Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   where to live on cali coast???? (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/where-to-live-on-cali-coast-601505/)

darbyvt Mar 22nd, 2006 02:41 PM

where to live on cali coast????

Hi! I'm looking to move to California in April for a 3 month job assignment (I'm a travel nurse). Lived in San Diego and LOVED it!!! Now I'm drying up in Phoenix and miss the beach desperately. I want a beach town, laid back and not too pretentious with lots of young people and lots to do! Basically San Diego but NOT San Diego...thinking Orange County area but I got a possible offer in Santa Maria, any info on this area??

Basically, any info on hospitals (particularly Children's Hospitals) and good towns to live in much appreciated, love Cali and can't wait to come back for some warm sunshine!

suze Mar 22nd, 2006 02:44 PM

Santa Cruz?

J_Correa Mar 22nd, 2006 02:48 PM

Santa Cruz might fit your criteria. It wont be quite as warm as southern California, but it is a good beach town with a laid back atmosphere. It is smaller than San Diego, but has a fair amount going on, esspecially in the summer. As far as hospitals go - there is Dominican Hospital and a birthing center. I am not sure what else.

suze Mar 22nd, 2006 03:15 PM

Santa Barbara?

enzian Mar 22nd, 2006 03:31 PM

I was born in Santa Maria so I'm biased, but it's grown a LOT since I lived there. The closest beach towns---Pismo, Shell Beach, and Avila are small and definitely "laid back", but there's not a lot to do other than the beach.

trippinkpj Mar 22nd, 2006 04:03 PM

I like the Santa Maria, Arroyo Grande, Pismo Beach and San Luis Obispo area. Also, Santa Cruz, Castroville, Marina, Monterey and Pacific Grove. I like most of the Central Coast beach towns. I live in San Jose near Los Gatos, so Santa Cruz is only 1/2 hr. from me (in non-commute times).