with the State Dept which I have never done before.

Having lived in South Africa, taking my life in my hands each time I left my armed house, I am somewhat used to danger. And I have been really looking forward to this trip. My agent keeps telling me all will be well and keeps sending pictures of happy Indians in Delhi.

.Any further thoughts or advice. Am I crazy??

Kim
Old Dec 5th, 2008, 07:57 AM

Kim: You are brave to travel to India at the present time. You are not alone. I am also headed to Delhi this weekend. Praying and hoping everything will be peaceful during my travel and my stay. It is nervewreacking just to read and hear the news, but life has to go on.
Have consulted folks I know in India and they are all encouraging me to come. I do have a very personal important matter to work on and thus must travel right now, since it cannot be postponed.
Thus, trying to be braver than usual.
Hoping some international travelers who may be at the Indian airports presently may write some encouraging words to us.
in the meantime, have a safe journey.
Old Dec 5th, 2008, 08:28 AM
Original Poster

But for me, this is supposed to be a joyous vacation, the trip of a lifetime, so to speak. If this were business, I think I could justify it. But I hate to lose all the money I have put into this, but yet don't want to lose something more important, i. e. my life or my daughter's life.