Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   Winter in Florida (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/winter-in-florida-970515/)

SpringFlower Mar 14th, 2013 09:44 PM

Winter in Florida

Hi All,

This is my first time posting here. I hope I can get some answers.

I live in NY and my 70 y/o mother lives with me. She suffers from Asthma and COPD (Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease) and the winters in the East Coast are brutal and not the best for her health. I hear Cape Coral, Fl is a great place to live for a person with respiratory problems.

We are thinking of spending the winter months in Fl. Anyone know if there is a nice place that rents for the time frame we are interested in? Details please.

Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance or all the responses especially the helpful ones :).

Ackislander Mar 15th, 2013 01:55 AM

I don't think Florida is good place at all for a person with respiratory disease. Mold is universal, and the pollen in the spring (beginning late in February) is heavy beyond anything you can imagine north of Virginia.

Cape Coral is cheap, but that is about all I can say good about it. Even before the real estate collapse in 2008, there were abandoned houses and lots all over the place.

The good news for older people in Florida is that medical care is generally excellent, since doctors see a lot of seniors.

I think you need to look somewhere in the southwest, preferably somewhere that has not planted a lot of trees and grass to make it look like "home" back east.

But I am not a doctor, and this is not medical advice. I am, however, married to a Florida native and have lived there on and off from 1953 through 2007. There are lots of things about Florida to like, but not for people with asthma.

Dukey1 Mar 15th, 2013 02:10 AM