Trip Report: France car rental & driving

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 9th, 2006, 06:00 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Just came back from a trip to Belgium and France. In France I rented a car and traveled with 2 companions from Paris to Normandy and the Loire Valley. This is the report of the experience.

<b>Background</b>

I have extensive driving experience in the US in both cars and 18-wheelers. I have driven in the UK twice, and in Quebec many times. But first time in continental Europe. I hardly know any French.

<b>Rental</b>

I booked through Autoeurope, after a good experience last year for a UK rental. Rate was about US$180 for 4 days, from Europcar, for a SDMR, standard-sized manual with A/C. Websites of AutoEurope and Europcar suggest it would be a Renault Laguna Diesel or similar. Rate didn't include CDG fees (24.1&euro, and road tax (1.84&euro;/day, I think), which I paid to Europcar directly.

My rental was for CDG pickup and Place d'Italie drop-off. I initially ordered CDG/CDG, but a quick phone call to AutoEurope was all it took to change it.

<b>Pick-up</b>

I actually took the Thalys to CDG, but my travel companions arrived at CDG1, so that's where we picked up the car. Only one agent working at Europcar's counter there on a Sunday morning. Then an elevator ride up to the parking garage. [There was a line for the elevators. CDG1 is a dump, but that's off-topic.]

Found the car, saw some small scratches, so went back down to the rental desk to add them to the agreement.

<b>The car</b>

I ended up getting a Renault Laguna station wagon with a 2.0 gasoline engine. Diesel would have saved me some fuel cost, but they didn't have one. Car was easy to drive with adequate power, and lots of room for 3 people and luggage. Roads around Normandy and Loire are wide, so the large size of the car didn't post any problem, unlike some parts of UK.