Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Dad thinks Mom & daughter will kill themselves driving in Scotland. Is he right?

Search

Dad thinks Mom & daughter will kill themselves driving in Scotland. Is he right?

Search this Thread

Old Mar 15th, 2007, 05:32 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My mother and I are headed to Scotland together at the end of July. (Probably a bit of a stupid time of year, but it's the only time I can go.) Our in-country transportation is a sticking point, as I used to work as a bus tour guide and I'm NOT interested in sitting on a coach on my vacation. I'll feel like I'm working, and I just like more privacy and flexibility.

However, apparently there's a little discord at home over the issue of whether Mom and I will kill ourselves driving on the 'wrong' side of winding Highland roads.

So, to those of you who know Scotland, what advice? I'm a confident enough driver and my Mom's a road warrior, at least on this side of the pond. Are there tips and tricks? Places we should be sure to stay away from? Or should we cave in and go with the herd? What about alternatives (trains, or even doing some cycling)?

Thanks for any help in quelling family strife!

- Quicksilver -
Old Mar 15th, 2007, 05:44 PM

Well it's your life

We did it 7 years ago - two weeks in Scotland, including Edinburgh, St. Andrews, Aberdeen, Inverness and all points in between.