where to go to experience real PA Dutch cooking

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 22nd, 2006, 08:54 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Where to eat and stay to experience real PA Dutch living.
Lancaster, New Holland, Intercourse, York.
The only thing we have to do is to take our son to see Thomas the Train.
Old Jul 22nd, 2006, 10:50 PM

Hey- so I only googled lancaster, b/c I'm an obsessive researcher and I would just keep goin' all night.

Found this terrific site-

http://www.800padutch.com

Dining, activities, galore! Have fun...

PS- Please don't tell me you're only going to this area for Thomas the Train??
Old Jul 23rd, 2006, 07:49 AM

Many years ago we ate at Groff's Farm (still have my autographed copy of one of Betty's cookbooks). Both the food and the experience were very good at that time.
Old Jul 23rd, 2006, 08:10 AM

Shady Maple smorgasbord is famous in that area, although it's huge. Avoid Miller's on Rt. 30 -- dirty and full of tour buses.
Make sure you don't go on Sundays since many places are closed. The outlets will be open -- and full of back to school shopping in August.
The 800padutch.com website is a very good resource.
Old Jul 23rd, 2006, 08:41 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hi Rae, If your son is crazy about trains you could stay in a motel that is made up of old train cars: Red Caboose in Strasbourg. They also have a dining car if you just want to give that a try. If you are interested in the Amish way of life, vist The People's Place in Intercourse. They have a movie and other exhibits. There is also a beautiful quilt shop across the street. There are also Mennonite or Amish families that host dinners for guests. I imagine you might be able to find those through a Lancaster tourist info site. Have fun. The area is really beautiful.
Old Jul 23rd, 2006, 08:59 AM