Where to stay in Los Angeles for one night

Oct 31st, 2005, 02:35 PM
Original Poster

Where to stay in Los Angeles for one night

I have an upcoming business trip to Shanghai and Hong Kong and will be travelling from another city via Los Angeles. I arrive at LAX mid afternoon LA time (Friday afternoon) and will fly out of LAX the following day at 10pm so essentially I have a good day before my flight to Asia. This is my first time in LA. I am looking for a decent mid price range hotel that a nice area where I can walk around, find a good restaurant for dinner Friday night, perhaps do a bit of shopping on the Saturday morning but that is a reasonable (ie not too far) distance from LAX. Would that be Bev Hills, Hollywood, Westside?? Please advise. Thanks in advance
Oct 31st, 2005, 03:32 PM

Cliché answer, but it should answer all your concerns:

Santa Monica.

Good hotels, great restaurants, lots of shopping. Mid-range hotels in downtown SM:

-- Huntley Hotel
-- The Georgian
-- Loews Santa Monica
Oct 31st, 2005, 03:34 PM

See if you can get a special rate at Maison 140 --
www.maison140.com -- in Beverly Hills The address is 140 South Lasky Drive, Beverly Hills, CA

We stayed there for three nights around Christmas and got a rate of $159 or so. As you are looking at a Friday night, I'd expect a good rate. It is a small, lovely hotel with a nice little lobby bar (complimentary wine before you head out for dinner) and a friendly and helpful staff. You will be smack in the middle of Beverly Hills, about a block from Rodeo Drive. You will definitely feel like you've had a glamorous stop-over in La La Land
Oct 31st, 2005, 03:45 PM
Original Poster