Fodor's Travel Talk Forums

Fodor's Travel Talk Forums (https://www.fodors.com/community/)
-   United States (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/)
-   -   What American city (any size) has the most trees per square mile? (https://www.fodors.com/community/united-states/what-american-city-any-size-has-the-most-trees-per-square-mile-197475/)

Betty Apr 11th, 2002 04:39 AM

What American city (any size) has the most trees per square mile?

I wonder if my fellow travelers could help me with a school assignment. I am a high school student taking a class and was assigned a paper where I have to do some reserch into urban forests. I was told to find out what American city has the most trees per square mile. I have looked everywhere but can not find the answer. (there is supose to be a study on every topic!).<BR><BR>So I thought I would go to my favorite message board to find out. I am sure travelers know? So, what is the answer.

Bill Apr 11th, 2002 05:10 AM

Hi Betty-Here is a link to the arbor day foundation where you might find the information you are looking for. Everything related to trees you can find there. You can also make a donation and they will send you seedlings to plant.<BR><BR>http://www.arborday.org/

jim Apr 11th, 2002 05:20 AM

Probably Minneapolis or Portland, but just a guess.

fla Apr 11th, 2002 06:43 AM

Gainesville, Florida. The trees are protected, one must get a permit to cut them down, even on your own property.

MrsWalsh Apr 11th, 2002 08:34 AM