Back To Line

Carnival Cruise Lines: Carnival Breeze

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • New

Feb 23, 2016

caribbean

we booked a cruise several months early for a large group, including parents and several rooms for teens. carnival not knowing room numbers of their own cruise booked several rooms on the floor under the main bottom floor instead of the top floor. bottom floor has 4 numbers top floors have 5. they booked half of us on bottom and when we got on boat it was sold out so they could not move us. because some parents did not want their kids on different

floors so far apart several members had to have more in their rooms and share beds and we had to pay more since less shared the bottom floor rooms. we wrote carnival and called and they continue to send the same response REITERATING their error. saying our rooms with 4 digits were on the top floor when they are NOT. they still do not know their own cruise. we payed more by booking early and wanted to ensure we were all on the same floor and carnival completely refuses to take responsibility for their actions at all. we did not ask for a full refund just some compensation for the expense we incurred due to their error completely and they just simply say (no not our problem) horrible ...don't bother booking early and asking for guaranteed rooms, they both don't honor it and will not be accountable for their mistake Food was fine. Cabin was not what we booked ok shows. don't use carnival if you want to work with a cruise line that takes accountability for their mistakes, this was not our experience despite multiple attempts to find a reasonable solution

Read More
  • New

Jul 4, 2015

Western Carribbean

Do not take this cruise. There is such a low level of customer service on the Breeze, I was often in shock. The problem is, I have cruised on the RCCL's Oasis of the Seas 4 times. Compared to that crew and that ship, the Breeze is simply a sad excuse for a cruise experience. Here are just a few of the issues of the Breeze. 1. There are only two pools. Both are small. Both are packed tight like sardines. You dont swim, you stand in place.

2. They will never answer phones at guest relations. 10 minutes of ringing, they just dont pick up. 3. The quality and the selection of the food at the buffet was horrible. 4. Yes, there is free pizza and yes, there is always a line 10 people deep waiting for it. 5. There is never any staff around to ask questions, and if you find one they often answer "I don't know" and just walk away. On the Oasis, they do know---or stay with you until you find out. 6. They use one gangway to get you back on, so there is always a long wait. 7. Too few elevators, you have to wait a long time. 8. If you take something from the minibar, you are charged for the item---and 15% on top of the items cost for gratuity. 9. The $99 "3 times as fast" premium internet service was so slow it was almost unusable. There are no open spacious areas on the Breeze. Just dark cramped corridors. 10. The house white wine was undrinkable. I could go on for another 20 minutes, You almost cant call the Oasis of the Seas and the Breeze both "cruises" because the experience of cruising on the Oasis is superior in every possible way. Sadly, people take a Carnival cruise and think they have "cruised" They have not. I will return to the Oasis this year and never look back. Yes. you will save $500 to maybe $750 on Carnival and boy do you get what you pay for. Buffet was poor in my opinion. The premium steak house was good. The premium captains table OK. Good cabin. Activities and shows were weak compared to RCCL. Much less variety. Carnival is inferior in every way to Royal Caribbean.

Read More

By niki_CR

  • New

Jun 29, 2015

Caribean

Carnival Cruise Vacation 6/20-28/2015. If you have time please read the entire review it will be and eye opener. My husband and I were skeptical when friends told us to come along on a Carnival cruise with them. We have heard many negative reviews about this company but we decided to go thinking it would be fun for our daughter. Our group total: 46. Fun onboard (water slides, sports area, karaoke, bingo): very good. Food: Average

(decent on the buffet, good hamburgers, burritos, Indian and sushi, but mostly bad on the restaurant at night). Staff was friendly and I do hope that the gratuity they charge to each person ($92.00) is truly given to them, this is extra. The app (carnival Hub) worked most of the time and was helpful. I do recommend having it before sailing away since is difficult to download later (especially for iPhone). For $5.00 per person for the length of the cruise, it gives you the activities schedule, your daily balance, and more. You can chat with your family without having to spend money on Internet connection. Excursions: we decided to do them ourselves and the difference in price is substantial. In St. Kitts, a tour to an old sugar factory was about $60.00 per person, we paid to a local $15.00 per person, children under 5 free, and under 12 half price. He took us to the factory, to a garden, to a beach we did not like, and to another beach that was decent and back to the port. Very important that you pay at the end, and if you plan to eat lunch, it takes very long time; in our case, 50 min. for two tuna sandwiches. Our room was big (deluxe ocean view) it had two bathrooms (love it). Overall we were actually surprised that this cruise was better than we thought it would be. On the other hand shopping experience was awful, DO NOT BUY JEWELS or Watches if you do not know all the details. Their return policy is restricted to none or only to exchange for something else with the same or higher value. The prices are inflated so you think you are getting a better deal. The islands have Internet connection so check online first for the true value in the USA. We had an awful experience and $4200.00 less in the bank account. DO NOT TRUST, I repeat DO NOT TRUST in anyone (especially the Carnival Cruise shop director or whatever his title is) charming, categorize himself as experienced and having your interest first, but at the end we felt that all he did was sugarcoating, never gave us true answers nor what to do. he did not disclosed crucial information in his workshops, such as return policy, materials use, or quality if the jewels; just check first, ask tons of questions and make sure you know everything there is to know about what you are buying. Make sure you get a certificate of authenticity form a reputable geologist, do not accept a written one. they sell sterling silver with white gold prices. I spend 5 days trying to correct the mistake. hope this helps. The price is higher and they kind of make you afraid of going with locals since there is no guarantee they will bring you back on time. price difference is substantial, we dis 3 and never had a problem being on time. just pay at the end. Except for the shopping experience, it was better than expected. I was tricked into spending several thousands dollars, the onboard shopping experts pretended to be helpful and have your best interest in mind, but it end up being the opposite. we spent 5 days out of the 7 dealing with a bad purchase. DO NOT TRUST, do not buy if you don't know what you are buying, ask tons of questions, especially the return policy.

Read More
  • New

Jul 25, 2014

Grand Cayman

We did not care for some of the music or activities, feeling that they were not suitable for young children. Movies played in the main family area (swimming pool, water park, ropes course, food bar areas) overflowed with what we felt was inappropriate language and content. Crowd "games" operated by the entertainment staff encouraged women and men to act like fools in front of hundreds kids. From approximately 12PM to 5PM every day, the family area

was turned into a nightclub type area with music so loud you could not hold a conversation without yelling into the ear of the other person. Several nights included parties going past midnight with the music so loud that my child was unable to sleep due to the noise level in our room. This would be a great cruise for a college spring break crowd and adults who like to party. The self-serve ice cream machines rock!!! Below average quality food in my opinion. Similar to Country Buffet or college food service. The first night, we dressed up and went to our assigned dining area and were underwhelmed with the quality of food. It wasn't horrible but it was disappointing based on our expectations. After eating at our assigned dining area, we walked through the general food service area (Lido deck) and noticed that the same food we were just served in our dining area was being served buffet style to those in swimsuits, shorts and flip flops. We were charged $10 daily additional for gratuity to eat in the assigned dining area plus an additional daily gratuity to eat in the Lido deck. I informed guest services we would no longer be eating in the dining area and they pro-rated a refund for the remaining mandatory gratuity for the dining room. Some of the stand-alone food “bars” were good. The burgers served at the Guy Fieri bar rocked. The burrito/taco bar was also good but it was open only briefly daily (12PM to 2:30PM?). The Pizza station was above average. Awesome! It is worth paying extra for a balcony. We interacted with several families who had interior rooms and they were disappointed in the size and lack of view. I'm glad I paid the extra money and recommend never going on a cruise unless you get a balcony room. My daughter and I spent hours sitting on the balcony talking, reading or just enjoying the view together. Our room steward rocked!!! Our room was spotless and he went out of his way to make my daughter feel special. It would be nice to not have to run interference for my precious daughter on this cruise because of what I felt was bad language and activities. The water park was awesome, if you could overlook the constant sexual messages promoted by the staff and which was forced on them due to the excessive speaker system. The ropes course was great. The family "Dive In" movie area was phenomenal when they played suitable movies. One night, they played the sing-along version of Frozen. It was impossible not to laugh and smile when hundreds of children belted out the theme song, "Let It Go” You must swim with turtles in Grand Cayman. The turtle sanctuary was great and my daughter will never forget this activity. She got to hold sea turtles and swim with them. I highly recommend the dolphin swim in Cozumel. I was disappointed in the waiting time and some of the logistics but you can never forget swimming with dolphins.

Read More
  • New

Apr 18, 2014

Southern Caribbean

The carnival Breeze is great for families. The water park alone is what decided our ship to choose. A very large ship, deck space is limited and crowded mainly because of all the activities that are provided. As in other ships the deck space for sun loungers are taken up by the Water Works play area, Ropes Course and Basketball Court. There are sun chairs on the side of the ship on deck 5 and on deck 11 and 12. but when needing to cool off in a pool

it will be a short hike. The elevators are very small. Other ships I noticed the elevators were very large. With 4000 passengers on board I never had an elevator ride where it was empty. Always packed with people pushing there way in. When in port I suggest to take the stairs down to deck 0. Food in the main dining rooms were sub par. Service was fantastic, but the food didn't match the service. On the Lido deck there are many outlets that the food is fantastic. Only complaint really was arriving in Curacao at 2pm. not much time to find a beach. All shops closed at 7pm. Were in port until 11pm. Waste of time. Aruba the best island from 9am until 3:30pm. Now too short for an island with so much to do. We ate at the Sapphire dining room with the anytime seating option which is great when you have young children. you are not rushed to get to dinner on time with set seating at 6pm or 8pm. Food at the Sapphire or Blush dining rooms were terrible. The Prime Rib looked and tasted like it came out of a deli case. Lobster was tiny and dry. I ate mostly ordering from the salads and shrimp cocktails and so on. Service was fantastic though. We found a great waiter named Roberto who does Oragami which my son loves. We requested him every night. If you choose the anytime option, you can request a waiter you like, but might have to wait extra. On the lido deck there are many places to select that are great. Guy's Burger Joint, Tandoor Indian, Blue Iguana taco and burrito bar, Omelette station, Panini & deli, Pizza Pirate open 24 hrs, and a buffet that serves breakfast and lunch and dinner. On sea days only, fat Jimmy's C side BBQ is on deck 5. Opens at 12pm - 2pm. Get in line fast, you could wait an hour, but worth it!! We had stateroom 6214 Balcony. Sleeps 4 easily. Up front you felt the big waves hit the bow with a shudder, but you get used to it. Plenty of space for the four of us to store our clothes. 3 large closets and a 4 drawer vanity made for plenty of space. Our stateroom attendant Frank from St. Vincent was the best I have had in the 19 cruises I have been on. He knew our names by the evening of our first night. As always I choose a balcony mainly because my kids fall asleep by 9pm. So my wife and I sit out on the balcony to enjoy the evening air and sea. One complaint is that there should be more channels on the TV. My kids love Nick at night and morning shows like Spongebob and so on. We mainly went to to Water Works. This is the highlight of the ship. 2 main water slides, one that is 300 ft long, and one that speeds you into a large circular tank like a toilet bowl. Splash park for the kids with small slides for tiny tots and a big bucket that dumps a couple hundred gallons of water on you every 5 min. My kids also liked the mini golf course that takes up 2 decks, along with Pool Tables and ping pong. For peace and quiet, go to the Tides pool at the aft of the ship. Very nice atmosphere. The Beach Pool at the center of the ship is always loud with DJ, not a Steele drum band to be found!! Too much Hip Hop and Country music!!! We are at sea with a warm tropical feel. I can hear that stuff back home in my car. I guess some people like that stuff, but I prefer to relax. We never purchase excursions on board. I do my homework on all the ports to find what there is to do. Many times the ship will have a tour to the same place I went, but I paid 1/2 the amount. They will scare you into purchasing only from the ship saying you can miss the ship leaving if you go on your own. Yes a group is protected if a delay occurs, but many taxis do this every day with ships in port. They know you need to be back in time. Just agree to a pick up time and only pay him in full for round trip is completed. Never had a problem in the last 19 cruises I have been on. We love the southern Itinerary. Aruba Grand Turk, La Romona Dominican Republic, and Curacao. With 3 sea days you can enjoy the ship. While i complained about a few areas, I still enjoyed the cruise completely. The ships is made for everyone to enjoy, but when 4000 passengers are forced to occupy the out doors of the ship, it's a little tight!!!!

Read More
  • New

Jul 31, 2013

Caribbean

We had a great experience aboard the Breeze. We loved our 4 island stops in the exotic eastern Caribbean but found that having three of them back to back was exhausting. The staff was beyond amazing, as is always the case on Carnival. The ship's design was very aesthetically pleasing and a nice twist on the somewhat redundant carnival décor of most of their other ships. Floorplan was still largely the same though, except for a new Lanai deck on

5 that went around the entire ship, had restaurants, hot tubs and dining and was a hoppin' place to be. Very good food. Lido had Indian food bar, pizza, ice cream, salad bar, country/soul food section, burrito bar (like Chipotle), burger bar, American food and probably some others I'm missing. Dining room food was great, with unbeatable service to match. Vegetarian options (I've been a veg for about 15 years) were weird, (but good to me), but plentiful. My red meat eating hubby was equally satisfied. I liked that the 24 hr ice cream had vanilla, chocolate and strawberry in frozen yogurt OR ice cream for either. Cool to have options. Clean, small cabin (it was an interior) and just like every other interior stateroom we've ever stayed in. Bedding was comfy. Shower curtain was cute. Commendable amount of storage. Our stateroom (1st floor - we booked plate) was really noisy during the hour leading up to arrival in port each day. It sounded like a freight train was coming through the floor. Eek. There were a ton of onboard activities - several each hour on sea days. I was really impressed with the huge variety. A typical day could include trivia, comedy shows, hairy chest contest, pool games, bridge, bingo, casino tournaments, dance lessons and shopping give aways. The activities were truly endless. I did find the cruise director, and especially the assistant cruise director, kind of annoying. Never felt that way on any other cruises, but hubby agreed. Carnival excursions are reliable but usually cheaper than what you can get for the same price if you book on the dock. It's a risk, but it has always saved hubby and I at least 50%. Best example was this cruise in Antigua. To ride horses thru Carnival was $185 pp. We got off the boat, asked a cab driver if he knew of any stables, he took us to Uprising Stables on the back of the island and we rode for the same amount of time for $50 pp and our tour was just hubby and I and a rasta tour guide on a private beach. At the end the carnival excursion passed us - it was about 30 people riding together. I would have paid more for our solo experience, not less. Had a really great time. Love Carnival always, but the Breeze is definitely our new favorite trip. It was a really memorable, fun trip. We also feel like the rate we got was really good. We did 8 days and ours was considerably less expensive than 6 and 7 day trips going to less exotic locations during the same week

Read More
  • New

Apr 22, 2013

Eastern Caribbean

Overall, good - Cabin - AWFUL Food is plentiful, though not quality. If cruisers are going to eat, they'll be disappointed. AWFUL - Avoid the Cove balconies below the Galley. We booked a balcony guarantee, expecting to get a Cove room, so weren't upset when we did. However, the upsetting part was the noise. The cabins are directly under the galley, which operates 24/7. We could constantly hear the banging/clanging of pots, pans, silver,

everything being washed and thrown around. I contacted Guest Services immediately and was told they'd had complaints about this in our cabin before, but the ship was full and we couldn't be moved; if someone left at port, we could be moved. Nobody left. Our Room Steward advised calling Guest Services each time it happened. I called Guest Services each night, each night they advised they'd contact the F&B manager and the noise would subside for about an hour. For what was supposed to be a relaxing vacation, most of it was interrupted by the noise above us. Cove balconies themselves are nice, same as a "normal" balcony room, just horrifically noisy. If you're booking a Cove, consult the deck plan when choosing a cabin Quite diminished on the Breeze. We sailed on the Destiny in January and had many more entertainment options. Not sure if they struggle to book enough entertainment on an 8-day itinerary, but it was disappointing. The highlight of the entertainment was the comedy shows, which you needed to show up about 45 minutes before hand to make sure you get a seat and aren't locked out before the show starts.

Read More
  • New

Apr 10, 2013

Caribbean

This was the most disappointing vacation I have been on ever. The itinerary was changed the day before we left and left us with nothing to do at a port that was rainy and colder than the promised itinerary. Lines for food were very long and food was below average. Dining room smelled musty and dirty. Will never sail with Carnival. Food was average and lines long for cafeteria style food. Paid extra for average stateroom and amenities

promised were not delivered Onboard activities were average as were the shows. Very crowded and sometimes no place to sit. Excursion was cancelled to to change in port itinerary with no compensation. Will never cruise with Carnival and will advise others to avoid Carnival Cruise Lines

Read More
  • New

Apr 10, 2013

southern caribbean

it was OK....swimming pools(2) were tiny, rooms were a good size, food was mediocre, however Guy Fieri's Burger's were the best part of the cruise...i wasn't fond of Butch the cruise director, however the young man-Josh that ran the trivia games and bean bag toss daily in Ocean Plaza was the best.... I felt the food was mediocre at best. The cabin was nice and roomy. ok shows and entertainment but nothing spectacular. THE BEST

excursion was the Dolphin Swim in Tortola...I would pay again to do it... Overall just an OK cruise.

Read More
  • New

Mar 24, 2013

Grand Turks Ocho Rios Nassau

We couldn't have been more pleased with the total package. The staff was excellent, as were the accommodations, food, entertainment, facilities. Everything was clean and the rooms were very attractive and well organized. Our second day out to sea (it was a 6 day cruise) my husband fell and broke his hip while getting up from a lounge chair on deck It was an accident; nobody was to blame. Almost immediately, the staff came with a stretcher

and promptly took him to the medical center. There were 2 doctors & 6 nurses on the staff. He was so well taken care of by all of them. He was x-rayed and it confirmed the break. They kept him overnight in the med center and administered excellent help. We were to dock in Jamaica the next a.m. We preferred to be taken back to Indiana where a familiar hospital was. Carnival arranged for all of that to happen. We were ambulanced in Jamaica to Montego Bay where a ambuair jet was waiting to take us home. Throughout all of the days following until the cruise was over, they would call for an update on him to relay the message to our son and family who were still on board. It was a scary time to think he needed surgery and was that far from home, but it was handled so well; we can't thank the staff enough for their thoughtfulness and kindness. The recent press has been very difficult for Carnival but we would wholeheartedly recommend them for a delightful cruise. We had a very good experience with them, even with the unfortunate accident. It was diversified, presented well, very tasty, and was always fresh. It was very pleasant, relaxing, and well organized. The colors were tranquil and harmonized, the fabrics were nice and the facilities were all that we needed. accommodations were very good; we had an inside cabin and I did not feel isolated or closed in at all There was something for everyone. A big variety Because of the fall, we didn't get to participate in the excursions Our trip was a gift from our son, his wife, and family. We were all very excited about it, and enjoyed it until the accidental fall that broke my husband's hip. We know we would have enjoyed the whole 6 days had we been able to continue. We had been looking forward to it But because of Carnival we were well taken care of. The unknown is always a possibility. We would advise everyone to take out travel insurance to help ease the stress.

Read More
  • New

Feb 1, 2013

Southern Caribbean

Went with my husband and 11 year old son. 8-day cruise in a spa balcony room, room 11235. Overall - at half the cost of a Disney Cruise, we were prepared for half the level of service, cleanliness and even the fellow cruisers. Well, we were surprise for the better! This cruise was every bit as good as Disney and at this level of cost, we can go more often. The Breeze is a beautiful ship and we hope to be back soon. Food - the Blue Iguana's

breakfast burritos are SO GOOD. We ate there every morning except one, and regretted not being there that day. Guy's burgers are delicious. Nobody seemed happy with the small number of fries given, but really, do you need more than a handful? I'd argue no, but plenty of people just asked for more, and you'd be given more. The toppings bar for the burgers have everything you'd ever imagine...well, no dill pickles maybe, but close! Dining room - we only ate in Blush 3 times. It was fine. Nothing amazing, but certainly nicer than average. Fahrenheit 55 restaurant - REALLY worth the extra cost. $35 per person for what would have easily cost us $75 per person in our hometown (in the Midwest). Very, very good. Pizza - like pizza we have had in Rome, so if you like American pizza, maybe you wouldn't like it, but we LOVED it. Tandoor - the Indian food was very tasty and spicy. Authentic. C-Side BBQ - good food. Lido buffet area - we ate there one night. That was enough to let us know that we were better off going elsewhere. However, our son ate soft-serve ice cream several times a day there! Room - we were in a spa balcony room, 11235, and it was wonderful. Bed was extremely comfortable as was the couch which was made into a twin for our son. Bathroom sufficient and our room steward kept everything immaculate. Impressed with so much storage in the stateroom! Never heard any noise from other rooms nor in the hallway. Balcony was sufficient, but a bit small. Spa - we didn't do gym or spa services but we went to Cloud 9 spa every day. The four heated rooms often were completely empty. We spent time in the relaxation room as we left Port of Miami, and another morning and two other nights and only once were we NOT alone. The therapy pool at Cloud 9 was relaxing, too. At most 3 other people were ever in there when I was in there. Thrill Theater - our son got a pass and went three times. He thought it was fun but he didn't act like he just had to go to every show. Ovation Theater shows - we saw Divas and Latin Nights. Great singing and tech lighting, etc. Camp Carnival - our son is 11 and had a GREAT time. The 9-11 year old group had activities that were just perfect for their age. Scavenger hunts daily and video games and other activities. He spent a LOT of time there and said he liked it a lot better than the Disney cruise. I'm guessing that's because there just weren't as many kids as the Disney Cruise, which was just so crowded. The kids' talent show offered kids the chance to rehearse daily, with a show for families on the last day. Really neat. Ocean Plaza - we played a lot of trivia and it was fun. Service for drinks there could have been better. We had a great time with Amy (6-3) teaching us the Thriller Dance. Karaoke at night was fun, too. Cruise Director - Butch was amusing. Amy (6-3) was kind and always professional. Grand Turk: There were no excursions with good reviews, so we took advice of others online. We got off the ship and turned right. Rocky beach but nobody was there. Very quiet. Son and husband walked to the point and got three big conch shells. Later they went swimming on the other side, to the left as you walk off the ship, but not for that long. We loved the Carnival Breeze and wanted to be back on board. We don't find shopping a fun thing to do on vacation. Basically this seems like a stop that used to be an empty plot of land that was all just developed for people visiting on cruises. La Romana, D.R.: We took the Carnival excursion, Speedboat to Saona Island. It's a lengthy trip and WILD - you go really fast and it's like a roller coaster, but wow, what a fun experience. We got to the island and were told to be back on our boat at 12:30. At 11:50, the leader of our boat came and yelled that we were late and to run to the boat. We did, thinking our watch stopped, but no, it was 11:50. Someone else was also yelled at, and they asked why not 12:30, and the boat driver said, "We work on OUR time." Now, this is not about time change. He just decided everyone should leave early. Odd. At that Saona Island spot, the water was beautiful. Yes, there were rocks but we'd been told to wear water shoes, and we did, so it was very nice to be in the water. People around us were complaining nonstop which was really a drag, because come on, it's vacation. Lighten up! Rum was unmarked and served with Coke. And there was beer. We did not drink, and brought our own water from the ship. We left Saona Island and then everything was wonderful. We stopped at someplace they called the Natural Swimming Pool. It is by far the most beautiful place on earth that we have ever been. We were given an hour there. We jumped off the boat and it was about a meter high water, sandy bottom and clear beautiful blue water and a long line of palm trees along the coast. You could go to the sand, but most of us just enjoyed the water. Big sea stars that we could see and some people picked them up. Then, we had more speedboat back. Really fun and a thrill. One note: this excursion could not be closer to the Breeze. Literally right NEXT to the ship. Curacao: We booked a tour with Irie Tours through email. You do not pay until the end of the tour, and pay in cash. $20 per adult; $10 for child. A few hours and unlimited beer, soda and water. The staff are exceptional. Very friendly and they knew every answer to our questions. We saw old neighborhoods and neighborhoods with new construction, and everything in between. The stop at the Curacao liquor place was worth about 5 minutes of your time. Just a way for them to get some people to buy stuff. We were taken to the Aquarium beach and were there for an hour. Sandy beach and chairs and cabanas (no charge, or at least we were not charged). Great place for swimming. Also a platform you can climb onto and jump from. It was almost sunset and a lovely opportunity to be in the ocean. On the drive back, the sun was setting, and our driver pulled over so we could take photos and watch the sunset. Very nice, and he sure did not HAVE to do that. I highly recommend this tour. Aruba: Ayo Rock Formations: Our son loved this. Climbing and scenery. I'd rather be at the beach. California Lighthouse: This is a lighthouse. You could drive by it and yep, seen it. But, instead, this was a 15-minute stop. Surely just to get you to spend money at the food stand and bathroom. Jeep tour: Husband and son did the Carnival Excursion of a jeep tour. They stopped at rock formations, ostrich farm and lighthouse, and more. They liked but did not love the trip. Ostrich Farm: Son and husband did this. They said it was kind of disgusting to feed them, so didn't do it. Best of Aruba plus Beach Break. Everyone was off the ship and on the motor coach about 45 minutes early, so we left early. We got 45 minutes extra because we still got back as scheduled! We went to rock formations, and the natural bridge. Neat to see the neighborhoods. Very informational and friendly guide/driver. We saw the lighthouse - it's a lighthouse. The key part of the excursion was the beach. Two hours at a beach that offered something for everyone. I spent $3 on a beach chair for my stuff and then spent 90 minutes in the water. Sandy and beautiful. There was a restaurant and bar and all kinds of water sports if you were interested, from para sailing to big inflatable things that a powerboat would drag you on. I thought the tour included the aloe plant farm, but we didn't go there, but really, if I were doing it again, it would be full time at the beach. We flew into Ft. Lauderdale and took SAS to Port of Miami Holiday Inn. SAS was very quick and professional and good driver. Spent night at Holiday Inn then took cab at 1 pm to port. Went through and boarded ship - never even stopped for a minute -- embarking went extremely smoothly and staff were friendly. Bar - We used the Cheers program. At the end, the ship invoice showed we (2 adults) drank 139 alcohol drinks over 8 days, so I think it paid for itself. I wanted to know exactly how much I was spending, and it did make it fun to try drinks we otherwise would never try. The bartenders were very nice, but I was surprised they were not more friendly. Nobody was rude, but by day 5, I kind of expected more eye contact, that if we address them and ask about them, that then the next time they not act like we were strangers. Likewise, while Cheers includes a tip, we always added $1-2 per drink, at least the first drink per server per visit, but it did not seem that the additional tip added any extra friendliness...maybe they all share the tips. Anyway, the pours were VERY generous, and we were satisfied. Serenity Deck - in the morning, you could usually get deck chairs, but it was not easy. Hot tubs full during sun hours. Always space at the Serenity bar to sit. But once it was maybe 3:30 pm or anytime later, there was plenty of room on Serenity deck. It did close a couple times due to wind and once for a staff party (late at night), but overall, it was a relaxing place to sit and read and drink. Waterworks - our son loved it. Ropes course - not open enough per day and closed with wind. Our son did it once but didn't seem to love it.

Read More
  • New

Jan 12, 2013

Carnival Breeze

On a whole the cruise was wonderful as always. Ship was beautiful; food was delicious and presentable; room was roomy and wonderful color scheme. It is every persons DREAM! Food was exceptional in all ways. Our breakfasts were always on the Lido Deck. Omelets were eaten by my better half while I pretty much stuck to oatmeal but always added a few other items. Lunch was eaten pretty often on the Lido Deck also but also enjoyed the special

salad bar they offer. We ate dinner in the formal diningroom every evening. The presentation was superb and everything had a good taste. It was handled very quickly but yet enough time between appetizers. The selection was vast. If you didn't find what you liked, you have other choices on the menu to chose from. If you left hungry, that was your own dealings. Our room was very bright and colorful, roomy, bed was very comfortable. Room had 2 bathrooms, one without a toilet but a tub and the other a shower. We only used the shower room. To me, that was a waste of room. It may be more beneficial for a family but there were only 2 of us. The room was kept clean at all times. Cabin steward was excellent in all that he had done. The activities were plentiful. We enjoyed playing miniature golf. The casino is always inviting but we didn't think it was as large as other ships we have been on. But it was entertaining none the less. Our island stops were not that great. First of all, we were not able to go into port at the Grand Turk due to the high winds. The captain tried 3 times but was not able to dock. We were disappointed since we have not been there before but Mother Nature is one we cannot control. Jamaica was another stop but we didn't care for the tour that we had taken on a bus. The bus sounded like it was falling apart and the noises on it was awful. We were glad to see it end. Jamaica was not a favorite stop. Nassau was our last stop but due to the fact that we had been there several times before, we didn't do anything other than get off the ship for a couple hours and walked around the shops. We enjoy sailing on the Carnival line of ships. One day we will sail on all of them, hopefully! I would recommend Carnival to whoever asks. Even the older ships are well maintained. Other than us being a bit sea-sick due to heavy winds, Bonine got us through that period for us to continue to enjoy our vacation aboard the Carnival Breeze.

Read More
  • New

Nov 14, 2012

Mediterranean

We spent almost a year planning this cruise, researched the ports of call, planned excursions, etc. We were unable to port at Monaco and Venice. The scheduled day to port in Venice was my birthday. Now I realize that Carnival cannot control the weather, but the crew's total lack of concern and respect for its paying passengers was totally unacceptable. When asked if they could get us to another port, we were told, "No, we will have a Fun Day at

Sea. That was no fun day at sea, and it turned into 2 days at sea, then 2 more after just one port. Carnival's upper staff, the Captain, the alternate Cruise Director, the Hotel Director, Senior Guest Services Staff, etc, were so rude to the passengers, the alternate CD even had the nerve to say to the passengers, "At least be glad you are not in New York right now, having to deal with Hurricane Sandy." That comment was completely uncalled for, does she have no respect for all those people who lost everything they had? I have loved cruising ever since 2001, but I will think long and hard before I ever take another Carnival Cruise. The only staff that we felt were doing their utmost to take care of the passengers were our dining room staff in the Sapphire Dining Room, Corina, George & Erimon. Thanks guys for being the only carnival staff that made any attempt to make their passengers feel welcome onboard the Breeze. The food was so so, the buffets were pretty sad. Unfortunately, our Cabin Staff was only so so as well. Onboard activities were sadly lacking. All my Carnival Excursions were cancelled due to missing the ports. This trip cost a lot of money and we do not feel we got even half our money's worth. Think twice before taking a Carnival cruise, especially on the Breeze.

Read More
  • New

Oct 2, 2012

med

Very very disappointed with this new ship and the management of the ship. Seems like there is no adult overseeing the staff. Everything seem to be run by young adult staff. Not happy at all with Carnival. When you get room service in the morning and pour milk in your coffee and it comes out like cottage cheese, let's just say it's not a way to start the morning. Very comfortable cabin and our room steward Roy keep it very clean.

Well went to Bingo paid 25 dollars, sat down and was informed we were going to play ONE game (the letter X).If the room was needed for something else, don't take peoples money or at least give them the option if they want to play. I can assure you no one would pay 25.00 for 5 minutes of Bingo. Our excursions were very good. I was not impressed with this new ship. Stains on rugs and dining room chairs, couldn't find anyone to buy a drink for our group when out on the side decks and just outside the Cafe. This ship needs an experienced adult manager to oversee the every day running of a cruise ship. Very disappointed especially what we paid for this cruise. I could go on and on but this being my 31st cruise, I think I know what I'm talking about.

Read More
  • New

Oct 1, 2012

mediterranean

For a new ship I was surprised how mismanaged this ship is. There doesn't seem to be any adult supervision to oversee the staff. Tables in the cafeteria style dining should be cleared as soon as someone leaves the table, always look like someone was at the table, when in fact they had left. For a new ship carpets were stained also the chairs in the formal dining rooms also stained and dirty looking. I just thought that too many young kids were

running everything and needed some direction. Also try to get a drink on the outdoor decks, well let's just say a lot of loss revenue!!!!!!!! Of all my cruises, I wasn't impressed. The food was good and several good choices of restaurant. Although I did order room service in the morning and my milk came out like cottage cheese. Stateroom was clean and our room steward (Roy) was excellent and took very good care of us. Went to Bingo and on one day I paid 25.00 dollars took my seat and they informed us that we were going to only play one game (the letter X) because something else was going to go on in the room. Why did they even bother to have Bingo, or at least tell us that it was going to be one game. I'm sure no one would have paid 25.oo for 5 minutes of Bingo. That was deceiving. All of our Excursions were very good. I loved the itinerary but I just wasn't happy with how things were run. I would have thought you would have the best of the best overseeing everything on a brand new ship.

Read More

Cruise Forums

Have a cruising question? Ask our Fodorite community.

Cruise News

Read our latest news about cruises.

Store

Shop our travel guides on European, Caribbean, and Alaskan cruises.

Back To Top